We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$95
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$101
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$252
$222
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$122
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$107
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Beach Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
111
60
16
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
60
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathroom feelunderfloor heatingminute walk from towngreat shower pressurespent a weekseparate bedroomcleaned dailyhappily stay here againfree wifilate at nightoutdoor areawill stay there againexcellent facilitiestea and coffeenew zealandsmall kitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 190 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed before and were pleased again with the room we had. They are always clean and the bathroom and kitchenette is modern. It is a 5 minute walk into town and to the Lake. The staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 1, and the external stairwell was outside the bedroom window so was a bit noisy with people coming back from dinner etc. The bedroom was very hot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We drove to Taupo from Auckland. It takes about 3 hours but when we stayed there was a lot of road works happening which slowed us down!

We stayed here during the Ironman triathlon event (VERY busy). The whole of Taupo was crankin' which gave an awesome vibe. The hotel, like everywhere else, was full. This meant that it was quite noisy with people coming and going and a lot of road noise. We'd imagine that normally noise wouldn't be too much of an issue.

We stayed upstairs in a spa apartment. It was a good size with a kitchenette which we cooked on each night. Everything was very clean and the rooms were serviced daily. It had a modern interior with modern appliances. In the main/bed room we also had a small dining table which was handy. We had a hire car/4WD and there was ample parking on site.

The Alpine was about a 5 minute walk into the town centre. It was the same distance to walk to the star attraction - Lake Taupo.

It is a quaint little/big town with lots of walk-through malls. The people of Taupo are really lovely and welcoming. Be aware that most shops are shut on Sunday (supermarkets are open). You will definately need a car to travel out to local attractions such as Huke Falls (10 minute drive) Mount Doom (about a 45 drive) and the thermal pools (about an hour drive).

Overall, we loved Taupo and we would stay at this accommodation again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateandPaulPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A very nice night at this motel. Lovely roomy suite and everything spotlessly clean.
Friendly and helpful staff and very accomodating allowing us in for an early check-in.
We would definitely use this Motor Lodge again.
Many thanks Alpine Lake.

Room Tip: Downstairs more convenient - quite a long walk up stairs and along to middel room in the upper level. Would go for downstairs with outdoor area next time.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I did a review on this motel some time ago when I was disappointed, feeling it was getting tired among other things. However, I stayed again recently and will certainly return as often as I am in Taupo. Everything was spotless. The bedding lovely and clean (as it should be but I sometimes wonder about duvet covers/bedspreads) not in this instance, towels soft & plenty of soap, tissues etc. I think I complained about cigarette butts in the courtyard garden last time - in spite of there being a sand container, but not this time, even that was spotless. As others have said, its a good location,within strolling distance of the town centre. As someone else mentioned, very pleasant hosts too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeMaccers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were very happy with all aspects of our short stay in the Alpine Lake. Lovely, spacious suite, very stylish decor and a spa bath with a viewing window so you can watch TV from the bath! Brilliant! The whole Lodge is kelp meticulously clean and well-maintained, the staff are nice & welcoming, breakfast can be delivered to your room which is a nice touch. The walk into the town centre is do-able and all on the flat so not too taxing even in the heat! Would recommend this accommodation highly.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have views of the lake. If you want outdoor space, ask for ground floor as upper floor rooms have no outdoor balcony. Make sure you ask for a spa suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandHazel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews