We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A thrill ride” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hukafalls Jet

Hukafalls Jet
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.89*
and up
Hukafalls Jet Boat Ride from Taupo
Ranked #5 of 42 Tours in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The half hour of thrills, fun and excitement takes you along a beautiful river environment, lined with native bush, sheer rock cliff face and natural hot springs.Combine 360° spins and passing nature by incredibly close at disorientating speeds for an amazing must-do visitor experience, before even reaching the awe inspiring majesty that is the Huka Falls. From the unique vantage point on the boat you have the best water level view of Huka Falls – New Zealand’s most visited natural attraction. Hukafalls Jet is the only jet boat company operating in this stretch of the Waikato River.Closest jet boat operator to Lake Taupo and FREE transfers provided on request.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A thrill ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A great thrilling way to see the Huka Falls up close and personal. Jeremy was our jet boat driver and he was extremely funny and good fun. He took us screaming past rocks and the banks of the river, into thrilling 360 degree turns. Our teenage boys really enjoyed the ride that they went again. The restaurant next door in the Prawn park is an excellent stop for a meal. The prawns were delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dustygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    100
    21
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fun even in winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a blast Jezza our guide was great even if he is silly enough to support the nsw blues he made the trip all that more entertaining. That said was great fun and although you get a little wet the rain coats they provided were sufficient. It's worth the money and the boats get so close to the trees and banks, good adrenalin rush. I have been driving boats for 15years but the skill of his driving is awesome. Thanks guys!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Awesome Anniversary Activity !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Absolutely awesome, next time we do it will make sure we go in summer as it was a little chilly on the face ! Other than that , we loved it !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seeing the falls from above and below!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went on the Huka Falls Jet boat which took us all the way to the bottom of the Huka falls. We got to do 360 spins all the way up and down the falls. Well worth the money to get that close to the bottom of the falls. Great customer service from the boys and great pictures! Then we went for the walk up the the top of the falls just on sunset which was perfect! The falls were at full height but still a must see if in Taupo!! No fee for going up the top of the falls. Grab yourself a coupon in the Lake Taupo booklet at information centre to get a percentage off your jet boat ride!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michy8460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Fun but the kicker is in the pricing for the photos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The ride itself is quite fun even if expensive. The kicker is in the NZD59 they charge for the video + photos or NZD39 for the photos. Having made their profit with the ticket (they will defer rides until they get their break even numbers; mine was postponed to a later ride despite having a confirmed on=line booking), the photos/video really add to the cost. They should seriously consider reducing the price for the momentos. I chose, like many others, not to buy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hukafalls Jet also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Hukafalls Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing