We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, uncomfortable bed, noisy position.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Queensland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views, uncomfortable bed, noisy position.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at Baywater for one night. First impression of room on second floor was good. Neat, with small kitchenette, large spa bath in bedroom. Nice balcony with lovely lake views. Quickly noticed the road noise, which was fairly loud even with all windows shut tight. May not be so loud if you stay in the units behind the front ones. The worst thing was the bed which was so soft. Had a bad sleep as I kept rolling into the middle of the bed. When I rang reception to see if they had any firmer beds they said they were all the same & that I would be charged an extra nights accommodation to move rooms. Not particularly helpful. Room let in a bit too much light in the morning for my liking, fine if you are up early. The positives were the large spa bath & the views. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greengal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
114
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We had a breif stay here, we were booked in straight away and very much left alone, we had a fantastic view of the lake and mountain, the room was basic, and had a large spa bath right next to the bed(different) but nice, plenty of hot water, the heating was of a very high standard and we felt lovely and warm on a very chilly day! Two double beds and three singles, making it ideal for a family. Location was great right on the lake front (road between) main restaurants 10 min walk away or 2 min drive. Overall the property would suit most people but was basic, we requested toast and cereal for breakfast and it was bought to our room the night before, which was ok but felt very impersonal, marmite was two years out of date and butter 3 months which I had a problem with, no refund offered neither.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

Only a one night stay with husband and 2 kids (8 & 10) but wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. When asked about swimming pool for the kids moved us right beside it to make it easier for the kids and us, also went out of their way to put heater on again as we just got there as timer went off in the pool. Kids loved it! Got up in the morning for a walk along lake front. Spa great! Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

I just stayed in this hotel for a long weekend away, the view was beautiful, the room was excellent and it was very clean. The staff were also great and very happy to help. I would definately recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandShorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taranaki
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

We arrived at Baywater late afternoon after having travelled 4 hours in bad weather with little children. Our room was warm and cosy. Greg and Adelaide were only to happy to help us with any questions we had about getting around taupo. We had a limited time in taupo our hosts were only too happy to point us in the direction of the 'must do' things in taupo . Thanks guys for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebeezTaranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

I have now stayed at this motel for the past two years racing the Ironman. I find the staff very accommodating and helpful bringing a nice family touch to my stays. They even took photo's of me this year and blew it up into a poster for me as a gift before I departed - wow! Great clean unit with more than ample facilities and a nice spa. Close enough to needed local facilities but far enough away for privacy. I have brought my family over and recommended it to other competitors without hesitation. I will be returning again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamBamMultisport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Across road from lake and looking at the mountains. Lovely and warm, friendly, helpful owners. Lovely and clean. Nice big spa positioned so that you look out to lake with unlimited hot water.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Motor Lodge
Clearwater Motor Lodge
#12 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#17 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#28 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Property: Baywater Lakeview Motel
Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Family Hotel in Taupo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing