We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Resort Setting with every amenity available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Resort Setting with every amenity available”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This accommodation is more conveniently located to Huka Falls and thrill seeking activities than it is to the business district of Taupo. You really need a few days to do this place justice and it is ideal for those who like a hit of tennis, the swing of the clubs or any other activity for that matter. It is all here; swimming pool, sauna, gym, tennis court and golf course over the road. A restaurant in the main complex which along with lunch and dinner is also the place to go for buffet breakfast, plus a cafe you certainly don’t need to rely on a the trip into town. We really liked the character and style of the weatherboard buildings as we drove in but were a little surprised that it was really just a facade and reverted to a typical hotel style inside. The rooms were pleasantly decorated and a decent size so this is by no way a complaint. Service at reception was efficient and pleasant. All in all another great recommendation from Cam of Self Drive Holidays NZ.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNZwithJARs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    270
    120
    29
    14
See reviews for
209
211
19
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

The units we had were fairly dated and in need of new paint, carpet, drapes, tiles..... Housekeeping lacked attention to detail, staff seemed rather distracted & the flickman needs to visit. It was kind of amusing when two cockroaches crawled out of the toaster when we first used it. Spent a fair amount of time swotting big roaches in the unit of an evening. Eat out as the restuarant was overpriced for service, varity and quality. We are pleased we did not spend to much time at the resort and went touring around Taupo/Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TasExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We came here as the initial stop on our NZ holiday. It was a decision on impulse but what a good one. Beds were wonderful, room magnificent and we even had a balcony. We loved this place. It really was relaxing, friendly and wonderful.
The only thing we can hold against this hotel is the exorbitant price of internet that they are charging here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Lovely room, peaceful and quiet. could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed four nights. Ok, it's not really a volcano, but it is a genuine geothermal vent gently emitting steam. We found another one deeper back in the grounds, as well as a fenced off stream that runs at about 80C!
Room was big, light and clean. Breakfast buffet was fine. We also ate 2 very nice evening meals in the restaurant.
Cheerful, helpful staff.
Golf Course.
BP station opposite with a cafe.
Amazing value at less than £50 per person per night.
Internet is expensive but there are Internet Cafes in Taupo

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Drove up form Wellington looking forward to our stay. We had reserved a villa.

The location is great - the villa turned out to be grubby (do not know when it last had a good clean) with roaches and generally dated and tatty

We had some problems with equipment not working, and the service from the maintenance staff was superb. The same sadly was not our experience with the front desk or restaurant staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford_visitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My mother organised a large family group to stay here for her 70th birthday and it was a fantastic break. There was lots to do (swimming, tennis, golf) but I would suggest taking your own gear as the quality of equipment wasn't great and you had to pay to hire clubs - but at least the facilities are there. My husband and I stayed in the hotel style rooms and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The family villas are average and need of an upgrade but still has everything you need and comfortable. It is a short drive to many activities if you want to leave the resort. I was impressed that the staff even organised a birthday cake and were very accomodating with my requests - well done!
A great family holiday and we'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine_k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
5.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing