We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Recent 3 night stay. Owners very friendly and helpfull. Location couldn't be better. Right on lake front, fantastic views, especially sunset. Beware if you stay in other so called lake front properties, the main road is a busy one and many of the motels are the wrong side of the road!. The Boulevard is right on the shore front, away from the road and is very quiet. Only downside we could find is there is no aircon, so possibly could get a bit warm at night in summer. Recommend you get the first or second floor units as they are slightly more private by being above the level of the public footpath which runs around the lake, between the motel and beach.

Room Tip: First or second floor, above beach front path level, top floor would be best. (also means no guest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 152 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Comfy beds, excellent service, very clean, awesome view right on the lake edge, private courtyard, perfect family size room, very close to the town so you could walk if you wanted. Keith & Phillippa the managers are very very nice people. Nice size natural mineral pool fed by the hotsprings right from the lake. WiFi is decent. Was very quiet but we were here in "off" season of November.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have grass courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Boulevard Waters for 3 nights and having stayed in Taupo many times before, thought this was the best place we've found yet. It's right on the waters edge and each room has a balcony and floor to ceiling windows with views across the lake to the mountains. The underfloor heating was a godsend as it can get a bit chilly in Taupo when the southerly whips across the lake.

We had a studio unit which came with a little kitchen which had everything we needed for the times we chose to eat in. It's a peaceful place with no road noise and even though we had people staying either side of us, we didn't hear a thing. The bed was big and comfy, and the room and bathroom spotlessly clean.

I can't rate this place highly enough. We will definitely be back. It's not the cheapest place to stay in Taupo but you definitely get your moneys worth. If you're looking for somewhere to recharge your batteries, as we were, this is it!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oscar_Holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We treated ouselves whilst touring New Zealand, by staying here. The views are picture perfect just a few steps from Lake Taupo, the rooms luxurious and immaculate. The owners were friendly, helpful and happy to always go the extra mile.
You can't help falling in love with Lake Taupo, and certainly staying at The Boulevard will be top of the list when we return. Thanks for making our holiday even more amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osianwhughed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Even the stand-in hosts are great at this motel. The owners were away, but we were warmly greeted with friendliness and minimum fuss.
Our 'family suite' layout was very well designed (I'm an interior designer), with a small bedroom just big enough for our two teens to sleep in, and a lovely big bed which was supremely comfortable for us in the remaining larger area. There was a compact dining table and chairs, a three-piece suite and side table.
The kitchenette and its supplies were just perfect for our needs. We caught several trout and were able to barbecue them and cook potatoes and salad and eat them in comfort.
We used the provided dvd player to watch photos of the kids' day white-water-rafting.
The view was gorgeous and we had our own little lawn & patio from which to watch the sunset. There is a low wall and then a public footpath at the lake edge but other than that you are right at the water side; safe for little children and beautiful with it.
The shower was truly superb with oodles of hot water, high pressure and a multi-function nozzle head.
The in-room spa bath was also good. The luxury level would have been improved with extra toiletries - nice soap was provided but that was it, but there were plenty of fluffy clean towels and everything was perfectly clean.
The mineral pool outside was the ideal temperature and soothed away the aches of fishing and cycling.
We had a wonderful stay here and felt it was amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaMaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived at this lovely motel and were greeted by a friendly proprietor. Up to the first floor there were steps so no good if you are not able bodied but there are ground floor apartments also.
The room was good, clean and good facilities. The view was spectacular, right on the lake front with a small terrace with table and chairs to sit at and sip your wine while enjoying the view. As night fell the view of the lights on the lake was beautiful. Nice and quiet too. We enjoyed a plunge in the mineral heated pool under the stars and a spa in room to enjoy as well.
Only down side I believe was that it only had a ceiling fan that was a bit noisy but this was far outweighed by the good service and room. Breakfast arrived in the morning at right time and was enjoyable and well priced. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our second stay at Boulevard Waters and it was every bit as good as the first time, a year ago. The complex is under new ownership (since our first visit) and they made us feel right at home. We had a studio on the top floor and it was quiet and contained all the facilities we needed to self cater during our stay.

Apart from it's beachfront location, the absolute best thing about Boulevard is its thermal pool. Last year I had noticed that it was in a slightly more "natural" state, i.e. the pool lining tended to get a little bit green and slimy. This time around, however, the new owners have got on top of the water quality and the pool was maintained in pristine condition which made it even more appealing. The units also have large spas, however the thermal pool is so pleasant to sit in we have never actually used the spa, despite our best intentions!

We have got our booking confirmed for next year and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,130 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge

Address: 215 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#16 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $133 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Lake Edge Accommodation on the shores of Lake Taupo. ALL 10 luxury units have views of Lake Taupo and the mountains of Tongariro National Park (Ruapehu, Ngaruhoe & Tongariro) Studio units with king size beds, in-room 2 person spa, kitchen facilities, underfloor heating, wireless internet and LCD TVs & DVD players. Family units with same facilities, 2 single beds in separate bedroom We have an outdoor Thermal Pool and BBQ for guests use Free off street parking in a quiet location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Waters Motor Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing