We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality, great accommodation, great hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, great accommodation, great hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Chantillys to participate in the Lake Taupo cycle challenge.
We were late in booking our accommodation and of all the motels/hotels and other accommodation, Ross was the only person who offered us the option of waiting to see what previously booked accommodation was confirmed or cancelled in which case he would look to secure us 6 rooms. Ross was extremely proactive in keeping me informed as the rooms became available, even offering their motor home as an option to fulfil our requirements.
The rooms were spacious, very clean and well appointed. It is very centrally located and we were able to walk easily into the main street of Taupo.
I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to visit Taupo in the future.
Thank you Ross and Julie, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
79
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, Englang
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We had been booked into another establishment for our two night stay in Taupo but they managed to double book so we stayed at Chantilly's by default rather than choice. Having said that, the proprieter could not have done more for us: rooms were spotless and contained all you could need other than a washing machine, which is a minor niggle. The situation was perfect as you could walk into town and leave the car behind, meaning everyone could have a drink and we didn't need a designated driver. All in all this was a great place to stay and we are glad that our original plans backfire.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellsknipe356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whakatane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights, after searching the net for hours trying to decide where to stay in Taupo, Chantillys won over the rest, We stayed in a Executive Spa Suite , on the 2nd floor.Was great having the spa in the living area, and the heated flooring was a extra bonus.
The only thing i would fault was that it had no blind/ curtain in the bathroom, even tho the glass was frosted, i could still see people quite clearly walking past, so with the light on at night, just wondering how much people could see in????

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara_pinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon (one bedroom) suite for three nights. We travel all the time and we found this to be the nicest room we've ever stayed in. With the wrap around balcony, superking size bed and spa bath in the centre of the living area where you can sit and soak while watching a dvd it was pure decadence! The kitchen/cooking facilitites were a nice bonus too because we found our room to be so nice that we didn't want to leave it to go out for dinner and preferred dining in our room.

The unit also had a nice spacious, clean, bathroom with a lovely shower. The unit was quiet, the superking bed was very comfortable and the view was pleasant. It's not lake front, but you can see the lake and the mountain from the living room and bedroom. I found it to be a very nice outlook on a nice quiet street away from the main thoroughfare. Also the unit was spacious and clean with good heating for a winter stay.

We had a car, but could still have walked to the main shopping/restaurant area if we'd wanted. Would probably only be a ten minute walk.

All in all we had a fantastic stay. Chantilly's is our new favourite weekend getaway accommodation. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemissfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We found it very clean and quiet. Free DVD movies available in the office. Great local advice.
Only one niggle. We stayed in the 2 bredroom suite, and in the master bedroom, there was no wardrobe or table of any sort to place a suitcase or hang clothes. GREAT breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundabout4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Chantillys was conveniently located, close to restaurants and the lake. Very comfortable and clean. Decor was a little dated but rooms well equiped with spa in bedroom - nice touch. The price was similar to other places we stayed at that I would rate higher. I guess that is common in Taupo.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Setitstraight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

Spent 3 nights at Chantilly's, and was not disappointed.
Took advice from other travellers to Taupo and booked away from the main street overlooking the lake, as it is the main thoroughafare for all traffic travelling through Taupo and is very busy and I would suspect noisy.
Chantilly's is a couple of blocks back from the lake and we had no trouble with traffic or noise, in fact we found it to be very quiet. It is still an easy walk into town.
The standard room we booked had a queen bed and a single bed. It was quite a large room with nice size table and chairs plus desk to sit at with your computer to use ADSL. The kitchen area was well equiped, the bathroom a good size and everything was extremely well kept, clean and modern.
I was very impressed with the cleaniness of the whole complex and found the owners very friendly and helpful.
May cost a bit more than the usually Motel style accomodation but I think well worth every bit. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kazoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantilly's Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Property: Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Address: 112 Tamamutu Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chantilly's Lake Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantillys is one of Taupo's NEWEST LUXURY Accommodation and Conference Establishments. A 32 unit CITY located complex boasting all the modern fittings expected of a fine Motel. The units are all very SPACIOUS, Beautifully tiled EN-SUITE bathrooms, Kitchenettes with microwaves, New Widescreen TVs, "50 SKY TV CHANNELS",DVD Players, Private courtyards with out door furniture. Some with KING SPA Baths and views over the Lake and Mountains from your private Balcony. Just a 3 or 4 minute stroll to Supermarkets, Shops, Cafes and Restaurants, and only a 2-3 minute drive to to the Lake and many of Taupos Activities and Attractions. Free Parking. Free Wireless Broadband Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chantilly's Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing