We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, excellent value motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
“No frills, excellent value motel”
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Alpine Lake Motor Lodge is an entirely typical NZ motel - clean, modern with a friendly and locally knowledgeable hands-on owner. The motel is in the mainly residential zone of one of Taupo’s main arteries, with many other motels as neighbours. It’s a ten-minute walk to the lakeshore and the shops. The rooms are arranged on two floors in a single wing. Bathrooms contain a spa bath and walk-in shower. There are adequate kitchen facilities - a two-hob plate, a microwave and sufficient pots, pans, cutlery and crockery. The bedroom was a decent size, the bed very comfy. There is minimal storage space and the lighting was exceptionally harsh - oddly, there were no bedside lights. There was a dining table and a separate desk for a laptop - very fast Internet - and even a little private garden patio for ground floor rooms. Road noise, since the motel is at right angles to the road, is not a problem, though an aircon fan right outside our sliding glass door was. Value, as ever in these places, is outstanding.

Taupo has several restaurants - we had a brilliant dinner at The Brantry on Rifle Range Road, a ten-minute walk away.

A motel that does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    56
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
96
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2008

As a frequent business traveller to Taupo I have recently discovered this motel which I consider the best in town. Service is great, units are exceptionally well equipped, clean and spacious. All units are away from road noise, parking is oustide the door of unit and I can walk to any of the many good local restaurants. Their cafe breakfast is great and of course the free internet is an essential now days. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Every thing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank john1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyt41
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Just finished a lovely week in New Zealand and would like to commend Sue and Ron for making our stay in Taupo the highlight of our trip. Not only was their friendly advice re things to do so appreciated but their motel was head and shoulders above the others we experienced. The motel is very new, sparkling clean and furnished beautifully. We liked the larger than usual unit which had its own private courtyard and even its own barbecue. Every thing was provided, spa bath, kitchen and even complimentary DVD's as well as free broadband in the unit. As we did not have our own laptop we used the free email cafe instead and this was much appreciated. Location was great and it was away from road noise. Great fresh bean coffee too!

  • Liked — The large and beuatiful unit
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyt41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We had two fantastic nights at the Alpine. We have 4 young children and there was plenty of space. We had TV trouble when we checked in and the owners went out of their way to fix this small problem for us. The spa bath was excellent when the weather was wet it gave the kids something to do. Thankyou for a fantastic stay.

  • Liked — The service and lovely clean well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4greatkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

True to the reviews thus far, it's a nice, new, clean property, with friendly proprietors. The studio we stayed in was rather spare in it's decor--or one might call it simple and modern. The bathroom is the best bit--though I thought the open-able "window" feature (I guess it's there in order for the guest to watch the tube while bathing) was a little weird. Free internet, comfy bed, and a good location. My husband loved it. I thought it was very good, especially considering the price. Strangely, our room wasn't cleaned when we returned one evening (we were there four nights). I'm sure this was an anomaly, as the proprietor seemed rather mortified. She gave us a free magazine and didn't charge us for our calls (there were only a couple of local calls). Bonus: we felt an earthquake there one night.

  • Liked — Newness.
  • Disliked — Room not cleaned one day.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hellokitty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2007

A warm welcome to a dreary day is how we were met upon arrival. The Motel had everthing we needed and was close to town centre. All ammenities were in working order and even supplied a dvd player with complimentary dvd's to watch. Highly recommended with a welcoming atmosphere.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2007

It was a cold day when we arrived but we stepped into a lovely warm unit, thanks to the under floor heating. The one bedroom unit was very spacious, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. It opened onto a very private garden courtyard effectively an extra outdoor room complete with its own barbecue! The bathroom was quite large and all luxury with spa bath, shower, heated towel rail and even heated mirror. There was a full kitchen but because the motel is in town we just walked down to the Waterside restaurant for a lovely meal then walked home via the lakefront. We then watched a complimentary DVD before enjoying the most comfortable bed I have slept in. I was able to plug my laptop straight into the computer port and use their free broadband which was really appreciated. Being able to park right outside our unit was very convenient and we were away from any road noise. Apparently this motel is one of only a few in Taupo where the operators own both the freehold and the lease and this extra commitment was reflected in the attention to detail and the first class service. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The newness and the luxury inclusions
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Renie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#25 of 69 in Taupo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cascades Motor Inn
Cascades Motor Inn
#13 of 69 in Taupo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing