We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty to do to chill out.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Plenty to do to chill out.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

A good location if you want a quiet retreat feel but a ten minute drive if you have to leave the resort to go into Taupo.A great place if you have children as there is so much for them to do.Pool area is well maintained but felt the corridors a bit shabby.The room was adequate but felt for the price it was a bit underwhelming however it did open out onto a lovely lawn and pool area.Bathroom was not clean and again at this level of accommodation this is not really acceptable .Staff were welcoming and very helpful.Breakfast was generous but
Lacked the finesse of presentation.Have stayed several times before as I like the tranquility of the location - however was overall disappointed so would probably think carefully before rebooking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    276
    121
    31
    15
See reviews for
216
215
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This Hotel has everything you need and we will certainly return. Great staff. The only complaints are:

The lack of information - there is free WiFi in your room but we only stumbled across this information by accident

The air conditioning in the 600 wing is very inefficient

No toilet brush - perhaps such "tools" are not the thing anymore

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here last weekend & had a great time. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the Twin Room. Plenty of room for us & our 2 kids (7 & 5). We all loved the pool & spa pool, kids loved the playground. Didn't have time to check out the tennis, putt putt or walking & biking tracks.
The first night we dined in the Pavilion Restaurant & OMG the food was devine. The kids meals included a drink & dessert. All very reasonably priced. On Saturday we had the buffet in the Fairway Cafe & again lovely food at a great price.
The staff were so friendly & nothing was too much trouble.
We will definitely be back as I feel this is such a good price for all the facilities offered for the family compared to other family places to stay at.
Well done Wairakei Resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

if you want a predictable hotel with average facilities then this could be the place. There is nothing special about it but it runs smoothly enough to take any concerns out of your stay there. Nice little pool and outdoor facilities and just close enough to Taupo without being drowned in its business. Food and room were acceptable but the place is a little dated. Better for families and those who are not too concerned about where they are staying.
If you are happy to shop for your holiday at 'The Warehouse' this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satokari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Got a special deal for room breakfast and dinner which was too good to pass up, so had two rooms for two nights with the family. The hotel is perhaps getting a little run down and in need of a spruce up, however was hard to fault on service, cleanliness, facilities and price. Great place to stay for young families with tennis, hot pools, squash court, spas gym etc - plenty to do and on site dining makes for an easy break. Breakfasts and dinner were very good and service very friendly.
Overall more than happy with the Wairakei Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here two nights, would loved to have stayed longer. There are two pools, one a bit hotter than the other. The pool by the bar was lovely in the evening when it was a bit cooler. It was also great in the afternoon when you could order drinks or bar snacks if you were getting a bit thirsty or hungry. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Free wii fi was a bonus. Had lunch in the cafe and dinner in the restaurant and they were both good. Would definitely come back here again. The only negative was the air conditioning didn't appear to be working properly so the room was quite warm at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, the night before and night of a family wedding we were attending. Had our 16 y old son with us who was not a guest but enough amenities in the room and resort to keep him occupied while we were at the wedding. Thought the price reasonable for the room with 2 double beds , fridge, tea and coffee. We did not use the minibar. A couple of small points- when I sat on the floor to remove minibar items from fridge to make room for our own food it was quite dirty under the shelf. Also a noisy airconditioning unit outside our room meant difficulty getting to sleep at first.Our room in the "200" block, first floor,was near the main function rooms, deck area and one of the pools. Pool lovely and warm, too hot for a hot January day my son thought but I just sat on the edge for a bit to cool down then hopped back in.I found the decor fine, carpet not worn etc as some have said and I loved the old historic photos in the lobby/hall areas.We ate a BBQ buffet at the Fairway cafe one night, good food, quite happy.My son and husband used the squash court. All the staff I dealt with were very pleasant and helpful. The wedding went off wonderfully on a beautiful hot day and the reception in a large function room was great, this may all have added to my positive feelings about the stay. Thanks Wairakei!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
5.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
5.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
6.3 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing