We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Motel in a great location”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found Baywater Motor Inn exceptional value for money. Very clean and tidy. After our long trip up from Christchurch, all we wanted was comfort and that is exactly what we got thanks to Adelaide and Greg Burgess who were great hosts. They were very welcoming and nothing was to much troiuble. We also found that Baywater was in a ideal location, the lake front directly across the road, The mountan view out your front window and the bars and restaurants just a short walk away down the lake front.We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay there and hopefully will return again soon. We highly recomend Baywater Motor Inn to anyone who wants to stay a day or a week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
114
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Avoid this place! We booked online and arrived to find a run down, leaky building under repair. Our room was one of the front ground floor apartments and looked nothing like the booking photos that were online. There were cracks and mould on the walls. It felt run down and sad. The heatpump didn't work, as it was disconnected and there was carpet missing by the ranchslider. There was plastic over all the windows too. I had to walk through scaffolding and plastic to get to the reception office. I complained that the room was not what was advertised. The reception guy said he would have to call his mum. He phoned her out of the room, then came back and said no we could not leave, and his mum had said if we did she would charge our credit card in full as we did not meet their cancellation policy. I asked to speak to her myself (which is what should have occured in the first place) and Adelaide was VERY rude. She said that it was my fault for not reading the website I booked on, as it was very clear on there they were under rennovation. I later checked and only found a mention of it under an owners blog on the left hand side bottom of the page, definitley NOT obvious! She refused to change our room, and threatened if we left she would charge us anyway. We were stuck. We had to stay the night or waste $125! As it turned out the spa bath only ran with luke warm water, no hot. The shower was so tiny you could barely turn about in it. The walls and floors were wet with condensation as no ventilation/fan/windows that could be opened. It was the pits. The heated swimming pool was closed too. We were very angry and disappointed. The owners did not care, and also forgot to provide our breakfast which was part of the package. This place and its owners should be avoided at all costs!

Room Tip: Avoid the whole place. Do not stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

In July we stayed at the baywater motor inn. We found a very dirted bedspread and when ask to have it change the manager was not interested. He findly did after some loud talking. There was also codwebs all around the lights and also under the bed had been luxs for months.We where the north inland for two weeks and this was the worst place we stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend last month and can say that it's without a doubt the worst place we've ever stayed.

The 'superking' (actually two single beds pushed together so that it's really uncomfortable if you go into the middle and discover the gaping gap between) bed was circa the 70s and bowed in the middle. I've never had lower back pain before but a week later I'm still cranking voltarin for my aching back.

The toilet had a sign saying it had been 'hygienically cleaned' but when we lifted the lid it was covered in the previous occupant's urine. So gross!

The door and walls had plastering patched over the walls which made me wonder if their guests are in the habit of kicking them down? Not the greatest first impression of our room...

Other things -no lamps, spa was OK but I was so grossed out by the place I couldn't really enjoy it, TV wouldn't shift on a swivel so was a weird angle to watch, there was mould in the shower and they had signs up about how conscious they are of the environment but had nowhere to recycle -whaaat?

Only thing going for this place is that it's cheap and the staff are nice -that said, I would happily pay double the price to sleep somewhere comfortable -and clean!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hakeber12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Baywater lovely clean modern furnishings gorgeous view wonderful spa fantastic service friendly comfortable and extremely well priced most definitely will be returning.
Thank you Adelaide and Greg we had a wonderful honeymoon break will be recommending to all our friends

Best wishes .
Paul and Karen Carter

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The place was run down and the plumbing kept us awake at night. It is very poorly finished and not very clean. The bathroom mirror was dirty, there were crumbs from the toaster in the kitchen cupboard and there was a dirty ashtray on the table on the stairway all the time we were there. There were only 4 pillows and they were flat and uncomfortable. The views however were fantastic and it was lovely to sit out on the deck.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed overnight with two small children. Room was well laid out with sep sleeping area for kids. Neutral decor. A little worn but at least that means you can relax a bit more if kids are roaring around. We all enjoyed spa bath. We had friendly welcome from reception. Breakfast menu looked wonderful but we had byo. Would return providing price is right. Nice and quiet as set back off road.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,060 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#45 of 69 in Taupo
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#35 of 69 in Taupo
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Property: Baywater Lakeview Motel
Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Family Hotel in Taupo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing