We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Doesnt Make Up...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Absolute Lake View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Absolute Lake View Motel
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location Doesnt Make Up...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

For such a poor excuse of a motel. Granted it is a cheap place to stay, but there should be a level of standard to adhere to. Mismatch fittings, old mattresses, poor CRT. It looks like someone has acquired some rooms and thrown in whatever furniture they can find. The images I will upload speak for themselves. Stay away...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lukeandjoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    31
    10
    19
See reviews for
30
48
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This would be one of the poorer motels I have stayed in. It was adequate but not very appealing. The tiles in the kitchen were crackled and dirty, the bathroom was poorly Laid out, I'm not a fan of the sink in the toilet, and it was in poor repair.
The pool and the sauna was good and it was very close to everything.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We paid $185 for a lake view room in this motel - the most expensive place we stayed during our 2 week trip in New Zealand (and that included harbour view suites in Auckland). The room did have a lake view of sorts (over rooftops, carpark etc), but no outdoor space to enjoy the view from - just dirty windows. "Dirty" sums this place up pretty well - our bathroom was full of long hairs, the toilet roll holder was broken, the light covers were filthy and full of bugs etc. The set-up reminded me a lot of a youth hostel / backpackers, but at a grossly inflated price. I usually avoid writing negative TripAdvisor reviews, but this place was SO overpriced for what we got, especially when there are SO many other options available in Taupo.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great central location in Taupo and very positive friendly greeting upon arrival. Rooms lovely and clean and the view of the lake is great. The pic I took on my phone does not do it justice. Room very clean and comfortable. The lake view does mean you are on the main drag but it is a lot quieter since the ring road was opened. Nice place to stay - would come here.

Room Tip: If you want a great lake view choose a room on level 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived late into Taupo and found a one bedroom family unit available at Absolute Lake View Motel.
The guy at reception was very pleasant, the website was appealing and we were exhausted from a long drive so we took the room sight unseen for 2 nights.
There was 2 beds in the bedroom and two in the living room with kitchen and couch. Strange layout. The kitchenette was very small. Certainly not encouraging to self cater.
There was no information folder in the room. We had to go to the office every time we needed to ask anything.
We were given 50MB free internet per day. It was only usable on one device at a time. Each time we got a code it was disappearing in around 5mins! It was very embarrassing as there was an obvious problem with it and we had to keep going back to the office to ask for more. Gave up in the end.
Our room was disappointingly only partially serviced. My bed was made but the other three were not.
The kids enjoyed the pool and spa. We had to discover the pool towels ourselves. Up until I found them we were re-using our room towels.
Proximity to lake and town is good, although you cannot see the lake from the room.
The parking is pretty crammed.
We have stayed in several motels during this road trip and this would have to be the least appealing and the most expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great motel, friendly staff and right in town centre. The room we had was just renovated and was very clean. I will definitely be coming back to stay next year. Highly recommend absolute lake view motel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lianamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Came to Taupo for the summer concert which was brilliant by the way, stayed at the Absolute Lakeview Motel for 2 nights, location was brilliant so close to town and the concert venue. We had a studio room was a bit small but clean an tidy had everything we needed, car parking was a pain the motel was full cars were packed in like sardines only just enough space to get out of the car. Oh and to see the lake you have to walk down to the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#47 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Lake Motel
Great Lake Motel
#32 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Lake View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Lake View Motel

Property: Absolute Lake View Motel
Address: 58 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Absolute Lake View Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Absolute Lake View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Lake View Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing