We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A great two night stay in the Bella Vista with really friendly and helpful hosts. We had an upper floor room which was nice and quiet. The room had everything we needed. We took a trip up to visit Huka Falls and Craters of the Moon which were both really enjoyable. We really enjoyed our Huka Falls River Cruise and Nigel got the boat in good and close for us to get some great shots from below the falls. It's well worth going up half an hour early to see the Aratiatia Dam being opened and the rapids being recreated. Try dinner at the Crooked Door Restaurant. We did and loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 145 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

A very well-presented motel in a quiet part of town, but still close to the centre. The staff are friendly and the grounds are very tidy. My room looked recently renovated, the decor was modern and in great condition. The real coffee was a nice touch. There's plenty of natural light, and many power points.
Very well priced and I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Nice quite location. Very friendly management and very helpful. The Restaurant (Dixie Brown's) they recommended for dinner was a great choice. We had a first floor room which was more than adequate for the job. Parking was nearby and with plenty of room to manoeuvre.
Good place for a stopover.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeAwamutuJones_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome with good recommendations for places based on local knowledge; we therefore avoided the tourist traps of Rotorua. The appt was clean & spacious with an obvious female touch & the hosts very accommodating. It is a bit of a walk from the centre, however the town restaurant portions are very big so the walk back gives you the opportunity to work off all the calories. Would definitely recommend & stay again

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank RachaelMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here but when booking on line I forgot I had stayed here once before. This motel is ideal for a night stopover but lacks facilities for a holiday stay.
I booked a studio room which was clean and comfortable and offered all I needed for an overnight stay.
Tracey was friendly and offered suggestions where I could dine. However as it was late and I had driven a long way I opted for the Wishbone menu that was in the room. Tracey arrived with it heated on a tray and it was very satisfactory and well priced. ( 16.90)
My only concern is that just as the last visit I was upstairs which is a hike with a heavy suitcase. The previous visit I had seasonal fresh fruit also to carry upstairs to put in the refrigerator.Tracey did offer assistance but I made do with transferring what I needed from the suitcase to a small bag.
The location is excellent for the lake and town centre.

Room Tip: Upstairs difficult if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausgezeichnet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed one night. The room is rather average, not realy big. As the entrance door was a terrace doo dacing the parking we coud not really let light i from ths side. Room was clean. The small kitchen is really rather small. Owner was very nice. Nothing fancy, bur overall quite decent and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gernot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This place was great. They had everything. Very clean. Their room size was big. Their place looks very renovated. The owners were so nice and friendly. Its very close to the lake. With car it only takes 2 minutes.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sheida1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#20 of 68 in Taupo
290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#39 of 68 in Taupo
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 68 in Taupo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#25 of 68 in Taupo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 145 Heuheu Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $84 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Bella Vista Taupo Motel. This property has been independently assessed by Qualmark as 4 star quality accommodation. Taupo is the perfect base for your Central Plateau adventure. From the moment you arrive you'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the lake and town centre for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. At Bella Vista Taupo we cater for all your business or recreational needs. We are easy to find on Heu Heu Street, just 3.5 hours from Auckland. We have ample safe parking so you can leave your car, avoid parking issues, walk to work or explore on foot. Our superior smoke free accommodation includes a variety of studios and one bedroom units. The purpose built access units have been designed with parking at the door for your convenience. You have a choice of king, queen or single beds with electric blankets for those cooler nights. Wireless internet is available with a spacious work desk in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing