We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very restful, clean hotel with friendly staff and well laid out grounds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very restful, clean hotel with friendly staff and well laid out grounds.”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Lovely room, peaceful and quiet. could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    280
    121
    32
    15
See reviews for
219
217
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed four nights. Ok, it's not really a volcano, but it is a genuine geothermal vent gently emitting steam. We found another one deeper back in the grounds, as well as a fenced off stream that runs at about 80C!
Room was big, light and clean. Breakfast buffet was fine. We also ate 2 very nice evening meals in the restaurant.
Cheerful, helpful staff.
Golf Course.
BP station opposite with a cafe.
Amazing value at less than £50 per person per night.
Internet is expensive but there are Internet Cafes in Taupo

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Drove up form Wellington looking forward to our stay. We had reserved a villa.

The location is great - the villa turned out to be grubby (do not know when it last had a good clean) with roaches and generally dated and tatty

We had some problems with equipment not working, and the service from the maintenance staff was superb. The same sadly was not our experience with the front desk or restaurant staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford_visitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My mother organised a large family group to stay here for her 70th birthday and it was a fantastic break. There was lots to do (swimming, tennis, golf) but I would suggest taking your own gear as the quality of equipment wasn't great and you had to pay to hire clubs - but at least the facilities are there. My husband and I stayed in the hotel style rooms and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The family villas are average and need of an upgrade but still has everything you need and comfortable. It is a short drive to many activities if you want to leave the resort. I was impressed that the staff even organised a birthday cake and were very accomodating with my requests - well done!
A great family holiday and we'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine_k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

>The short trip to the Hukka Falls is amazing and a must do once in Taupo.
>walk through the Thermal valley was not the most interesting but it gives a Hobbit movie atmosphere.
> The view at Dusk from lake Taupo across to Mt. Ruapehu is breathtaking and is strongly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annchand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Great facilities (Spa, Tennis, Golf, 3 pools, EVERYTHING!)
Great Staff
Great Stay

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed at Wairakei for 3 nigths for a conference. The room was modern, clean and comfortable- with balcony. The geothermal pools were wonderfully indulgent, however the spa pools a little tired. The grounds are well kept and attractive in the autumn. The staff were unremarkable. The conference facilites were to be expected- but the conference food was brilliant.

I was pleasnatly surprised by the quality of the stay, after reading previous trip advisor reviews. But it is a big complex and maybe room quality does vary.

The resturant prices were to be expected for hotel and out of town- but as other people have commented the BP garage across the road does a good toastie and coffee! On the first night staff were cheeky and told conference guests that only roast carvery was available at a discounted $30 (normally $50) when full a la carte was available for all guests.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
5.1 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing