We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel”
Review of Tiki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiki Lodge
Ranked #12 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average hostel”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

It's a pretty average hostel, with positives and negatives. The rooms and shared bathrooms were clean, beds were fine, nice hot showers. Kitchen and TV room were sort of dirty, cluttered, not cleaned on a regular basis. Fine for a night or two if you don't care about cooking. Location is on the far end of the downtown, a ten-minute walk to bars and restaurants. It has three computers for internet and one is broken.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Many thanks for the comments. Our communal areas are cleaned twice daily - we do not want to appear to hover over guests and spot clean every few minutes - twice a day is sufficient therefore it is unreasonable to expect these areas to be spotless at all times. Tiki Lodge is located on the town edge - merely 5 minutes walk to the bars - closest restaurant/bar is 1 minute away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    68
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
38
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Went for Tiki Lodge because of good reviews on Trip Adviser. Alarm bells rang with the frosty male receptionist who didn't make us feel welcome, and the number of "Do not ....." signs scattered about the place. The frosty looks continued for the stay. We had booked a double room in advance but were disappointed that it had a double but also 2 bunk beds which together blocked 50% of the window light. They also blocked the plug sockets in the room. Decor was also rather municipal and cold.
Cleanliness was fine in the shared toilet / wash areas and the kitchen, but the latter was a bit short on storage space. The 10.00am check-out was rather too enthusiastically enforced by a guy barging into our room without knocking at exactly 10.00am. Luckily we were walking to the door with our bags rather than getting changed.
We stayed in around 20 hostels over the holiday, and although this had the potential to be good it was definitely in the bottom 5, so disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
The room would have been a "family ensuite" room, hence the extra beds. This room can be used as a double or twin room if guests request to have their own private bathroom, but its purpose is primarily a "Family Room". Guests do however have the option of a "proper" double room with shared bathroom if required - but we were never told that this guest was unhappy with their current room layout.
Signage is a requirement both for safety, security and informational purposes. Simply put: if we take down all the informational and safety signs in the world (which are usually only there in the first place for the minority of people) - chaos would reign....we are no different and we find it disturbing that people would suggest we remove these signs for their own safety and security at the very least.
We apologise if our cleaning staff did in fact enter your room at 10am - however I find this unlikely prior to 10.30am. Check out time is 10am however our staff are instructed to enter only after 10.30am if the room has not been vacated by that time. This is done only at the request of the reception staff responsible for the daily check out procedures when late check outs are holding up the rest of the days' tasks (i.e. check in at 11am).
I will inform the male receptionist of your "frosty" opinion however you may have mistaken this for his shy nature (which can accompany a serious face sometimes - which he is working on ;) The frosty looks that "continued for the stay" seem to indicate that you were looking at him critically a lot which he may have found disturbing and unsettling (hence the serious face)..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Tiki Lodge could be great but it lacks the finishing touches. The bedrooms are very basic. Our double simply had a double bed and 2 bunk beds (so us also a dorm as required) without the homely finishing touches many hostels have.  There are also plenty of rules to follow which are stuck to the walls without a please in site. . . The kitchen shuts at 10pm, alcohol is only allowed in the kitchen etc etc.  The kitchen facilities are good, the bedrooms very basic and the Internet  is relatively pricey.

We had been staying at some lovely hostels prior to this, we cut our stay here short and stayed at the lovely Accent Motel as a much needed treat!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernLassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
The guest neglects to state that the room offered was a "family ensuite" room, therefore there are indeed extra beds. This room can be used as a double or twin room as required but it's purpose is primarily a "basic Family Room" and is never used as a dorm (we have dorm rooms for that purpose).
We have checked our signage and the word please and thank you are mentioned (sometimes twice on each sign). I think this guest is confusing "rules" with informational signs (most of which have been requested to be put up by other guest feedback). Our only rules are no smoking inside building, don't let strangers into the building (i.e. don't leave doors open), certain requirements regarding alcohol consumption and behaviour must be respectable at all times (pretty standard really and all relate to safety and security issues). Our informational signage is there to "inform" guests i.e. kitchen closes at 10.30pm", where to store items etc. Amusing to note that a guest complaining about signage did not even read the correct time from the actual sign (stated kitchen closed at 10pm when in fact sign states 10.30pm) and also did not observe the many please and thank you's written on the signs.
We have been there before with having no signage and we received far more complaints and problems with guests as a result of the lack of information. Generally we find that those complaining about signs are the ones who are usually annoyed regarding our alcohol rules or our kitchen closing time because they disagree with those aspects - they probably don't agree with road rules and laws in NZ either....but they are there for a reason...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed for just one night in Taupo in September 2011.

Immediately on arrival, we were made to feel very welcome here, our room wasn’t ready, so we left our packs and headed off to find the Huka Falls and hot springs, clutching the map the very friendly lady on reception had drawn for us. Needless to say, our map was accurate and we had a great walk out.

On our return, we found our room to be exceptionally comfortable, the shower hot and powerful (believe me – after our previous accommodation with a classic hostel ‘luke warm dribble’ shower, this almost had tears of joy mingling with the streams of water) and the bed, huge and soft.

The shared kitchen facilities were the best we saw in all of our travels in NZ, and the balcony has just the most stunning views across the lake to the mountains beyond.

If we had known in advance what a superb hostel this was, we would have booked for more than just the one night. A fantastic find!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeRibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We are so pleased that this guest felt so passionate about the place... (like we do....). I hope they thoroughly enjoyed their 3 week trip around our beautiful country. We have so many people wanting to extending their stay/s with us and in some cases they stay so long they end up working for us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I visited the Tiki Lodge two years ago and it still proves to be a small but friendly hostel with great facilities and location.

The kitchen facilities are large and ample and can cope around mealtimes, the rooms are always clean. Bathroom facilities are only a small walk away from your room and the staff friendly, there's an outdoor balcony for smokers with a gorgeous view of the Lake.

It's often used as a base for people who want to brave the Tongariro Crossing and shuttle buses buzz in and out all day from the hostel.

You're a couple of minutes away from a supermarket and other shops in the centre of Taupo plus there's a chance to do some many walks and this hostel puts you right in the middle of it.

I would happily stop here again, just wish it was for longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Always good to see/hear that people are happy enough with us to return again and stay a second time.....we must be doing something right......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

It was very cold when we stayed at this hostel. The manager couldn't fix the heating in the living room while we were staying there (4 nights). On the weekend it was very noisy at nighttime. Some guests were quite drunk and we could hear a lot of car-races nearby.
The kitchen is full of signs telling you what you should do /should't do.
To sum up: rather uncomfortable

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clicker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Firstly it was one of our warmer months in Taupo - November was unseasonally warm. This guest stayed 4 nights and she had planned to "home school" her children in our communal area during the day. Unfortunately we could not get the gas heater to work (we usually never use it at this time of year anyway) and being the weekend - no-one was available to fix it (it's something we are not allowed to fix ourselves due to NZ safety regulations). The guest had more than adequate heating in their private family room however so it was their choice to remain in the lounge area. It was a warm enough day that they could have sat outside in the back garden (sheltered) area also. This was not acceptable to her but there was no immediate solution we could offer at such short notice in the weekend. Being a backpackers it is reasonable to expect some noise at the weekend and we have no control over any exterior sound i.e. car racing??? - which is over 5 km away. The kitchen signage is a mixture of information (i.e. operational info for fridges, ovens,bbq etc) , recycling instructions (i.e. what goes into which bin) and behaviour/alcohol guidelines - which are necessary and have been requested by guests to inform others - we would receive far more complaints if these notices were absent. We don't tolerate extremely "drunk people" and personally I feel this guest should have chosen a motel for their requirements if they weren't happy that people could consume alcohol (in moderation) on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights, the hostel is really close to cafes/restaurants/bars, yet still far away enough to get a decent nights sleep!
We had a 7 bed dorm, bunk beds were sturdy and room was clean
The bathrooms were also very clean and also have 2 hairdryers which was nice!
The kitchen was a good size, clean and had 3 cookers (with ovens!) all working too! There is a large common area and a small tv room and a nice view from the deck!
Found the owners friendly and were able to give us a lift back up to the intercity bus terminal which was handy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Although we don't claim to get everything right all the time (we do try our best though) - we feel it is all worth it to receive lovely compliments....any genuine comments re: improvement are always valued as well....:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#20 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 33 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Lodge

Property: Tiki Lodge
Address: 104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiki Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autumn Special: FREE breakfast from 1st April-30th November 2017. If you are looking for an affordable, relaxed and friendly place to stay in Taupo with spectacular lake views, then Tiki Lodge is the backpacker lodge for you! We offer FREE unlimited Wifi and with one of the best locations in the city, you will definitely enjoy your stay at Tiki Lodge. Its prime location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the town centre for great shops, cafes, and restaurants. Plus, we're only a 2-minute walk to the shores of our famous Lake Taupo. Cook up a treat in our large well-equipped kitchen boasting 3 ovens and including free oil, spices, tea and coffee. Make new friends in our spacious chilled lounge and relax in our cosy T.V room with our large array of DVD's. We also offer free onsite undercover parking, high-pressure showers, storage lockers, comfortable beds and BBQ on the picturesque balcony. There is so much to do in this beautiful region and our friendly staff are here to help with all your booking needs. From the Tongariro Alpine Crossing to skydiving, bungy jumping, rafting trips, trout fishing and kayaking, there is something for everyone! We also have bikes for hire onsite for all the great trails in Taupo and surrounding areas. With our relaxed and friendly vibe, cosy feel and awesome staff, your stay with us will be a memorable one! We look forward to having you stay! Please note: Late check-ins (after 8.30pm) are by PRE arrangement only. No check-ins after 11pm. Please phone or email for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing