We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another year, another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Another year, another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Sacred Waters several times over the last few years and will be coming back again next year. Liz and Renee are fantastic hosts and really go the extra mile. This year we left an item behind and Liz and Renee made sure it was returned to us. Thanks for another 5 star stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    26
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
130
69
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We wished that we had booked for longer than our two day stay in this spacious two bedroom apartment overlooking Lake Taupo. Everything was spic and span and very modern. Our place included a very fully equipped kitchen which would be very suitable for self catering families and a laundry that we were grateful for. We had a large deck including a spa tub, although we did not use the tub. A family next door was audible as they enjoyed their spa, but they were just a group of folks having fun and they quieted by 10:00 so did not cause any problems with our sleep quality. We did notice that décor in New Zealand hotels tends to be somewhat austere in terms of color choices and art. This hotel was no exception with white walls and a spare modern look to the apartment, although they had some colorful modern art as accents. While I prefer a homey look, I know that many others like the minimalist look and this place really was very well equipped.

I thought that the ladies that run the place were fabulous. They were very friendly and helpful and helped us get parked and settled into the apartment. We especially enjoyed the "hotel" dog Louie who was a delightful and friendly little guy. We were really missing our dog, so it was nice to have some dog cuddle time.

The setting was great. A lap pool was available and my husband took advantage of that. There was a lovely walking trail along the lake so you could walk into town if you wanted. I found it interesting that the hotel staff warned us about burning our feet if we walked barefoot along the shore. I thought it was because of sun-warmed rocks, but later noticed some incoming streams steaming. There is apparently some geothermal activity along the shore. Even though they are not native, we enjoyed seeing the graceful black swans feeding along the shoreline. We had an outing at the Craters of the Moon geothermal area that we interesting and the falls at the outlet of Lake Taupo is a don't miss. We also enjoyed the honey place and my husband took home some New Zealand honey to enjoy.

I definitely recommend this hotel and this scenic area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxsable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Over the two days we stayed with friends from London, we made full use of our beautiful apartment - sunrise and coffee on the balcony overlooking the lake - sunset and wine, beer and cider on the balcony - breakfast around the breakfast bar - dinner around the table - we even did washing and ironing - we swam in the lovely pool - we walked through the gate and wandered along the lake front - the weather was perfect so we used our inverter a little bit to cool the main living areas - we cooled our bedrooms by opening the balcony doors or windows an hour or so before going to bed - we slept well in our comfortable beds - we did not want to leave!
But the best thing about our stay was Liz and Renee - from the moment we arrived, they did so much to help us. We really appreciated every little thing they did for us from making a dinner recommendation and reservation for us, to providing extra towels for our sessions by the pool. And then there were the big things they did for us - to facilitate our holiday activities (2pm at Aratiatia dam), they made it easy for us to check in early - and they were especially fantastic and patient with us when we decided to stay an extra night and needed a late check-out.
Thank you Liz and Renee - you rock - we will be back!

Room Tip: Phone and talk to Liz or Renee - they will know exactly which apartment will be perfect for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perri-Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Wanted somewhere with a wow factor and this sacred waters fitted the bill. We had a lakefront apartment and it didn't disappoint. Fully equip and very spacious. Being able to open the gate to the garden and walk to the lake edge was amazing. The pool was warm. The gym very usable. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
My family were on holiday from the UK for the first time and just fell in love with Taupo
Will be rebooking

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland,NZ
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Maybe I expected too much due to the reviews I read.
First of all, we were not given the apartment we booked and the booking website was blamed for it. We were all adults and booked a larger apartment but was allocated with one that had fewer rooms. The place looked full and perhaps they gave it to a larger group.
Very spacious common/living areas but the bedrooms were not big. Looks flash but a lot of the fittings & furnishing I would not attribute to a 5 star accommodation hotel/apartment. There was only one inverter for the whole apartment with 3 bedrooms. A few of us felt the stiflling heat and did not sleep well.
The shower in one of the bathrooms was over a bath and no matter how we tried, water kept dripping onto the floor. Amenities provided were not generous and we could have been given more towels especially when there was a problem with the drip from the bath everytime we showered.
Can't say I would go back there unless my friends insist.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We booked a four bedroom apartment but were told we were to be given a three bedroom one - there had been a WOTIF problem.
We we told about this and had our rate reduced WITHOUT even asking.

Extremely yet still genuinely friendly staff. Helped carry our bags down to apartment 6. I unloaded them up the top by reception accidentally!
Everything was clearly explained to us about the pool and apartment.

Lovely well appointed apartment. When it was built they would have been quite unique. It's the newer amenities like soft-close toilet seats and heat pumps in almost every room that we are spoilt with now! But it is still a nice apartment.
A couple of older members in the party weren't so comfortable getting up out of a couch only a foot of the floor but coped.
Beautiful view of the lake - unimpeded picturesque beauty of a Taupo summer sunset over the lake.

Generous enough check out time - 11am. We went out for breakfast (place called SALUTE) and then went back to check out.

We had a lovely time in a great setting! Thanks so much for the efforts of the staff especially.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank OsteoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Renee and Liz along with their staff made our stay at Sacred Waters fantastic. Nothing was a problem in the top notch service they provided. They were incredibaly accomodating in all their interactions and apartment was prefect for our needs. The family apartment offers easy access to the swimming pool for the kids and a courtyard for relaxing and for the kids ot run around. There is a hot tub but our kids were too busy in the swimming pool to use the tub. Thank you Liz and Renee...we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.0 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments

Property: Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Address: 221 - 225 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#4 Family Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New, smart, precious. Sacred Waters is guaranteed waterfront magic on the edge of a crystal clear lake. At Sacred Waters your dream of luxury accommodation at the absolute water's edge can become a reality. From the magnificent 180 degree views to the exquisite internal water features, Sacred Waters will impress you with its attention to detail. Its reputation for uncompromising quality is unrivaled. Come and join us tonight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments Hotel Taupo
Clarion Sacred Waters
Clarion Taupo
Clarion Hotel Taupo
Taupo Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing