We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a location !”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Needed a break, so what better place than the beautiful Lake Taupo ! and the location at Baywater Motor Inn could not have been better. Our Unit was elevated with an unrivaled view of the Lake and mountains beyond. Our Room was clean and well appointed with a lovely comfortable (huge) bed. Our Hosts were most obliging & informative. We enjoyed our stay and will be back again before very long. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
114
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found the Baywater Motor Inn by chance as we drove along the road by the lake looking for somewhere to stay. We are so glad we did. Our room was clean and comfortable and looked out across the lake. There was a spa bath within the room which we enjoyed using. The owners were friendly and very helpful. A good overnight stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor. That way you can see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Arrived at our accommodation only to find its nothing like the beautiful pictures online. The room was full of little insects. We called reception whom advised us rudely that he will supply us with fly spray!!! spay the room and all the insects will leave. If i wanted to stay in a dump i would have looked for a cheaper one not 185 per a night. We kindly asked the guy if we cold have another room because we had a pregnant mum and a little baby with us and we didnt feel comfortable spraying the place before we could sleep. He said no sorry and if you leave you will still be charged. He also said the insects was our fault because we left the door opened which infested the room. We explained to him we just arrived and found the room this way. He insisted it was our fault. Later on we found he left a window open when was preparing the room earlier on in the day. H e refused to take ownership and give us a new room or refund. So we were stuck in this place for two nights. We sprayed the room and left the room for two hours. when we returned at 10pm at night all the insects were on the beds an the floor. Reception refused to supply us with a vaccum and said too bad wait for house cleaning in the morning.. For kiwi land the service was unacceptable.. they were rude. not accommodating. sorry but don't recommend this place. Photos attached. wish we took photos of the place but sorry guys we only took of the insects.. The sheets we also dirty!!!! and the toilet spelt like iy wasnt cleaned. Sorry nothing positive to say about this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I wish I had looked for this website before we stayed at the Baywater last weekend. We're wondering if it should even have been open for business. You can excuse the fact that part of it is under renovation but that's no excuse for our unit being dirty. Floors weren't vacuumed, bed looked sat on (I think the sheets were clean - didn't want to look too closely), air con didn't work, some lights didn't work, hair in the cutlery tray, room was noisy (hotel and road noise) even though we were in the block at the back. We stayed in a "Superior Private Double Ensuite Lake View" suite at $180 per night. Unfortunately we stayed two nights (shouldn't have) and the room wasn't serviced the first morning (did get clean towels). Taupo weather was horrible so we spent most of the time in the unit - spa pool was OK (didn't look too close at that either). Person in charge didn't care when we commented about the dirtiness of the room. We booked through hostelbookers.com. Their site says "no booking fees" but when we left, the guy in the office said that the deposit we paid to hostelbookers was their commission, not a deposit for the hotel so we had to pay the full $360. We should have demanded a discount. Hindsight and reflection is certainly a fine thing.

Room Tip: Read reviews and get someone to inspect for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found Baywater Motor Inn exceptional value for money. Very clean and tidy. After our long trip up from Christchurch, all we wanted was comfort and that is exactly what we got thanks to Adelaide and Greg Burgess who were great hosts. They were very welcoming and nothing was to much troiuble. We also found that Baywater was in a ideal location, the lake front directly across the road, The mountan view out your front window and the bars and restaurants just a short walk away down the lake front.We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay there and hopefully will return again soon. We highly recomend Baywater Motor Inn to anyone who wants to stay a day or a week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Avoid this place! We booked online and arrived to find a run down, leaky building under repair. Our room was one of the front ground floor apartments and looked nothing like the booking photos that were online. There were cracks and mould on the walls. It felt run down and sad. The heatpump didn't work, as it was disconnected and there was carpet missing by the ranchslider. There was plastic over all the windows too. I had to walk through scaffolding and plastic to get to the reception office. I complained that the room was not what was advertised. The reception guy said he would have to call his mum. He phoned her out of the room, then came back and said no we could not leave, and his mum had said if we did she would charge our credit card in full as we did not meet their cancellation policy. I asked to speak to her myself (which is what should have occured in the first place) and Adelaide was VERY rude. She said that it was my fault for not reading the website I booked on, as it was very clear on there they were under rennovation. I later checked and only found a mention of it under an owners blog on the left hand side bottom of the page, definitley NOT obvious! She refused to change our room, and threatened if we left she would charge us anyway. We were stuck. We had to stay the night or waste $125! As it turned out the spa bath only ran with luke warm water, no hot. The shower was so tiny you could barely turn about in it. The walls and floors were wet with condensation as no ventilation/fan/windows that could be opened. It was the pits. The heated swimming pool was closed too. We were very angry and disappointed. The owners did not care, and also forgot to provide our breakfast which was part of the package. This place and its owners should be avoided at all costs!

Room Tip: Avoid the whole place. Do not stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

In July we stayed at the baywater motor inn. We found a very dirted bedspread and when ask to have it change the manager was not interested. He findly did after some loud talking. There was also codwebs all around the lights and also under the bed had been luxs for months.We where the north inland for two weeks and this was the worst place we stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Motor Lodge
Clearwater Motor Lodge
#13 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#20 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#30 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Property: Baywater Lakeview Motel
Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Family Hotel in Taupo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing