We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous & friendly service and beautiful views”
Review of Chalet Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Eiger
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous & friendly service and beautiful views”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Chalet Eiger provides fabulous & friendly accommodation with beautiful views

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessieRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Chalet Eiger recently and had a lovely time. Emil and Hea Min were wonderful hosts and their attention to detail and warm personalities made this a memorable experience. Being well out of town it is very quiet, and the peaceful surrounds and excellent bedding meant we had the best sleeps of our holiday. The food is creatively cooked and presented. Hea Min cooked us and the other guests a surprise seafood dinner, all of the courses were perfect and the whole evening was very enjoyable.

This was by far the most expensive place we stayed at during a 2 week trip to the North Island, but it was worth every cent given the whole experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ruepehu room for its wonderful spa eb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Chalet Eiger for two nights during our honeymoon in New Zealand, and we are so glad that we did. The accommodation itself is very impressive, with luxurious bathrooms, integrated stereo systems in the rooms, a large relaxing lounge and impressive dining area. But the real highlights were (i) the amazing hospitality of Emil and Hea Min and (ii) the food. Emil and Hea Min are incredibly nice people, very approachable and happy to help with any tips and suggestions you may need. On our first night at Chalet Eiger, we had an incredible 5 course meal cooked by Hea Min, which exceeded anything we've ever had in any restaurants in London - all served with great affection and warmth by Emil, which made for the most perfect evening.

We would definitely recommed Chalet Eiger, and will make sure we build it in to our itinerary next time we venture to New Zealand.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This was our second visit to Chalet Eiger, and we returned to Taupo specifically to stay there again. Emil and Hea Min offer gracious, warm hospitality with very comfortable rooms and facilities. Most of all, Hea Min is a cook (chef?) who could easily hold her head high amongst 5-star celebrity chefs if she wanted to - supported by Emil who has his own specialities also (eg. a game terrine which was delightful). They take the time to source ingredients from trusted suppliers and they also grow many of their own vegetables and herbs. We will return in the next couple of years! (If you go, make sure you ask for the sesame and pepper encrusted tuna with sesame rice).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2010

Words could never describe the Chalet Eigler. From the moment we arrived (They had an American Flag on the flag pole to grret us) until the moment we left we felt as if we had become part of the family. The house is absolutely gorgeous and our room was top notch with a light and sound system, the likes I have never seen before. Fresh towels each morning AND evening. A chocolate on the bed stand each evening. Everything was to perfection. Not only the accomodations, but the propritors, Emil and Hae Min, are so very welcoming and EXTREMELY caring. I was not feeling well one evening and their concern and help was way beyond what one could ever dream of. We spent 2 nights with them and we were sorry to leave. A more wonderful place I have yet to see. Don't miss the oportunity to be at the Chalet Eigler !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerraldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This was a lovely house with lovely hosts however it was not top of our list for our months travelling in NZ. Whilst the fancy Hi Fi system was impressive and it did have some nice personnel touches we thought it was overpriced and with such a hard bed we did not get a very good sleep. We did not take an evening meal there so cannot comment on that. For breakfast the cold choice was good and they did ask if we wanted anything hot. However they did not give us any idea as to what this could be!
For a lower price the Maison de la Mer in Akoroa was definitely the best for us and we judged everything after this on their price & standard. We therefore expected something exceptional at the Chalet Eiger (and from looking at the previous reviews) so sadly we were disappointed. We also has poor weather for our 2 night stay so we had no view of the lake! On the bases of price i would not recommend the Chalet Eiger.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Sorry you didn't have a great time. We have tried our best to get the weather right but it was just a low pressure about New Zealand which refused to go away during your stay. We very much hope you will come again to Chalet Eiger and we will try our best to get the weather right. Regarding our beds, we have one of the best products in the world. Our beds are completely natural with no any artificial components. According to the Swiss Institute of Technology they are among the best in the world. Actually you are the first who didn't like the beds. All our guests are trilled about the good night sleep in this high quality "Huessler Beds". Of course for our guests who require soft French beds we can provide them on request. We are truly sorry that you were not asked if you would like hot breakfast. Other guests who stayed with you at the breakfast table had a big variety of many styles cooked free range eggs with different condiments like Speck, Debreciner, Swiss mushrooms, Tomato and also "Egg Benedict". We hope that next time we will be able to pursue you to enjoy our chefs cooked breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at Chalet Eiger for part our honeymoon - it was such a welcoming and comfortable B&B. We were even greated at the door with the Australian flag on the pole - a nice touch. The fridge was stocked of wine, beer, cheese and fruit and we thoroughly enjoyed our gourmet four course meal on the first night - the hosts are just so lovely and attentive! The bathroom in our room was just gorgeous with a fabulous claw tub with fresh flowers added everyday. The views of the lake in the main loungeroom and kitchen were sensational. Taupo was a great place to visit - there was so much to see and do. We highly recommend a helicopter ride over the lake and nearby mountains - very memorable. The only negatives are that there wasn't a TV and DVD player in the bedroom and that the bed we had was a king made up of two singles which wasn't the most comfortable of beds.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
#5 of 34 in Taupo
208 reviews
4.5 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Eiger

Property: Chalet Eiger
Address: 534 Gillespie Place | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalet Eiger 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Eiger offers luxury accommodation in a tranquil environment with lake and mountain views. Chalet Eiger’s location makes it perfectly situated for easy access to the many activities in the surrounding area. The Kiwi-influenced cuisine utilizes home grown and locally sourced organic produce with an excellent selection of New Zealand wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing