We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outatanding Lakeside accom.”
Review of Oasis Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oasis Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed November 12, 2011

What a pleasant surprise!

We expected a clean, well presented room but our expectations were exceeded. Our room (no 7) has been recently renovated in a very modern style and best of all... it was right on the water's edge. Separate living room, master bedroom and 2nd b/room were all beautifully furnished and the kitchen area is adequate for a short stay,

But the thing that sets the Oasis apart is the fact that it was right on the water... with ducks and swans right outside our verandah.

I'm sure the other rooms are just as well presented but it's the lake frontage rooms that make the Oasis a winner.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Oasis Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

We arrived on a freezing day and were greeted by the lovely thoughtful hosts who had made sure the very clean and nicely furnished room was heated before we arrived. We booked this room on the internet and were so happy to find the pictures were a true indication of the place. We had a poolside room, which was great as we could watch our children swim from our room. The bed and bedding were luxurious and we had the best sleep we have ever had away from home. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanmanHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed here with family, including a three and a half year old. Booked a 2 bedroom, lakeside apartment, which also had a kitchenette and a sitting room. Rooms are on the small side but clean and comfortable. Pleasant and helpful staff. Position is excellent, right on the lake, with an outside patio, visited by ducks. A car ride from the centre of Taupo. Room service was available from the adjacent affiliated hotel, where meals could also be taken. Swimming pool and tennis court. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeSHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The lakefront rooms are great, motel a little dated but nice and clean and great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk1ppynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The best thing about this motel was that it is right by the lake. We only had to walk 15m and we were swimming in the lake ( in a spot where geothermal hot water kept your feet warm)
The views were marvellous. If you're big on privacy thepublic path that is 5m from your room might be daunting but we enjoyed sitting on our porch and saying good morning to passing joggers. The rooms was fine but not spectacular however the outside area was great

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajn287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Highly recommended. The room is small but has high ceiling. So it doesn't suffocate you. It is old fashioned but has style. The management owns the millennium hotel next door so the housekeeping etc have a good standard. Also we are told we have access to the pool in the Millenium hotel. We paid $260NZD for Wednesday and Thursday.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Oasis has a cute 60s style, tastefully updated with all the mod-cons. It has gorgeous lakefront rooms (with flexible rates when it's not too busy) and other rooms facing the pool which look nice too and have even nicer decor than the lakefront rooms with new showers and granite benchtops. Unfortunately the motel is between State Highway 1 and the lake so the rooms which are not lakefront could be noisy. Ours wasn't at all though.

Oasis has a private spa you can book, an outdoor yearround heated pool, a tennis court, a billiard room, and you are steps away from the lake. The Oasis adjoins the Millenium/Manuel Hotel and you can use their facilities too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akatherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.2 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Resort

Address: 241 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#27 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $83 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oasis Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Taupo, the Oasis Resort has outstanding views of the lake and mountains, metres from the hot water beach. The complex has facilities to accommodate everyone.Relax in the large heated swimming pool, or unwind in the indoor or outdoor spas. Enjoy a game of tennis or a beautiful scenic walk along the water's edge. Treat the family to a meal at one of our two adjacent restaurants. Only minutes away from many local attractions and with off-street parking, the resort is very conveniently located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Taupo
Oasis Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing