We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside B&B
Nearby Hotels
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$114
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$90
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$170
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$99
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$90
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$97
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$109
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
67
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostsgeothermal hot tubrobes are providedsitting roomlake taupolovely couplepat
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 68 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Fom Pat and Roy Terry, Bishops Waltham Hampshire

We stayed overnight at Ambleside and were made very welcome by Russ and Pat as we arrived.

Lovely room with adjacent sitting room and balcony overlooking the lake.

Very comfortable.an pleasant room.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices.

Russ and Pat were extremely helpfull and they made our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Northbrook35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Our highest praise and recommendation for Ambleside. Hosts Pat and Russ provide accommodation of exemplary standard with magnificent views from the bedroom and sitting room balcony. Their willingness to provide expert advice on the local area ensured that we had the most wonderful stay in the time that we were in Taupo.
If you intend walking in Tongariro National Park, this is a fine alternative to staying at Tongariro – especially if it is wet as there are many more activities in Taupo! Pat arranged for us to catch the bus to the start of the Tongariro Crossing (the bus stop is just down the street) returning by 5.00pm to a soak in their magnificent mineral spring hot tub. Tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean rooms and convivial hosts, Ambleside thoroughly deserves its 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We had two nights at Ambleside with Pat and Russ who were the perfect hosts. They made us feel so welcome and gave us lots of advice on excursions so that we could maximise our short time at Taupo.

Our room, with private sitting room and balcony, had a wonderful view of the lake and it was a lovely place to sit and have our morning cup of tea. Pat served both a continental and cooked breakfast each day. Her own recipe muesli was great so I asked for the recipe. The only disappointment is that we couldn't stay longer. We can't wait to go back

Stayed: February 2007
Thank UKChrisHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stayed for five days at the Ambleside B&B. Our hosts Russ and Pat could not have been more accomodating. We had a lovely room with an attached sitting room with a great view of Lake Taupo from the balcony. My husband was competing in Ironman New Zealand and both Pat and Russ made our stay a pleasure. Pat is a gourmet cook and we had a wonderful breakfast daily. Ambleside is conveniently located, it is an easy walk to the lake (just a few blocks) and easy drive to town. Definitely a 5 star.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank M&MSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed in the Lake Suite for 3 nights in November 06 and can do little better than to paraphrase our comments in their guest book.
A truly lovely suite with every comfort and fantastic views from our own balcony whilst being looked after by the loveliest, kindest ,friendliest and most generous hosts in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheSKIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews