We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reunion for friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reunion for friends”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were lucky to have a fine weekend as there was a lot of walking from the chalets to the main dining area. Not a lot under cover.
Grounds and walkways were a little unkempt and the spa rooms needed sprucing up.
The chalets were nice but light shades had not been cleaned for some time. The entrance ways also needed sweeping and generally tidying up.
The beds in the lounge did not have electric blankets. One panel heater in each chalet only just heated the chalet adequately.
I thought the rooms were overpriced for what we got. The buildings are old and tired and need to be brought up to date.
Overall we did have a lovely time at The Wairakei Resort but it was mostly because we had not seen each other for some years rather than the venue we had booked.

Room Tip: The chalets are nice and roomy with a full kitchen layout. Quite dark inside though as surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    270
    120
    29
    14
See reviews for
209
211
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Great place, good food, nice people, lovely grounds! The basic rooms would benefit from a face lift, but they certainly fit our needs and price range for a weekend family catch up! Would happily return!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our family had a great stay at Wairakei Resort. If you're looking for an overnight stay and won't arrive until late afternoon this is a great place. They have an outdoor thermally heated swimming pool, so still something for everyone to do. The pool is a great temperature. The Resort is across the road from the Wairakei Terraces Health spa - a must visit.
Staff were very helpful. accommodation was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngahuia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A great venue in a sublime location, matched with friendly attentive staff, i would happily come here to stay and be in that perfect central spot to all of the key attractions that the region has to offer but with the seclusion of Wairakei versus the "just like every suburb" of Taupo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a lovely stay with 3 other couples as a surprise weekend away. Wanted to stay in for dinner and watch the All Blacks last test on Saturday night. Asked if we could open up the bar with the projector screen in it, as one member in our party is partially blind and cannot see the small screen in the bar.We would have had dinner and lots of drink at the motel ONLY to be told NO, in no uncertain terms. Talking with other guests, we were NOT the only people looking to watch the all blacks in house.What ever happened to customer service.Their loss is all I can say. Other than that the accommodation was lovely and clean. Loved the pool area, staff were obliging.So please can the management have a lesson on customer service.

Thanks

Room Tip: If you like a warm swim in the morning, choose ground floor in the 500 wing, then it is only meters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Corinne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Aroha
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The staff are very friendly and very helpful. We have been running a conference for many years at Wairakei and will continue to do so. If you are looking for a really great venue with lots of different spaces I would recommend Wairakei Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josshale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love this hotel. It's unique location and facilities have drawn me here for more than 20 years, and it wasn't new then. Peeling wallpaper, grass growing in guttering and mold on external walls make me cross. A manager needs to step up and say "I love this place too", 'lets have some pride in this hotel". I had a few gripes with my last stay and they all relate to management, not the workers who I found polite. New Zealander's aren't known for service as they are salary based not tips or bonus paid but generally I found them OK. The manager who let a lovely but untrained waitress on our table needs a talking to, the cleaning manager who knocked on our door and said OK to another 10 mins then sent girls straight to our room needs a tickle with a duster but the maintenance man needs 3 minutes silence as he has clearly passed away sometime ago. It is a lovely hotel, I do recommend you stay there, just be patient and don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting a king room now. They no longer have plates and cutlery for snacks and brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
5.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#20 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing