We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$166
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$482
$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$134
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$141
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveler rating
259
314
136
36
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
314
136
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshole golf coursepavilion restaurantsquash courttennis courtshot poolscraters of the moonacross the roadking roombit datedhuka fallsgreat place to staythe ground floorgreat facilitiesplenty of parkingshort drivenew zealandconference
Filter
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 761 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed several times on business and found hotel room clean and tidy and service fine. Great buffet breakfast and well equipped for conferences. One thing to note is lack of lifts means inconvenience carrying luggage upstairs also worth noting is location not ideal if you have meetings in taupo and wish to be in town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resultspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I had 2 nights at Wairakei and enjoyed it . Wasn't the best of weather but we were made very welcome and Hotel was nice and warm and meals were great. Staff were excellent. Nice big grounds to walk around. It isn't walking distance to town, but that ok. Just in the car and a few minutes down the road into Taupo. Had a room overlooking the pool, watching people take the plunge in the winter in the pool.
If a family stays, my advise would be to ask for a room that is by the pool and just have a wander over to the pool. Rooms had a door to go out facing the pool. Will diffently be going back again.

Room Tip: If a family to ask for a room looking at the pool, with a door opening out, and wander over.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinx1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stay at the Bayview Wairakei at least once a year sometimes twice and it has always been great - thats why we keep coming back. This time however we were disappointed.
I had booked early and wasnt on a deal and had requested and was assured I would get the same villa we had previously stayed in .This wasnt the case the villa was next to a busy function room which looked into our kitchen window and next to a path that was frequented by preschoolers going to and fro from the playground early in the morning - great if you have young children but not with teenagers. The villa looked a bit worn and tired but was well heated and warm especially as it was minus 5 one night . The staff were courteous as always and the restaurant and bar were convenient .We hadnt been able to get into our room at the check in time of 2pm and had to hang around until after 3pm. I think if you paying full price there are lots of other great places to stay in Taupo

Room Tip: Villas by the stream have a great outdoor area and are a bit more private but if with young children villas by the playground are ideal
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked last minute by phone and were looked after with a great room. I was impressed with the cleanliness and size. Very comfortable bed. Nice and quitet room at the back of the hotel. Great help on checkout from all the team.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early June on a Grabone voucher.
The room we were in (604) was comfortable and compact.
The bathroom was adequate with a large walkin shower.
The flat screen TV with sky sports was great.
The bed was comfy, even the large bulky pillows were actually comfy. Unfortunately there was a large black mark on one of the pillowcases.
The room kept warm, even with -3.4 degrees outside. Although we kept the air con unit off on the second night as we both woke up with sore throats.
The 2 outdoor pools weren't warm enough for me ( and other guests made similar comments).
The individual spa's were great and worth walking a distance inside and out.
The cafe closes before the Pavillion restuarant opened for dinner - which I thought was strange.
What meals we had in the restuarant were okay and the service was great.
The breakfast had EVERYTHING to suit anyone's tastes!
We just found the facility was so spread out, that it didn't feel right walking so far in our togs to get to the spa. Even going internally through the building, you still had a decent walk outside in the cold to get to the spa. So we went fully dressed, complete with scarves! There wasn't anyone else around, so we didn't have to wait for our own spa which is open aired and lockable - nice and private.
It is also a little too far away from the hub of taupo and you definitely needed a car to get anywhere.
The staff were very friendly, and kept us updated with the temperature outside and which roads were closed due to snow. We also had one lovely chap who told us about the history of the place and gave us a sheet of info.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews