We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it.”
Review of Wharewaka Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wharewaka Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Broken Arrow
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Charming hosts, delightful location and wonderful accommodations. Breakfast each morning was delicious. and hosts made accommodations for all types of diet. Wine and cheese each evening was and added plus. Truly superior!

Room Tip: All rooms are charming and located on the lake front so pool and fitness center was not available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith088_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Wharewaka Lodge and wished we could have stayed longer. Our hosts Susan and Tony made us feel at home and catered to our every need, including preparing a box lunch and a very early breakfast so we could go off on a hike. Our room was very comfortable and had a fabulous view of Lake Taupo -- and a large sunny deck overlooking the lake. A walking path around the lake was just steps from the beautifully furnished house. Everything was perfect -- very quiet and private. We'd return for sure.
.

Room Tip: We had the room with the lake view -- a bit smaller than the other two rooms, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Wharewaka Lodge for 3 days and had one of the most delightful experiences during our trip to NZ. The house is wide, confortable and beautifully decorated by the owners Susan and Tony. The room offers a nice and confortable king size bed, a large bathroom with tub, shower and great illumination. The hosts are really nice persons and maked our stay the most pleasant experience in NZ. Susan makes delicious and internationally famous scrambled eggs and books dinners at the best places of Taupo and surroundings. They also helped us planning daily activities, renting a car and even borrowing NZ dollars (interest free loan) when the exchange houses were all shut. We had a wonderful time and shared great moments in the company of this lovely couple. Can't hardly wait to get back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcello_bertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I came with my father for the rugby world cup and we decided to stay in Taupo to enjoy the lake and the close-by Tongariro mountains. Susan & Tony welcomed us in their home like old friends. Their welcome drinks, which actually occur every day, helped us discover amazing NZ wines. Their house is extremely beautiful & comfortable, very tastefully decorated and located on the shore of the Taupo lake with amazing Lake views, in a very quiet exclusive road, 6km from downtown Taupo. They helped us in making the most of our stay, let us use their bikes and kayaks, and recommended amazing restaurants in the area. It's been hard to leave their place. You can be based here to visit the Tongariro national Park. Highly recommended Lodge on every aspect. Our best accommodation by far in our NZ trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Wonderful views, great decor, outstanding hosts, fantastic food. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawjusth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2011

After traveling on our honeymoon via campervan for two weeks, we stopped for a night at the Wharewaka Lodge. From the moment we walked in the door, we fell in love with Susan, Tony, and their home. The house itself is beautiful and situated right on Lake Taupo, very convenient for a swim in the lake or to borrow bikes and ride around the lake. Our room had a wonderful view of the lake and was very comfortable. Our room was also fully stocked with wine, snacks, tea, coffee, and other various drinks. Susan and Tony were the absolute best hosts that we could ask for. They had us down for some tea and cookies upon our arrival and then we chatted over wine and appetizers in the early evening. It was over this conversation that we had decided to stay an unplanned second night - we loved the place so much that we couldn't bear to leave the next day. The next day we awoke to an amazing breakfast (best eggs that we have ever had!) and went off to do several activities in the area. It was so nice to come back to the lodge on the second night since we felt so at home there. We would highly recommend the Wharewaka Lodge to anyone staying in the area, I can't imagine a more perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Encinitas1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The lodge was situated by the lake Taupo. Beautiful view from the rooms, tasteful breakfasts and nice host and hostess. We really enjoyd our stay! The rooms are very nice, modern and furnished with taste. Best of the lodges durin our 2 week trip in New Zealand. The hotel should be rated higher, meaning 5 stars lodge in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitvaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.8 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharewaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharewaka Lodge

Property: Wharewaka Lodge
Address: 87 Wharewaka Road | Four Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Taupo and enjoy our warm hospitality and boutique lake edge accommodation.All rooms have tea & coffee, ensuite tiled bathrooms with heated floors and towel rails, high quality linen,TV.Experience golf, trout fishing, Tongariro World Heritage Park, thermal parks & spas, wine tour & Maori culture.Dine at a wide choice of nearby restaurants.Relax with pre dinner wine and hors d’oeuvres by the open fire or on the terrace. We serve generous healthy breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing