We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Great facilities (Spa, Tennis, Golf, 3 pools, EVERYTHING!)
Great Staff
Great Stay

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    265
    120
    28
    14
See reviews for
207
209
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed at Wairakei for 3 nigths for a conference. The room was modern, clean and comfortable- with balcony. The geothermal pools were wonderfully indulgent, however the spa pools a little tired. The grounds are well kept and attractive in the autumn. The staff were unremarkable. The conference facilites were to be expected- but the conference food was brilliant.

I was pleasnatly surprised by the quality of the stay, after reading previous trip advisor reviews. But it is a big complex and maybe room quality does vary.

The resturant prices were to be expected for hotel and out of town- but as other people have commented the BP garage across the road does a good toastie and coffee! On the first night staff were cheeky and told conference guests that only roast carvery was available at a discounted $30 (normally $50) when full a la carte was available for all guests.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is a very good hotel. I have stayed there about 4 or 5 times now for short periods, the rooms I have been allocated have been very good. I am surprised at, but respect, the comments of previous reviewers, it is a big complex so maybe room quality does vary but I can only comment on my own experience. The whole hotel and complex is very well maintained, the rooms are immaculately clean with high quality towels and bedding. The food is excellent, staff cheerful and efficient. Rooms well appointed with room safe, usual coffee, tea etc. In all nothing to complain about, a credit to the management and staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easternrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We have visited the Wairakei resort three times over the past 7 years in the course of hectic touring holidays. We look forward to the ability to "chill out" for a couple of days. The resort is quite a large complex, set in the heart of a thermal area and some 15 minutes drive out of Taupo.

It offers a range of accomodation options. As a retired couple, we always book a premium room which provides two king sized double beds, air conditioning and either direct access to the gardens or a veranda , depending on which floor you are on. Do not book a standard room, these are small and not well equiped.

There are two dining options, a fine dining room and a bistro in a separate building which acts as a club house to the little nine hole golf course. The latter provides very good value for money.

The swimming pool is clean and heated and there are four thermal spa pools. These are now in need of some upgrading with the thermal water taking its toll on the fabric of the baths.

Only one real quibble with the resort is the laundry facility provided for guests. On our last trip we found staff using it for service laundry so that it was not always accessible. I am sure that on previous visits this was not the case.

Staff are friendly and we always enjoy our visits.

The petrol station down the road has recently been upgraded and has a coffee shop which looks a viable alternative for snacks and breakfast. The thermal power station next to the filling station is worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobgGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

I picked up a half room price deal only to find out that the room was based on the half the Rack Room Rate and not their published website rates. While it was still a good deal at that rate I had to encourage them to give me a King Bed room as rooms were allocated as available at the time of staying. Their advertised rate on a road sign was only forty dollars more then we paid - so I feel a bit ripped off. The place is beautifully presented with its well groomed gardens but upon an accidental tiki tour while trying to find our way on the tiny map to our room we stumbled upon a very run down area of the complex and this area including wildlife viewing of three very large wild rabbits living off the land - not to be put off by our presence. It was nice to view the rabbits in their natural habbitat :0) The rooms were tired and thank goodness we had ear plugs as some generator not too far away was very noisy. The bed comfort was not the best but not the worst we experienced on two week travelling holiday around the lower North Island. Taupo itself makes up for it with total enjoyment of visiting Craters of the Moon, the Prawn Farm and the Aratiatia Dam Rapids. Recommend Hotel but only at a cut rate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights while sightseeing in Taupo. Typical hotel with modern face but outdated rooms. The bathroom was straight out of the 70's and the lack of an exhaust fan was just plain frustrating. The corridors reminded me of the hotel in "The Shining", spooky! The parking was too few and we found ourselves doing laps of the carpark to find a space each day.
In saying all that the restaurants were great, the kids playground was a winner, the beds soft (i probably had the best nights sleep here) and was good value for money with full breakfast included.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxxy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

Stayed at Bayview Wairakei Resort for 2 nights when in Taupo to watch the Ironman. Went with a friend and her daughter and had a 2 double bed room. Room was spacious and beds were comfy... not so sure about the feather pillows, though. They left me with a sore neck.
Fantastic facilities at the resort. Had a wonderful massage (Thanks, Nicola!) and breakfast was good in the restaurant. My friend's daughter loved the trampoline and playground. Would've been nice to stay longer and use the pools, fitness centre and other guest facilities.
Service was friendly, but rather routine. It's a big place, but they seemed very organised. A good choice if you don't need to stay right in Taupo!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
5.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing