We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in good location”
Review of Ambleside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambleside B&B
Ranked #17 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed here instead of Rotorua and it proved to be an excellent choice. From the moment we arrived Russ and Pat made us feel most welcome with tea and home-made cake in their spacious lounge. They suggested a good restaurant for dinner. The view from our bedroom and guest lounge was beautiful.

Breakfast next morning was taken with Russ and Pat, and the choice was wide. Our hosts were very interesting to talk to and their hospitality could not be faulted. A great deal of attention had been paid to detail to make all aspects of our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed at 12 B and Bs in New Zealand and this was the best. We had a beautiful room with a sitting room, private bathroom and a balcony with a nice view. Theres a hot tub in the garden which we could use at any time. Pat and Russ were very friendly and helped us plan our short time in Taupo and also gave us tips on other places to visit in New Zealand. Local knowledge is so much better than guide books. Breakfast was super too!!! Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkielassEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

What a delightful place. Rus & Pat would have to be two of the most accommodating, lovely people I have met for ages. They have a passion for making your stay perfect. Mineral spring hot tub out the back under cover. Very private Rus sets it up & in you hop. They also gave us a glass of wine to have in the spa. The gardens are lovely. The room (we had the room with balcony) was beautiful the bathroom spotless. Breakfast I could not start to tell you how good it was. These people know how to run a B & B & are like having your own private tour advisers on what to see & do. Yet in a way are not in your face. If you get the chance stay!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diedre_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

We've never met hosts which were so kind and helpfull than Pat & Russ.
if I ever would go back to New-Zealand I'll definately go to Pat & Russ and for a longer stay in their B&B.
My wife and I, will never forget their kindness.
many thanks to Pat & Russ

Walter & Lutgart

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yosshichannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

This gem of a B&B is set on a slight incline giving spectacular views of Lake Taupo about 2-3 minutes’ drive from the centre of Taupo itself. Our hosts, Pat & Russ, gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and while we sipped tea and eat homemade buns they provided valuable local tourist information and maps.

We stayed in the Lake Room which was spotlessly clean, overlooked the lake and had a private terrace with table and chairs. We had an adjoining lounge with television/dvd player if we chose to relax, but one of the novelty features of this B&B is the geothermal spa pool, the water for which is supplied from the underground volcanic activity, so it never goes cold. Brilliant. The additional personal touches such as fresh flowers in the bedroom and cold drinks in the room’s mini fridge are just examples of the extra mile these hosts go to ensure a very comfortable and memorable stay.

We chose to have the full breakfast which was superb and included everything you could want. From the fresh fruit, stewed fruit, cereal & cooked food, it really set us up for the day.

This is a first class B&B with excellent hosts in Pat & Russ. If you intend to stay in Taupo, try Ambleside and I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. We certainly weren’t and wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Pat & Russ, from A & J.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warrior151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Russ and Pat’s home is beautiful, clean and comfortable and our room had a gorgeous view of Lake Taupo and a spacious balcony to enjoy it from.. It is also well situated for doing things in the area – being walking distance to a botanical garden, a short drive to town and other activities. But what makes Ambleside stand out so much from any other place we’ve been is Russ and Pat themselves. We never felt more at home while travelling than at Ambleside. We visited Taupo because we wanted to hike the Tongariro Crossing and friends recommended Ambleside in Taupo. While we never made it to Tonagiro (closed due to high winds on the day our planned hike), Russ and Pat gave good recommendations for other things to do including the Huka Falls hike we enjoyed. Breakfasts were excellent, there is a geothermal hot tub to relax in with a complimentary glass of sauvignon blanc to enjoy. Pat made the best tea-cookies I’ve ever had and left them in the room (as well as giving me some when I left!). Russ and Pat were excellent hosts making us feel like close friends or family the whole time. They even went to watch me bungy jump after I checked out. Russ noted humorously that they tested the bungy *after* I jumped. My wife & I hope come back to Taupo to see the many things we missed …. and to stay at Ambleside again.
Thanks Russ and Pat - from Hank and Maggie - for a wonderful stay and memories.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBlack56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Very nice B&B,great food,wonderful hosts.
Linda & Masood
Bonita Springs,Fl,USA

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogwood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.9 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#1 of 42 in Taupo
210 reviews
3.8 mi away
Huka Lodge
Huka Lodge
#3 of 42 in Taupo
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B @ Number Ten
B&B @ Number Ten
#10 of 42 in Taupo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside B&B

Address: 5 Te Hepera Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing