We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Oasis Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oasis Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stopped here on a trip from Auckland to Wellington. From the beginning the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating - helpfully answering any questions we had about late check in. The location was brilliant - right on the waters edge. It was also great that Oasis were clearly so child friendly. Unfortunately we arrived to late to use their heated pool but it looked amazing. The rooms were perfect and extremely clean and comfortable. For only 195 we were very impressed with what we received.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
63
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Great accommodation! Amazing service, not much accommodated for 5 people however they had a separate beach house which worked perfectly, situated right by the water with the full use of pools, bar etc
Highly recommend! Amazing place to be and the accommodation really topped it off.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night in a 2 bdrm apartment at the Oasis Beach Resort over the weekend. The room was very comfortable and right on the lakefront. We could not fault anything. As the Oasis is part of the Millenium next door you get to use all their facilities. Our kids enjoyed their pool and had a great time. Great value for money for an older style motel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

No photos accompanied the Oasis Beach Resort website when booking our accommodation for our family (2 adults, 3 children). However, since Lockwood House fitted us all under the one roof, we thought that it would suit our needs. We therefore had no idea what to expect upon arrival. At $390NZ per night, we were hopeful that the quality of the accommodation would equal the cost. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Cutlery, dishes and the dishwasher were not clean, the decor looked like it hadn't been updated since the 1970s...and the shower did not accommodate either of the two male members of the family. It was tiny! The bathroom could only fit one person at a time, with no area for toiletries. Although right on Lake Taupo, I would greatly suggest giving Lockwood House a wide berth until updates to the facility are undertaken.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Timtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Not a "Beach Resort"..... Rocky lake access, terribly cramped rooms, rediculous 60ies bathroom and lumpy bed to match! Extraordinarily overpriced ...... pics in advert very misleading! Not going to return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patob-in-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is basic but has all the essentials and a nice view from lake front rooms. Pool and spa are nice and staff are excellent. do not expect a big hotel and people to run around after you - if you want that go to one and pay the price - do not expect to pay a good rate and expect the world. They have hit the mark for service, quality and customer service for the price and location.

Room Tip: I liked the lake front rooms but to save a little take a room near pool but request one away from po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneToBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After driving fron Wellington, it was nice to be greated by a friendly proprietor who welcomed us to view the 2 bedroom unit on the lake front. Lovely unit and great views and very reasonable. We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant next door before retiring for the night.

Only downside was wi-fi ..... free access would make the stay 110%. Highly recommend :)

Room Tip: One washing machine and dryer so you need to be mindful of others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Resort

Property: Oasis Beach Resort
Address: 241 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#27 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oasis Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Taupo, the Oasis Resort has outstanding views of the lake and mountains, metres from the hot water beach. The complex has facilities to accommodate everyone.Relax in the large heated swimming pool, or unwind in the indoor or outdoor spas. Enjoy a game of tennis or a beautiful scenic walk along the water's edge. Treat the family to a meal at one of our two adjacent restaurants. Only minutes away from many local attractions and with off-street parking, the resort is very conveniently located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Taupo
Oasis Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing