We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed at the Lake Taupo Motor Inn for 3 nights in March 2008. We booked after reading recommendations here on TA. I'm glad I did the research and booked ahead as the Motel was just perfect for our stay in Taupo.

The location is very good - right near the lake and 5 or 10 minutes stroll to the main restaurants and shops. Our room, 116, at the front was bright, modern and clean, We loved the spa tub, which is a good size and nice to relax in after a busy day skydiving, water water rafting, horse trekking etc!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cejay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 327 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2008

We travelled around the North Island for three weeks and this was the best motel we stayed in during our stay. Our room was absolutley fanstastic, spotless and had everything you needed and even had a spa bath. A BBQ was also available for residents to use.

I've already recommended this motel to some of my freinds and family in NZ and to our friends here in the UK, who will be travelling around NZ later this year and next.

Keep up the good work Caroline!!! :))

Heath and Mark.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KiwiOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineTaupo, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2008

Just to let you know, I'm sitting here reading reviews on Rarotonga, as thats where we are headed in a few weeks. Tripadvisor is a great little tool for people to give good and bad thoughts.

Thanks for witing to tripadvisor. I'm pleased your stay with us was up to your expectations.

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We stayed here for just the one night at near the end of March. We chose this accommodation from the comments left by previous visitors on Tripadvisor. We were not to be disappointed. The location is excellent. Near the lake on a quiet street.
We have visited the Huka Falls Jet and The Prawn Park on the drive down from Rotorua. We stayed in a lovely room on the corner of the building. Most the main room was windows, but don’t let that put you off. We had our young daughter with us, so the room was ample. A nice big double bed and a separate area with 2 single beds. We never used the kitchen facilities, but everything was there if you so wished. The rooms were spotlessly clean.
You are given milk on check-in which is great for the all important cup of tea.
Excellent rates for the motel.
We will definitely stay here again when we visit NZ in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tankengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We were really pleased with our decision to stay here, which we chose based upon may positive comments on TA. So here is our contribution.
Location - excellent, walking distance to town and a nice quiet street. Taupo is also the best base from which to explore the many attractions in the area.
View - We were in the large corner room above the entrance - the floor to ceiling glass on 2 walls made it so light and airy and from the balcony we could see the lake and Mount Tongariro..
Facilities - Sparkling clean room, plenty of storage space, a nice big comfortable bed and a beatiful spa bath to relax in at night drinking wine and looking out towards the lake.
Welcome - Nothing was too much trouble, including the loan of soap powder, recommendations on places to visit and help to chase up a coach which sped off without picking us up for an evening tour.!
When we decided to stay for an extra night to visit the Maori experience (Warakei Terraces - you HAVE to go, much less commercialised than Rotorua) Caroline fixed our booking effortlessly and then told us it would also be at a lower cost as it was a Sunday - how about that for customer service!..

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our holiday in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineTaupo, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2008

Thanks so much Guys!! I remember you!!!

Tahnk you for writing such nice comments, I'm pleased we made your stay a great one. It takes little effort to help someone and people always seem to remember the little things.

Kind Regards Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank keza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foxylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineTaupo, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineTaupo, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 68 in Taupo
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#20 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#43 of 68 in Taupo
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#42 of 68 in Taupo
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#25 of 68 in Taupo
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo Motor Inn

Address: 33 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $98 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Taupo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Taupo Motor Inn has 32 luxourious & well appointed rooms situated on a side street off the main highway and only 300m away from the CBD & Lake. We also have an on-site restaurant, heated pool and 2 spa's for your convenience. Our Executive Spa Suites also have a view of the Lake and Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Taupo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Taupo Motor Hotel Taupo
Lake Taupo Hotel
Lake Taupo Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing