We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our girls soccer team have just stayed at Alpine Lake Motor Lodge while on tournament and had a great stay here. The units were great, warm, clean and appealing and the service was great. Sue and Ron were very accommodating with our various needs. We had a week of wet weather and the ried girls loved the spa baths.

Would have no hesitation in recommending the Alpine Lake Motor Lodge and would stay there again.

many thanks to Sue and Ron.
cheers
soccer team

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 175 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Yet another stay here at this great motel. Had a down stairs room this time. Overall, another good experience. Though a word of advice, to save ight pollution at night, close the bathroom door. Also wish the loud mouth lady in the room next door would learn how not to tell the entire of Taupo of her issues and plans. Crikey!! But that's not any fault of the proprietor

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice friendly hosts and staff.
They go the extra mile and catered for an extra early check in for our situation.
Clean units and ours had four heaters including a heat pump in our unit.
Free DVDs were provided for our family.
And it looks/ feels new.
**************************************************************************************************************

Room Tip: Further off the road would be better.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family of five stayed here during the school holidays and the price worked out cheaper than at a backpackers! The 3 children had their own bedroom and TV and we were able to shut them off for the night. They revelled in the spa bath both nights and were constantly down to the office to get another free DVD to watch. Having a kitchen meant being able to cook our own meals and saving not having to eat at restaurants. All round a very peasant stay and will definitely return next school holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Booked for 2 days but ended up extending this another 2 days because of our spacious unit which had all modern amenities, was cosy warm and cleaned every day. Had free Wifi and only a short walk to good restaurants plus very reasonably priced. Thanks to Ron and Sue for our great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was the nicest place in New Zealand because the lady and man were so wecloming and helped us organise our holiday. It had a lovely spa bath and was close to town. Also it was less expensive than most of the others so we can recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This motel is clean and tidy but I don't believe that it offers value for money. After paying $214 for one nights accommodation I wasn't greeted with a smile or hello upon check in and the owner seemed pained to even be serving me.

The second and most concerning factor is the water in the showers. This morning I was subjected to scolding hot then instant freezing cold water. I truly believe that had my children been in the shower at the time we would have spent the day at A&E. When advising the owners at check out, I was fobbed off my the male and the female wasn't fussed and said she would look into it. After reading other reviews on trip advisor I realise she wasn't fussed as this is a known fault.

Having worked in the motel business myself I know this is not how you treat customers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaseandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#46 of 69 in Taupo
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#27 of 69 in Taupo
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#43 of 69 in Taupo
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $85 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing