We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wairakei Resort Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good stay with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Good price (rang / looked up a lot of places in Taupo first) for a good sized room with two queen beds (very comfortable). Fitted 2 adults and 2 kids well. Pool was great - kids loved it, as was the kids playground. Staff friendly and a BP Wildbean Cafe just across the road (for early morning coffee and muffins).

Only complaint is the expensive in room broadband.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    258
    119
    28
    14
See reviews for
203
205
17
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. Booked online just prior to starting the drive. Check in was the fastest I've ever had. Front desk staff were very helpfull. Our room (118) two large beds was perfect foe 2 adults and 2 kids.

The geothermal pool was open til 11pm, and then open from 6am. A great way to first relax, then wake up.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKiwiandACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Its pretty much got everything here. Sauna, gym, spas, and heated outdoor pools for a late night dip. You can also walk the perimeter and take in the beauty of tui, bellbirds and hot springs flowing through the property.Some of it is a little dated but that just adds to the charm of such an historic place.The service is professional and the only small complaint I would have is the TV in the rooms are small and don't seem to be digital? But who needs Tv anyway.. The beds are super comfy and the linen is pristine.Would highly recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We booked this accommodation knowing it was a little out of town and for us that was part of the appeal. When making the reservation I requested a quiet room and happily that was what we got. The rooms are a bit dated but this is reflected in the very reasonable rate we paid. Our room was spotlessly clean, the grounds are well maintained and attractive, the staff friendly and helpful. We made use of the pools and playground but did not try the restaurants as we were happy to make the 5 minute drive into Taupo where there are lots of options. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibsy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

have stayed here few times for work meetings

pretty ordinary accommodation nothing fancy, a little run-down but not crappy

meeting rooms are good and spacious and well looked after through out the day

buffet meals are pretty ordinary and service is reasonable

Room Tip: keep in mind this place is quite a bit out of town, so if u were visiting taupo itself i would book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_84nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Wairakei Bayview Resort
Good value motel - very nice grounds, room is fine - bed well a little past its use-by-date.
On site dining either pretty fancy or smorgasbord, but plenty of options in Taupo.

Only frustration was that nowhere do they publish an address and if you don't twig to the fact that it is the only motel in Wairakei and Wairakei is 10km from Taupo - you may have difficulty finding it because sat-nav doesn't find it either.

Room Tip: Consider whether you like peace & quiet and don't mind a walk to your room or the stairs, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland nz
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here on our way back from wellington to break the journey. The kids had a ball - they enjoyed room service as a real treat, which was not too pricey for the pretty decent meals they got. The pool was great and I am sure we would have enjoyed more of the resorts offerings had we had more time. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble - I was very impressed with the service. We thought it was good value for money on the whole. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and enjoyed a very pleasant meal. The only thing we probably wouldnt do again was have the buffet breakfast - I didnt find it as nice as the meal the night before and a bit expensive for something that you dont totally enjoy. Other than that I would highly recommend it as a good value pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing