We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never again!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occassions and not had too many problems with it. However this time around I was quite dissapointed. The service was appalling, especially in the restaurant "fairways cafe"....so bad in fact that after waiting for 20 minutes to be served once seated we got up and walked across the main road to the service station to get dinner!! On a good note...the grounds are beautiful and the room decor is nice also. If you dont mind poor service...go for it!

  • Liked — hot pools and room
  • Disliked — poor service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    280
    121
    32
    15
See reviews for
219
217
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed here twice as a stopover on our holiday. The resort is close to busy Taupo but not within walking distance, so a car is essential. We had a room in the executive wing. Everything was tidy; everything worked the way it should. The extensive, well tended and peaceful grounds are the real attraction of this place. We loved the warm pools. We had two meals at the Fairview Cafe: tasty, well priced bistro food. The whole place was very child friendly (and there were large numbers of children of all ages around). We would stay again.

  • Liked — The wonderful grounds
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

I stayed here with family for four days and was quite impressed with what was on offer.
The Wairakei Resort is set in large park like surroundings with lots of recreational facilities on site such as tennis courts,gym and sauna,squash court,two swimmimg pools and a nine hole golf course to name a few.
They have a variety of accomodation ranging from basic stand alone chalets for about NZ$100 up to NZ$700 a night suites.
We stayed in a double room which is the cheapest accomodation
in the main body of the hotel coming in at about NZ$130 a night at a discounted rate.
The room was very nicely furnished with two comfortable double beds with nice soft linen and all rooms have balconies with good views of the surrounding area.
The hotel has many nice lounge areas off the main lobby for socialising and has two restaurants with one being a cheaper cafe style setup and the other a more expensive formal type arrangement.
The staff at the resort were nicely presented and tried their best to attend to all our requests with some going the extra mile to please which was most welcome.
I had a very relaxing comfortable stay and would return to this hotel if I get the chance.

  • Liked — Large park like grounds with nice facilities
  • Disliked — You need your own transport really to stay here.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed at the Bayview in early August for a night in a King size room. It was great. Room was a little on the small side, but for a hotel that caters for conferences and is a resort I thought it was to be expected and didn't put me off. The private spa pools were wonderful (and one of the main reasons for our booking) - even though the weather wasn't too great it was still lovely sitting in the warm pools being rained upon!

The cafe was great - we had the Saturday night buffet which was well worth the $35 each. We looked at the Pavillion which also seemed lovely but decided that the buffet sounded more us. We were very impressed with the wine list and didn't find the cost that much more like you usually find in resorts.

As I used to look after conference bookings and travel in my previous jobs I still have a bit of a fascination with hotels and conference facilities. While wandering around during the afternoon we found the conference rooms and had a nosy - I found them lovely and would reccomend them. The bathrooms for the facilites (which is shared with the house bar) were HUGE! There was even a large area with plenty of mirrors for the ladies to reapply their makeup during lunch!

Would reccomend this to both conference bookers and people looking for a romantic weekend away!

  • Liked — the spa pool
  • Disliked — the fact that it poored down while we were there!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Nice place for the quiet weekend, probably the only “hotel style” accommodation in Taupo and very good alternative to Taupo’s motels. The rooms in the new wings are modern, comfortable, well equipped, but rather small. The rooms in the old wings have no air conditioner and a bit tired. 2 small pools, but could overcrowded during hot summer days. 2 restaurants – a bit pricey. Just about 15 mins driving time to the Taupo centre. I felt it didn't hit the 4* mark that it claims to be, but quality 3* hotel.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Nice location, nice staff.

We actually went to check out a room there, as orthopedic beds were advertised.
BUT if you're traveling with somebody who's 6'6'' and the bed's only between a double an d a queen, there's no way that'll work.

Incidentally most places in NZ had that problem, having queen beds at best.

Such as shame, though, loved the place otherwise!

  • Liked — Views, location
  • Disliked — Small beds
  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank London-Travella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Was a fabulous one night stopover for us. Room fabulous with new decor and very stylishly done. Our room was on the ground floor just 20 metres to the heated pool. Restaurant on site had lots of options and very good prices. My man had a great steak!!

Enjoyed our evening walking around the large park-like grounds, putting on the free putting green and swimming in the pool and spa complex.

Overall this was all we could have wished for after a busy day at work! We would def stay here again

  • Liked — A totally relaxing break...highly recommended!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEAM-GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.9 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing