We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably rude reception”
Review of Tiki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tiki Lodge
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Unbelievably rude reception”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our room we had reserved with a credit card was given away to someone else because we arrived at half seven, an hour and a half later than we said we would be. We had no phone coverage until we got to Taupo to ring ahead and explain. Lady on reception said all hostels in the area will cancel your booking if your ten minutes late, even if reserved with a credit card. When asked did she know anywhere else to stay in the area she said no! We couldn't believe the way we were spoken to.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Female customer phoned mid morning on day of arrival requesting to cancel reservation so they could instead stay closer to National Park, upon which they were told that cancellation fees would apply if they chose to cancel. I was told that they would discuss things and phone me back straight away in "15 minutes" if they STILL wanted to KEEP the reservation. I never heard back from them - NZ has ample phone coverage and there are also phone boxes everywhere so no excuse there! As the guest had not contacted us again nor arrived at their ETA and I had no valid card details (provided card details were incomplete/incorrect as card was declined pre-auth) , the vacant room was sold around 8pm. Male customer arrives near 8.30pm (at our close time) irate that room wasn't held for them. I explained that it was unreasonable to show up at close time and expect a room to still be held when the booking had been cancelled and no valid card details were held (this would not be acceptable to any business and I told him so - and not the 10 minutes late theory he has come up with!!). Being a very busy night in town, I knew that other hostels were already either full or closed - I suggested that they look at motels as I had no idea what else was available in town. I was verbally abused and threatened with a "Bad Trip Advisor Review" among other things. Nice to note that our rooms, cleanliness, value etc have been rated without customer ever going past reception!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    68
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
38
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Looks nice from the outside and that is it. The first time Tripadvisor reviews let me down. It has absolutely no character or soul. The pillow cases were various shades of yellow and decoration in the rooms is faded. The kitchen and room had a terrible smell. The wooden tables in the kitchen have food in the grooves that looks like it had been there for a while. It is a real shame if someone took care for the people staying and spent a little time making it homely it could be great. We stayed in a ensuite room and my advice would be spend 20 bucks more and stay in a motel. We tried to get into the higher rated backpackers but they were full.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewsmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Being budget accommodation you cannot expect "motel standards" with regards to decorations/fading etc. If you are expecting this - you should actually book a motel or be more fair in your comments. We are not responsible for (or do not create) smells in the rooms and kitchen areas as checked in guests create these smells themselves (however unpleasant) and we ensure the rooms smell fresh and clean in between (which we personally check). This guest stayed one night only and comments regarding food in between table cracks/grooves is a bit trivial - remember we aren't the ones who poke the food between the cracks AND we do actually clean our kitchen twice daily - which the guest would have duly noted if they had either asked us or seen us cleaning after they had checked out (which is when our work gets done mainly). This comment and the fact that the guest was trying to book elsewhere (at a higher rated backpackers during one of the quietest periods in town) make me highly suspicious as to the validity of this review. Noted also traveller profile doesn't match which country he said he was from which further casts doubt over his comments. Check our other reviews and it is clear - we don't deserve a rating of ONE...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked a 6 bed female dorm with shared bathroom which had plenty of space for us all. The room even had an extra single bed in it when we arrived in addition to the 3 bunk beds we had been expecting! We were able to store our big rucksacks underneath the beds to there was lots of room. There were 4 showers and 4 toilets in the bathroom area which was perfect as you never had to wait on a shower! The showers were always nice and hot as well, ideal when you've just come back from completing the Tongariro crossing! The kitchen area was one of the best we had in NZ as it was very spacious and had all of the equipment you needed for making meals. There were 2 lounging areas as well, one with a television which was great. The hostel is located just 5 minutes walk away from the main town area and also 5 minutes away from the lake itself. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and even ended up staying 2 nights longer than planned. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Taupo, you won't find a a nicer hostel for such good value.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback - we appreciate your time and effort into your review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hostel is clean and seems fairly new, certainly not run down at all. There is parking under the building which is perfect. The rates were reasonable. There are 7 people to the normal dorm, which is one more than what you normally see, but that didn't bother me. There are 4 computers available for use. Two of them are coin operatable (so $1 for 10 minutes), while I think for all four you can purchase a card at the front desk and just swipe that to use the web. Also, I think 3 of the computers had webcams so you could skype video call people. The bathrooms (separate for men and women) were clean and there were plenty of toilets and showers. The common area is fairly big and you are allowed to drink alcohol in those parts.

Room Tip: All seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonstopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Glad to see that someone actually takes note of where to consume alcohol etc. We do have various sized dorm rooms now - we have heard of 16-20 bed dorms elsewhere so 7 isn't so bad after all. We also have cheaper rates and even cheaper WIFI....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Unfortunately I stayed in a dorm with six other girls, who had completely plastered the room in their belongings, to be fair there was pretty much no storage in the dorm but climbing over other people's stuff just to get in the room was not good. The hostel was nice and clean but noisy and overcrowded in the dorm. Staff were friendly and helpful. I may have just had the misfortune to stay here at the same time as some unbelievably inconsiderate people, as this isn't a bad hostel...just be prepared for now sleep!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcdefgLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I think you are right with the bad timing thing - some people (not always girls) don't seem to respect others and scatter their belongings everywhere and chatter at the most inappropriate times. It's a bit of the "luck of the draw" - a bit like ending up with someone snoring in your room! You just never know - glad you appreciate that this is not exactly our fault - we have no control over personalities and cleanliness traits in our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Great place to stay- very clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff at front desk, friendly atmosphere. Staff helped us book our trip to do Tongariro Alpine Crossing with a great, reliable company- $55 for the return bus.
Super hostel, should have no worries about staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback - we aim to please but don't always get it right. (No-one is that perfect!)...Glad you felt we did a great job during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Hostel is generally satisfactory and clean but was spoken to so rudely by staff member, I had never experienced anything like it. It felt like they were doing me a favour the whole time rather then treating me like a guest. there atte better options in taupo.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
As there are only 2 staff who work here (husband and wife team) I am confident that the service provided has been consistent with our other feedback. As the reviewer mentioned that there are "better options available in taupo" I am inclined the think that the review was purely a means to discredit our current good ratings. Guests would only be spoken to sternly if they were causing a problem within the lodge - to property or other guests - which is warranted. It is a give and take situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.3 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 34 in Taupo
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Lodge

Property: Tiki Lodge
Address: 104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiki Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autumn Special: FREE breakfast from 1st April-30th November 2017. If you are looking for an affordable, relaxed and friendly place to stay in Taupo with spectacular lake views, then Tiki Lodge is the backpacker lodge for you! We offer FREE unlimited Wifi and with one of the best locations in the city, you will definitely enjoy your stay at Tiki Lodge. Its prime location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the town centre for great shops, cafes, and restaurants. Plus, we're only a 2-minute walk to the shores of our famous Lake Taupo. Cook up a treat in our large well-equipped kitchen boasting 3 ovens and including free oil, spices, tea and coffee. Make new friends in our spacious chilled lounge and relax in our cosy T.V room with our large array of DVD's. We also offer free onsite undercover parking, high-pressure showers, storage lockers, comfortable beds and BBQ on the picturesque balcony. There is so much to do in this beautiful region and our friendly staff are here to help with all your booking needs. From the Tongariro Alpine Crossing to skydiving, bungy jumping, rafting trips, trout fishing and kayaking, there is something for everyone! We also have bikes for hire onsite for all the great trails in Taupo and surrounding areas. With our relaxed and friendly vibe, cosy feel and awesome staff, your stay with us will be a memorable one! We look forward to having you stay! Please note: Late check-ins (after 8.30pm) are by PRE arrangement only. No check-ins after 11pm. Please phone or email for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing