We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts, smashing rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambleside B&B
Ranked #13 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
york, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, smashing rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We only stayed one night, but Pat and Russ were very welcoming and looked after our every need. They were keen to make recommendations of things to do, and stuff to see in Taupo. The room we had had great views out over the lake (the house is part way up a hill, so you can see above the other houses) from the large window. Room was immaculatly clean and had everything we needed, including fridge, drinks and cake! Breakfast was all prepared freshly and very tasty. Another highlight is the naturally heated hot tub in the garden which is available to use whenever and extra towels and robes are provided. A must stay in taupo!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsimx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights with Pat and Russ.
They could not have made us more welcome and the view from our very comfortable room was spectacular.
Although the hot tub was fun the real highlight was sitting with them over a G&T and swapping stories about places we all knew.
I would not hesitate in recommending a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leafpeeperbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed with Russ and Pat in late November. We had a splendid time. They really care about making you feel welcome and are so generous. Bedrooms were thoughtfully presented and the views are spectacular. A glass of cold white wine in the hot tub would be hard to forget but it is the two of them that are really unforgettable. Their local knowledge is extensive and they were helpful in finding other places to stay in for our tour of the two islands.
We would recommend them with no reservations what so ever.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisD3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Russ and Pat are perfect hosts in this wonderful comfortable B&B. We Stayed 2 nights and our hosts could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The views from the guest rooms are fantastic and the thermal hot tub is a real treat. A real highlight is breakfast, with Russ and Pat joining us with wonderful chats about our travels and experiences. As keen travelers themselves they know exactly how to look after their guests !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EngineerCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed with Russ & Pat for 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. They are the most delightful genuine couple who take a real delight in making your stay in Taupo as good as possible. They offer invaluable advice on the best places to visit and at which restaurants to eat . We stayed in the Lakeside suite which has a lovely balcony offering fanstastic views over Lake Taupo. The place is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are first class. Lake Taupo is a lovely area with lots of things to do and within easy driving of other stunning areas. If we ever go back to New Zealand we would definately stay at Ambleside again. We loved Lake Taupo, but Russ & Pat made it really very special.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed here instead of Rotorua and it proved to be an excellent choice. From the moment we arrived Russ and Pat made us feel most welcome with tea and home-made cake in their spacious lounge. They suggested a good restaurant for dinner. The view from our bedroom and guest lounge was beautiful.

Breakfast next morning was taken with Russ and Pat, and the choice was wide. Our hosts were very interesting to talk to and their hospitality could not be faulted. A great deal of attention had been paid to detail to make all aspects of our stay memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed at 12 B and Bs in New Zealand and this was the best. We had a beautiful room with a sitting room, private bathroom and a balcony with a nice view. Theres a hot tub in the garden which we could use at any time. Pat and Russ were very friendly and helped us plan our short time in Taupo and also gave us tips on other places to visit in New Zealand. Local knowledge is so much better than guide books. Breakfast was super too!!! Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkielassEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B @ Number Ten
B&B @ Number Ten
#7 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Taupo
Tuscany on Taupo
#14 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside B&B

Property: Ambleside B&B
Address: 5 Te Hepera Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing