We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed March 1, 2007

Not quite sure what we were expecting but this disappointed us. The website made it out to be luxurious which it definitely was not. It is very large, loads of different blocks (took at least 5 minutes to find out way to the main reception). We were upgraded from a standard room (for free - it was very quiet just before Christmas) and I do not like to think what we were upgraded from - our upgraded room was slightly smelly and bordering on shabby, done out in really faded neutral colours. Bathroom definitely needed a refurb and shower head was for hobbits (quite low and not adjustable). Breakfast was good BUT never kept quite hot enough. Staff were fine. Noise in the corridors was a big problem - for some reason their design must really transmit the sound.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank scissorsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 695 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2006

We have stayed at this place many, many times at least 3 times a year each year. This is the best resort in the central North Island for facilities and very suited to families. There is a range of rooms and as we are a family of 5 we always get the 1 or 2 bedroom villa which also has a kitchen and dishwasher and washing machine and dryer. The oldest room are very small and only suitable for a couple, but there is a large range of options.The facilities are amazing .Large outdoor hot pool and large warm swimming pool. Tennis courts, private spa pools Gym ans Squash courts. Mini golf and a 9 hole golf course across the road as well as an 18 hole just up the road. Games room and pool table. Family restaurant and fine dining. Lovely grounds and close to a lot of great and free sightseeing. when we go the kids go from one activity to the next and if we take overseas visitors we go to Huka falls, Craters of the Moon and the Floodgates and into Taupo to see the Bungy jumping and the great views of Waikato river and the mountain. the only negative is that the food in the family restaurant is good but nothing to rave about. You will still be happy but you wont say that it was one of the best meals that you ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBRHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2006

Flag Inn/Choice/Bayview Wairakei Resort, Lake Taupo. A large complex with many amenities including two pools (one lap, the other “dipping”) a nice gym/spa facility, hot tubs, a range of room choices from standard hotel to “villas”, nicely laid out grounds with pleasant walks and plantings, a golf course, two restaurants, bars and pleasant public rooms. Conference facilities seem well laid out.

Our initial room was a Choice VIP room and was very reasonable, booked online through the Choice website. We attempted to extend our stay by two days, and the front desk staff did all they could to be accommodating, finding us a room for a third night, where we had to change rooms and putting us on a wait list for a fourth night, but no guarantee, as there was a large convention arriving.

Rooms look out into garden areas for the most part, and are quiet and removed from excessive road noise. Equipment is the standard tea/coffee with instant coffee, minibar, which, refreshingly, has room for our own stuff as well as the minibar offerings, desk/bureau with ample plugs, color tv , clock radio, and ample storage for baggage.

Rooms are clean and inviting, with pleasant low key pastel décor, but need some tlc to be fully up to grade with the rest of the facility. Bathroom, in particular, needs some work - tile grout is black in back corner of the tub. Wallpaper is scraped off along corner areas subject to luggage scrapes, and some fixtures are showing their age. Carpets are in pretty good shape, and upholstered pieces are in good shape. Drapes and bedspreads appear to be almost new.

Internet shows this property as a Flag Inn, and a Choice hotel. On arrival, it is a Bayview property (along with the Grand Chateau a few miles away in Tongariro) but still a Choice member property.

Beds are soft, but reasonably comfortable. There is a fair amount of noise from hallways and exterior walkways which can be disturbing to light sleepers.

Our changed room was a Standard King, which was a substantial upgrade from the Choice VIP double room. The cosmetic aspects that were shabby in that room, were all newer and more polished in the King room. It had a much larger more modernized bath which contained a separate shower and a double jetted tub, double sinks, and tile and marble details. Carpet, draperies and bedcoverings all appeared fresh and new.

On check out, we were charged almost double for the changed room. After some negotiation with the desk, as we had not been informed of the upgraded price, we split the difference.

Lake Taupo is a few miles away from the resort property. The Craters of the Moon thermal area is quite close, and there are thermal vents on the property itself.

7  Thank KohalaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2006

I traveled here with family to visit our brother. We had three rooms and stayed over a week. One of us had a 1.5 year old. They had a suite, which had a kitchen and a washer & dryer. It made it very nice to cook breakfast and wash clothes. The rooms are decent size, clean (although the carpets could use some work), but the walls are thin and there is no temperature control (we stayed when it was "unusually" warm, but the room was really uncomfortable). The ammenities of the resort were good (two pools (although a little warm), a gym, and very good restaurants). The location is good (only 5 minutes to the lake). Having everything there is a real plus when you have kids to cater to.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chiinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Andreap_at_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix_Witte, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix_Witte, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eriksta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.3 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,130 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.4 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $91 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing