We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Booked direct online. Apartments right on lake frontage with only walking path separating lake. Just south of main part of town. Quieter and nice location. 2 single beds in separate small bedroom. Double bed in living area but still plenty of room for dining table, lounge and spa bath. Good cooking facilities with stove top, microwave, toaster and communal share BBQ. Ground floor unit had small patio area with little grassed area too looking out to lake. Friendly managers. Small thermal pool to soak in. Excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WigglyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

Wonderful location indeed ...lake front with lovely views right next to the Taupo walkway. Has a outdoor thermal heated 32C pool for use up to 9.30pm and a spa pool in your room which can be used until 10.00pm. We drove our car down to the Steak & Ale on Tongaririo Street for dinner which was Amazing recommend the Fish Filo Parcel. BUT when we rang asked Des from Boulevard if they have wireless broadband internet and if it was included in price was told Yes...this is the reason we booked Boulevard as I needed it for work ..we were told when we arrived all the cords were being used !!! Cords?? Wireless internet does not need a cord. !! Managed to hook up to a Telecom Wireless Hotspot which was unsecured for $10.00 not good enough !! When you pay $189 a night you expect free internet as they stated we would get over the phone ..false advertising as it also stated so in their Compendium in the room. Keep this in mind when booking if internet is a necessity maybe look else where.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewisco, Owner at Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

In clarification, we use the Zenbu internet wireless system which offers secure internet access throughout our complex. Some rooms did require a wired Ethernet connection due to a poor signal. This has since been rectified and all rooms now have wireless access. We apologise for any inconvenience caused & thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We LOVE Boulevard Waters - our family stay here every September in the school holidays for a few nights.
The rooms are cleaned to a high standard, friendly service & amazing views!
The owners are accommodating - as our girls like to stay in the same room every year.
I have recommended Boulevard Waters to many friends who were also extremely pleased with this place.
We will definately be staying there in September again (6th year in a row!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

JUst stayed the one night at Boulevard waters, there are about a squillion Motels in Taupo and this has to rate up there with the best for its awesome rooms and amazing lakeside location, it is also far enough off the road to be very quiet. Its really clean modern and comfortable and the hosts Ally and Des are great sorts for whom nothing is too much trouble. There is a fantastic thermal pool as well. Its a bit of a walk into town but Taupo is a big lake and there are plenty of poorer choices than this further away from the town centre. I would happily recommend the Bouleved waters to anyone. Great place to stay in a beautiful location, perfect stop off on the long trek up the middle of NZ. Tell Ally and Des that I sent you !

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

This motel is right on the lake edge. Every unit has full length windows, giving wonderful uninterrupted views of the lake and to the mountains beyond. The units are solid, set well back from the road and tucked in behind the owners accommodation, so there is no intrusive traffic noise. This is important because the main state highway goes past most of the motels that offer good views, and there are a lot of heavy trucks during the night.

The motel is situated 2.5km from the town and there are only a couple of restaurants close by, so it is best if you have a car. The units are reasonably modern, very clean, and perfectly comfortable. Owners and staff were all helpful and friendly.

I have stayed in 20 different motels in Taupo over the years, and this is the one I would choose for a pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

My partner and I, along with friends of ours booked two nights to stay in Boulevard Waters while we were in Taupo for a wedding.

We had email correspondence and several phone calls confirming our reservation (made three months in advance).

Imagine our shock when we arrived at the motel to be advised our booking could not be found. The managers delt with the situation in an appaling fashion, offering the most basic of apologies and no compensation for the inconvenience they had caused.

I would not recommend staying here as the booking system is unreliable and it can be nearly impossible to find last-minute accommodation in Taupo.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank NewZealandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

Stayed here for a night en route to Rotorua. The Motel is right on Lake Taupo, down a driveway so it does not get highway noise. The owners were very pleasant and showed us to our unit and all its facilities. The Motel also has a thermal plunge pool which is constantly fed with hot water. It is a bit out of town (5 minutes by car but a bit far to walk) but there are restaurants close by.
We had a ground floor room which consisted of a twin single bedroom, large bathroom, kitchen facilities, and a combined Bedroom/Lounge with a large spa in one corner. Sliding door leads onto a balcony/ grassed area and the lake (right on the hot water beach).
The unit was very clean and comfortable and the views were impressive. All in all a comfortable stay and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,180 reviews
0 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge

Address: 215 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#16 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $130 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Lake Edge Accommodation on the shores of Lake Taupo. ALL 10 luxury units have views of Lake Taupo and the mountains of Tongariro National Park (Ruapehu, Ngaruhoe & Tongariro) Studio units with king size beds, in-room 2 person spa, kitchen facilities, underfloor heating, wireless internet and LCD TVs & DVD players. Family units with same facilities, 2 single beds in separate bedroom We have an outdoor Thermal Pool and BBQ for guests use Free off street parking in a quiet location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Waters Motor Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing