We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous time had by all, hope to return again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Above the Lake at Windsor Charters
Ranked #16 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous time had by all, hope to return again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

When we arrived at Above the Lake we were greeted warmly by our host Maggie, she showed us our quarters and invited us to wine and nibblies on the back deck in the afternoon with Ivan, Maggie and the other guests staying at the time. Our room was the Lakeview Room which had views of the lake from the sitting room. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, we were provided with toiletries, robes, tourist information and a refrigerator including bottled water, tea and coffee, wine glasses and coffee cups. Breakfast was at 8 am each day and it was a real treat to have fresh fruit, cereals, juices, tea and coffee supplied along with a hot breakfast fresh cooked by Maggie. The sunsets over the lake each night were a fabulous bonus to such wonderful surrounds. Our hosts were full of information for the non local and were lovely enough to share themselves their time and their beautiful home (which featured a lovely art collection) with us on a daily basis. Free to come and go as we please but always made to feel welcome on our return at the end of each day. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone looking for a lovely relaxing time which may or may not be shared with such lovely hosts. We are hoping to return in the future...Thanks Maggie and Ivan for such a memorable occasion, Megan and Glen.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan-Thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I would highly recommend this B&B to others! The hosts are very sweet and will go out of their way to help you have a very enjoying stay and time at Lake Taupo. I would particularly recommend booking a trout fishing trip on the lake with them! We had such a great time and caught some wonderful trout for dinner, which they graciously took to a local restaurant for us to have cooked (and even made the booking for us!). The beds are very comfortable and the house is extremely clean and tidy. And don't forget your bathing suite even though it may be winter...they have a great hot tub out in the garden that you an enjoy a bottle of sav blanc in the evening after a day of exploring the beautiful town!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njchristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton on Sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Maggie and Ivan are very friendly and attentive hosts who did all that was possible to make our stay delightful. Our room was immaculate and very well set out, with every facility provided. They gave generously of their time and use of the hot tub was included. Good local knowledge and information and I am sure that the fishing experience would be great too (but we did not use it).
If we are ever back in Taupo we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmBryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our first trip to North Island was such a success thanks to the likes of Ivan & Maggie Rudd who could not have been more helpful or accomodating . 3 nights stay in such a beautiful location ( both property & town ) was excellent and added to that is the fab restaurant next door which had just been awarded the honour of being one of the best in Taupo and rightly so as the menu was great .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisdurhamcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

My other half and I stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. We were originally going to pass through quickly, but were persuaded to stay a second night, which we are so glad we did.

We had the garden suite, which was lovely and spacious. It was nice to have a separate living area and separate bathroom located away from the bedroom.

We felt very welcomed and included in everything, and enjoyed the evening glass of wine on our first night (as well as the invitation for the second night, which we sadly couldn't take up due to a wine tasting evening at Scenic Cellars, which we were happy our hosts recommended to us).

The views from the first floor living/dining area were truly stunning. We only wish we had the time to take up the offer of spending time in the outdoor spa, 2 nights was clearly still not enough to enjoy all that there was on offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSBWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Maggie and Ivan were excellent hosts - very helpful and knowledgeable. They opened up their entire house to us and encouraged us to make use of their extensive facilities.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious. Breakfasts were fantastic.
We would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blues34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Our stay at Above the Lake was lovely and made all the more so by our gracious hosts Maggie and Ivan. They both went out of there way to ensure we enjoyed our 2 night stay in Taupo. The "Sun over the yard arm" drinks with them were most enjoyable and enabled them to help us plan our time and the invitation to use the hot tub was too much to resist. The proximity to the pub/restaurant The Mole and Chicken was a major plus - no more than 50 yards to stagger home!!!
Maggie and Ivan are new to the game, but if they continue as they are doing they will be a great success and an asset to Taupo.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.3 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Lake at Windsor Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Lake at Windsor Charters

Property: Above the Lake at Windsor Charters
Address: 46 Rokino Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Taupo Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Located in the heart of Taupo overlooking the lake, mountains and Taupo town. 3 tastefully furnished guest rooms with private facilities. Charter boat trout fishing with your hosts an option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Above the Lake at Windsor Charters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing