We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen better days ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Seen better days ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in an upstairs spa suite at the premium $190 a night price, for this price I would expect a bit more. It has seen better days, very dated, freezing cold bathroom and toilet, even with the heat pump going, this did little to heat the room.
The shower is terrible, it is tempramental and saturates the floor, I was amused by the sign saying to recycle the towels, get a heated towel rail if you want guests to do this, the tiny single towel rail located in the freezing toilet did not cut it. The towel was an iceblock the next morning.
The positive is it is handy to town and has a nice view ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theblodne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
114
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Putaruru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Been to Baywater Motor in twice in the last 12 months, both great experiences. Stayed in the Queen Studio Spa Unit (upper floors) both times. Nice tidy kitchen area, bathroom could do with a bit of updating, love the spa bath in the room! The heat pump heats the room nicely. Double glazing on windows. Little balcony to look at the amazing views of Lake Taupo. The owners are lovely and incredibly helpful. A very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Clean units - The bed was very comfortable. Decor is a bit dated and the spas are very shallow. Only some jets worked. Nice friendly service. Bathroom is small and shower is small, cracked toilet bowl and bathroom needed revamping really. All basic needs supplied and clean.

Room Tip: Didn't view other rooms, please note we were late getting in so didn't take up offer to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Needed a break, so what better place than the beautiful Lake Taupo ! and the location at Baywater Motor Inn could not have been better. Our Unit was elevated with an unrivaled view of the Lake and mountains beyond. Our Room was clean and well appointed with a lovely comfortable (huge) bed. Our Hosts were most obliging & informative. We enjoyed our stay and will be back again before very long. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found the Baywater Motor Inn by chance as we drove along the road by the lake looking for somewhere to stay. We are so glad we did. Our room was clean and comfortable and looked out across the lake. There was a spa bath within the room which we enjoyed using. The owners were friendly and very helpful. A good overnight stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor. That way you can see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Arrived at our accommodation only to find its nothing like the beautiful pictures online. The room was full of little insects. We called reception whom advised us rudely that he will supply us with fly spray!!! spay the room and all the insects will leave. If i wanted to stay in a dump i would have looked for a cheaper one not 185 per a night. We kindly asked the guy if we cold have another room because we had a pregnant mum and a little baby with us and we didnt feel comfortable spraying the place before we could sleep. He said no sorry and if you leave you will still be charged. He also said the insects was our fault because we left the door opened which infested the room. We explained to him we just arrived and found the room this way. He insisted it was our fault. Later on we found he left a window open when was preparing the room earlier on in the day. H e refused to take ownership and give us a new room or refund. So we were stuck in this place for two nights. We sprayed the room and left the room for two hours. when we returned at 10pm at night all the insects were on the beds an the floor. Reception refused to supply us with a vaccum and said too bad wait for house cleaning in the morning.. For kiwi land the service was unacceptable.. they were rude. not accommodating. sorry but don't recommend this place. Photos attached. wish we took photos of the place but sorry guys we only took of the insects.. The sheets we also dirty!!!! and the toilet spelt like iy wasnt cleaned. Sorry nothing positive to say about this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I wish I had looked for this website before we stayed at the Baywater last weekend. We're wondering if it should even have been open for business. You can excuse the fact that part of it is under renovation but that's no excuse for our unit being dirty. Floors weren't vacuumed, bed looked sat on (I think the sheets were clean - didn't want to look too closely), air con didn't work, some lights didn't work, hair in the cutlery tray, room was noisy (hotel and road noise) even though we were in the block at the back. We stayed in a "Superior Private Double Ensuite Lake View" suite at $180 per night. Unfortunately we stayed two nights (shouldn't have) and the room wasn't serviced the first morning (did get clean towels). Taupo weather was horrible so we spent most of the time in the unit - spa pool was OK (didn't look too close at that either). Person in charge didn't care when we commented about the dirtiness of the room. We booked through hostelbookers.com. Their site says "no booking fees" but when we left, the guy in the office said that the deposit we paid to hostelbookers was their commission, not a deposit for the hotel so we had to pay the full $360. We should have demanded a discount. Hindsight and reflection is certainly a fine thing.

Room Tip: Read reviews and get someone to inspect for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Motor Lodge
Clearwater Motor Lodge
#12 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#17 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#28 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Property: Baywater Lakeview Motel
Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Family Hotel in Taupo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing