We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”
Review of Tiki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiki Lodge
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Looks nice from the outside and that is it. The first time Tripadvisor reviews let me down. It has absolutely no character or soul. The pillow cases were various shades of yellow and decoration in the rooms is faded. The kitchen and room had a terrible smell. The wooden tables in the kitchen have food in the grooves that looks like it had been there for a while. It is a real shame if someone took care for the people staying and spent a little time making it homely it could be great. We stayed in a ensuite room and my advice would be spend 20 bucks more and stay in a motel. We tried to get into the higher rated backpackers but they were full.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewsmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Being budget accommodation you cannot expect "motel standards" with regards to decorations/fading etc. If you are expecting this - you should actually book a motel or be more fair in your comments. We are not responsible for (or do not create) smells in the rooms and kitchen areas as checked in guests create these smells themselves (however unpleasant) and we ensure the rooms smell fresh and clean in between (which we personally check). This guest stayed one night only and comments regarding food in between table cracks/grooves is a bit trivial - remember we aren't the ones who poke the food between the cracks AND we do actually clean our kitchen twice daily - which the guest would have duly noted if they had either asked us or seen us cleaning after they had checked out (which is when our work gets done mainly). This comment and the fact that the guest was trying to book elsewhere (at a higher rated backpackers during one of the quietest periods in town) make me highly suspicious as to the validity of this review. Noted also traveller profile doesn't match which country he said he was from which further casts doubt over his comments. Check our other reviews and it is clear - we don't deserve a rating of ONE...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked a 6 bed female dorm with shared bathroom which had plenty of space for us all. The room even had an extra single bed in it when we arrived in addition to the 3 bunk beds we had been expecting! We were able to store our big rucksacks underneath the beds to there was lots of room. There were 4 showers and 4 toilets in the bathroom area which was perfect as you never had to wait on a shower! The showers were always nice and hot as well, ideal when you've just come back from completing the Tongariro crossing! The kitchen area was one of the best we had in NZ as it was very spacious and had all of the equipment you needed for making meals. There were 2 lounging areas as well, one with a television which was great. The hostel is located just 5 minutes walk away from the main town area and also 5 minutes away from the lake itself. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and even ended up staying 2 nights longer than planned. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Taupo, you won't find a a nicer hostel for such good value.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Many thanks for the feedback - we appreciate your time and effort into your review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hostel is clean and seems fairly new, certainly not run down at all. There is parking under the building which is perfect. The rates were reasonable. There are 7 people to the normal dorm, which is one more than what you normally see, but that didn't bother me. There are 4 computers available for use. Two of them are coin operatable (so $1 for 10 minutes), while I think for all four you can purchase a card at the front desk and just swipe that to use the web. Also, I think 3 of the computers had webcams so you could skype video call people. The bathrooms (separate for men and women) were clean and there were plenty of toilets and showers. The common area is fairly big and you are allowed to drink alcohol in those parts.

Room Tip: All seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonstopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Glad to see that someone actually takes note of where to consume alcohol etc. We do have various sized dorm rooms now - we have heard of 16-20 bed dorms elsewhere so 7 isn't so bad after all. We also have cheaper rates and even cheaper WIFI....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Unfortunately I stayed in a dorm with six other girls, who had completely plastered the room in their belongings, to be fair there was pretty much no storage in the dorm but climbing over other people's stuff just to get in the room was not good. The hostel was nice and clean but noisy and overcrowded in the dorm. Staff were friendly and helpful. I may have just had the misfortune to stay here at the same time as some unbelievably inconsiderate people, as this isn't a bad hostel...just be prepared for now sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcdefgLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I think you are right with the bad timing thing - some people (not always girls) don't seem to respect others and scatter their belongings everywhere and chatter at the most inappropriate times. It's a bit of the "luck of the draw" - a bit like ending up with someone snoring in your room! You just never know - glad you appreciate that this is not exactly our fault - we have no control over personalities and cleanliness traits in our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Great place to stay- very clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff at front desk, friendly atmosphere. Staff helped us book our trip to do Tongariro Alpine Crossing with a great, reliable company- $55 for the return bus.
Super hostel, should have no worries about staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Many thanks for the feedback - we aim to please but don't always get it right. (No-one is that perfect!)...Glad you felt we did a great job during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Hostel is generally satisfactory and clean but was spoken to so rudely by staff member, I had never experienced anything like it. It felt like they were doing me a favour the whole time rather then treating me like a guest. there atte better options in taupo.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

As there are only 2 staff who work here (husband and wife team) I am confident that the service provided has been consistent with our other feedback. As the reviewer mentioned that there are "better options available in taupo" I am inclined the think that the review was purely a means to discredit our current good ratings. Guests would only be spoken to sternly if they were causing a problem within the lodge - to property or other guests - which is warranted. It is a give and take situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Great service from the last minute phonecall right through the stay, rooms were clean and well kept and the whole atmosphere is very relaxed and sociable.

Nice view of the Lake and it's walking distance from all the shops, I made many friends (we were all stuck inside due to the unusually poor weather NZ was experiencing in summer) and staff even laid on on a Lord of the Rings marathon (even the staff saw the irony of this!) for us.

Kitchen area / lounge area is vast and allows you space to chill out, there's even a small balcony you can lounge around on.

There's a shuttle service to the coach station and internet access is abundant for a reasonable and small fee.

You're treated like a member of family rather than a guest, can't work out why this place has got bad reviews!?

Would stay again.....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Many thanks for the feedback - we can't figure some of the reviews either! We can usually tell who will post a poor review - usually the person that got told off for smoking inside, being rude to others and then have the cheek to post us a bad review.... hey that's the way it goes sometimes. Others just like to "stir".... lucky most people offer genuine feedback/advice/opinions and we appreciate it....It is valuable in making necessary improvements. Hope to see you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 34 in Taupo
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Lodge

Address: 104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $34 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiki Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast all year round from 8:00am to 10:30am. FREE unlimited WIFI all year round. If you're looking for an affordable, relaxed and friendly place to stay in Taupo with spectacular lake and mountain views, then Tiki Lodge is for you! Its prime location ensures excellent views of Lake Taupo with only a 2 minute walk to the town centre and lakefront. Cook up a treat in our large well-equipped kitchen. Make friends in our large lounge, relax in our cosy T.V room and enjoy the views from our balcony. We have onsite undercover parking, high-pressure showers, storage lockers, BBQ and bike hire available. Our friendly staff are here to help with all your booking needs. From the Tongariro Alpine Crossing to skydiving, bungy jumping, rafting trips, trout fishing and kayaking, there is something for everyone. With our relaxed and friendly vibe, cosy feel and awesome staff, we hope your stay with us will be a memorable one! We look forward to having you stay :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Tiki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing