We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in a 3 week tour of NZ”
Review of Tiki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiki Lodge
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed for just one night in Taupo in September 2011.

Immediately on arrival, we were made to feel very welcome here, our room wasn’t ready, so we left our packs and headed off to find the Huka Falls and hot springs, clutching the map the very friendly lady on reception had drawn for us. Needless to say, our map was accurate and we had a great walk out.

On our return, we found our room to be exceptionally comfortable, the shower hot and powerful (believe me – after our previous accommodation with a classic hostel ‘luke warm dribble’ shower, this almost had tears of joy mingling with the streams of water) and the bed, huge and soft.

The shared kitchen facilities were the best we saw in all of our travels in NZ, and the balcony has just the most stunning views across the lake to the mountains beyond.

If we had known in advance what a superb hostel this was, we would have booked for more than just the one night. A fantastic find!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeRibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

We are so pleased that this guest felt so passionate about the place... (like we do....). I hope they thoroughly enjoyed their 3 week trip around our beautiful country. We have so many people wanting to extending their stay/s with us and in some cases they stay so long they end up working for us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 191 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

I visited the Tiki Lodge two years ago and it still proves to be a small but friendly hostel with great facilities and location.

The kitchen facilities are large and ample and can cope around mealtimes, the rooms are always clean. Bathroom facilities are only a small walk away from your room and the staff friendly, there's an outdoor balcony for smokers with a gorgeous view of the Lake.

It's often used as a base for people who want to brave the Tongariro Crossing and shuttle buses buzz in and out all day from the hostel.

You're a couple of minutes away from a supermarket and other shops in the centre of Taupo plus there's a chance to do some many walks and this hostel puts you right in the middle of it.

I would happily stop here again, just wish it was for longer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Always good to see/hear that people are happy enough with us to return again and stay a second time.....we must be doing something right......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

It was very cold when we stayed at this hostel. The manager couldn't fix the heating in the living room while we were staying there (4 nights). On the weekend it was very noisy at nighttime. Some guests were quite drunk and we could hear a lot of car-races nearby.
The kitchen is full of signs telling you what you should do /should't do.
To sum up: rather uncomfortable

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clicker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Firstly it was one of our warmer months in Taupo - November was unseasonally warm. This guest stayed 4 nights and she had planned to "home school" her children in our communal area during the day. Unfortunately we could not get the gas heater to work (we usually never use it at this time of year anyway) and being the weekend - no-one was available to fix it (it's something we are not allowed to fix ourselves due to NZ safety regulations). The guest had more than adequate heating in their private family room however so it was their choice to remain in the lounge area. It was a warm enough day that they could have sat outside in the back garden (sheltered) area also. This was not acceptable to her but there was no immediate solution we could offer at such short notice in the weekend. Being a backpackers it is reasonable to expect some noise at the weekend and we have no control over any exterior sound i.e. car racing??? - which is over 5 km away. The kitchen signage is a mixture of information (i.e. operational info for fridges, ovens,bbq etc) , recycling instructions (i.e. what goes into which bin) and behaviour/alcohol guidelines - which are necessary and have been requested by guests to inform others - we would receive far more complaints if these notices were absent. We don't tolerate extremely "drunk people" and personally I feel this guest should have chosen a motel for their requirements if they weren't happy that people could consume alcohol (in moderation) on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights, the hostel is really close to cafes/restaurants/bars, yet still far away enough to get a decent nights sleep!
We had a 7 bed dorm, bunk beds were sturdy and room was clean
The bathrooms were also very clean and also have 2 hairdryers which was nice!
The kitchen was a good size, clean and had 3 cookers (with ovens!) all working too! There is a large common area and a small tv room and a nice view from the deck!
Found the owners friendly and were able to give us a lift back up to the intercity bus terminal which was handy

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Although we don't claim to get everything right all the time (we do try our best though) - we feel it is all worth it to receive lovely compliments....any genuine comments re: improvement are always valued as well....:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our room we had reserved with a credit card was given away to someone else because we arrived at half seven, an hour and a half later than we said we would be. We had no phone coverage until we got to Taupo to ring ahead and explain. Lady on reception said all hostels in the area will cancel your booking if your ten minutes late, even if reserved with a credit card. When asked did she know anywhere else to stay in the area she said no! We couldn't believe the way we were spoken to.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

Female customer phoned mid morning on day of arrival requesting to cancel reservation so they could instead stay closer to National Park, upon which they were told that cancellation fees would apply if they chose to cancel. I was told that they would discuss things and phone me back straight away in "15 minutes" if they STILL wanted to KEEP the reservation. I never heard back from them - NZ has ample phone coverage and there are also phone boxes everywhere so no excuse there! As the guest had not contacted us again nor arrived at their ETA and I had no valid card details (provided card details were incomplete/incorrect as card was declined pre-auth) , the vacant room was sold around 8pm. Male customer arrives near 8.30pm (at our close time) irate that room wasn't held for them. I explained that it was unreasonable to show up at close time and expect a room to still be held when the booking had been cancelled and no valid card details were held (this would not be acceptable to any business and I told him so - and not the 10 minutes late theory he has come up with!!). Being a very busy night in town, I knew that other hostels were already either full or closed - I suggested that they look at motels as I had no idea what else was available in town. I was verbally abused and threatened with a "Bad Trip Advisor Review" among other things. Nice to note that our rooms, cleanliness, value etc have been rated without customer ever going past reception!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Looks nice from the outside and that is it. The first time Tripadvisor reviews let me down. It has absolutely no character or soul. The pillow cases were various shades of yellow and decoration in the rooms is faded. The kitchen and room had a terrible smell. The wooden tables in the kitchen have food in the grooves that looks like it had been there for a while. It is a real shame if someone took care for the people staying and spent a little time making it homely it could be great. We stayed in a ensuite room and my advice would be spend 20 bucks more and stay in a motel. We tried to get into the higher rated backpackers but they were full.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewsmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Being budget accommodation you cannot expect "motel standards" with regards to decorations/fading etc. If you are expecting this - you should actually book a motel or be more fair in your comments. We are not responsible for (or do not create) smells in the rooms and kitchen areas as checked in guests create these smells themselves (however unpleasant) and we ensure the rooms smell fresh and clean in between (which we personally check). This guest stayed one night only and comments regarding food in between table cracks/grooves is a bit trivial - remember we aren't the ones who poke the food between the cracks AND we do actually clean our kitchen twice daily - which the guest would have duly noted if they had either asked us or seen us cleaning after they had checked out (which is when our work gets done mainly). This comment and the fact that the guest was trying to book elsewhere (at a higher rated backpackers during one of the quietest periods in town) make me highly suspicious as to the validity of this review. Noted also traveller profile doesn't match which country he said he was from which further casts doubt over his comments. Check our other reviews and it is clear - we don't deserve a rating of ONE...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked a 6 bed female dorm with shared bathroom which had plenty of space for us all. The room even had an extra single bed in it when we arrived in addition to the 3 bunk beds we had been expecting! We were able to store our big rucksacks underneath the beds to there was lots of room. There were 4 showers and 4 toilets in the bathroom area which was perfect as you never had to wait on a shower! The showers were always nice and hot as well, ideal when you've just come back from completing the Tongariro crossing! The kitchen area was one of the best we had in NZ as it was very spacious and had all of the equipment you needed for making meals. There were 2 lounging areas as well, one with a television which was great. The hostel is located just 5 minutes walk away from the main town area and also 5 minutes away from the lake itself. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and even ended up staying 2 nights longer than planned. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Taupo, you won't find a a nicer hostel for such good value.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Many thanks for the feedback - we appreciate your time and effort into your review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#22 of 68 in Taupo
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Lodge

Address: 104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $34 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiki Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast all year round from 8:00am to 10:30am. FREE unlimited WIFI all year round. If you're looking for an affordable, relaxed and friendly place to stay in Taupo with spectacular lake and mountain views, then Tiki Lodge is for you! Its prime location ensures excellent views of Lake Taupo with only a 2 minute walk to the town centre and lakefront. Cook up a treat in our large well-equipped kitchen. Make friends in our large lounge, relax in our cosy T.V room and enjoy the views from our balcony. We have onsite undercover parking, high-pressure showers, storage lockers, BBQ and bike hire available. Our friendly staff are here to help with all your booking needs. From the Tongariro Alpine Crossing to skydiving, bungy jumping, rafting trips, trout fishing and kayaking, there is something for everyone. With our relaxed and friendly vibe, cosy feel and awesome staff, we hope your stay with us will be a memorable one! We look forward to having you stay :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tiki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing