We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and gracious hospitality in a scenic setting”
Review of Wharewaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wharewaka Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family spent 4 nights at this lodge in Taupo and it was a wonderful experience. The location was scenic - right on the lake and the accommodations where very comfortable. The Dalby's (Susan and Tony) provided a wonderful breakfast each morning and offered a delightful glass of wine and delicious appetizers before we headed out to dinner. Anytime we needed help with planning activities or coordinating logistics for excursions, they were eager to assist. They were so friendly and we were grateful that they would share their wealth of knowledge on history, culture and other interesting facts about New Zealand. Our children (ages 18 - 26) looked forward to conversations with The Dalby's and were excited to count them as new friends when we left. They have created something unique and very special in the Taupo area - a "must" for any traveler visiting New Zealand. This lodge offered the best value during our 2 week stay and it will be a top recommendation to our friends who plan to visit in the future.

Room Tip: Our family used all three rooms and each one was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of our travel agent. It was so welcoming. Great conversation and Susan and Tony are so easy to talk to, though the Americas cup was keeping all Kiwis on the edge of their seats so we learned all about yacht racing.
Every little thing was in place for a perfect stay (except the weather, which always preoccupies us Brits) and we left with some excellent ideas for the next stage of our trip. Thoroughly recommend their lovely B&B lodge.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over a year ago and through all of travels, this has to be one of the top places we have ever stayed mainly due to the wonderful owners who spare nothing to make you feel at home. From the welcome wine and nibbles, the amazing breakfast including fantastic home made muesli, and the great tips on what to do, this was a great experience. Staying at this place is like staying at the home you always dreamed of owning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

They offered wine, conversation and the warmth of their fire on a chilly end of fall day to myself, my husband and our college aged son. The rooms were immaculate and provided views along with every comfort - and even beyond first class comforts like good coffee and chocolates. They too have traveled many, many places and it was great fun to share.

The location is not in town and that worried us to begin with; not a problem in the end at all. Make sure you stay a more than one night. I don't recommend it for small children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcolljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I found this fabulous jewel on the internet for us another couple to stay for our first few nights in NZ's N. Island. Although we checked in a little too early, we were treated to a lovely welcome by our hosts, the Dalbeys. Their home was built to accommodate a B and B and it is most comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated. Since they are both from the nearby Napier area, they had recommendations for places to eat and things to do. They worked much like a concierge in making arrangements for a rafting trip and making excellent restaurant suggestions. They were so entertaining that we treated them to a dinner out. Beautiful house overlooking the Lake and with amazing gardens on their property. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Wharewaka for a night during our tour of New Zealand. It was a highlight!. Susan and Tony are incredible host and share their beautiful home like you are long lost relatives. The setting and accomodations are first class. We enjoyed a glass of wine and a fantastic trout appetizer before we went out for dinner and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. This is a beautiful place and well worth the money. Our only regret is not staying longer both to enjoy the Taupo area but also Tony and Susan's hospitality. We have friends visiting New Zealand in May and have insisted they make a stop at Wharewaka Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at Wharewaka Lodge for three nights in February 2013. This is a gorgeous private home overlooking Lake Taupo. The rooms are lovely, quiet and well-appointed. The Lodge is located in a very private residential area, but also just a short drive from downtown Taupo and very convenient to the fly-fishing and rafting excursions we arranged with the help of owners Susan and Tony. We were delighted with Wharewaka Lodge and our gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,185 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
2.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.8 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
3 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharewaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharewaka Lodge

Address: 87 Wharewaka Road | Four Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $245 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Taupo and enjoy our warm hospitality and boutique lake edge accommodation.All rooms have tea & coffee, ensuite tiled bathrooms with heated floors and towel rails, high quality linen,TV.Experience golf, trout fishing, Tongariro World Heritage Park, thermal parks & spas, wine tour & Maori culture.Dine at a wide choice of nearby restaurants.Relax with pre dinner wine and hors d’oeuvres by the open fire or on the terrace. We serve generous healthy breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Wharewaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing