We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal on negotiation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good deal on negotiation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

After cancelling other accommodation we searched around Taupo and settled on Chantilly's Lake Taupo as it offered us an apartment style setup (two bedrooms, lounge and kitchenette). As we stayed for several nights we were able to negotiate a reduced tariff that was highly competitive with other hotels in the region. The staff/management were helpful and friendly. The pool is not heated but there is a heated plunge pool. The lounge and master bedroom both had cable tv. The kitchen had a basic cooktop and microwave and essentially cooking and eating implements.
On the ground floor we had a virtually private courtyard. Overall we were impressed with this motel, particularly for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan_J_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
79
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed two nights here in an upstairs room with a spa pool. We have no complaints about the room , it was big and clean.
But if you want a restful nights sleep ask for a room away from the road. It is a busy road with traffic noise and people walking home from the pub till the wee small hours.
There is no air con so we had no choice but to leave the windows open and suffer the noise. We did try to close the windows but the room was too hot.
The spa in the room was great, free dvds were great, outside pool was great but the noise was too much.

Room Tip: a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy22NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantillys, Manager at Chantilly's Lake Taupo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Like all reviews we take comments seriously, unfortunately like most motels in Taupo on very busy weekends we can not always manage people who are walking home late at night.
We do have units further back and should we have the privilage of your company again these can be provided. Many thanks for your positive comments on the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at this Motel last month, rooms were a good size and very clean. Just a short walk from town. Was able to enjoy the pool & spa which was great. Would definitely recomend for anyone looking for accomodation in Taupo.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti Coast, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location, easy walking distance to Taupo town centre, restaurants bars and of course Lake Taupo. Staff were friendly, the unit was a good size and clean however I do think the chairs and cushions in the unit could do with a steam clean and the balcony also needed a clean as it was full of spider cobwebs, which in fairness due to the dry heat was ant surprising. All in all a good stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bobby12337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clean facilities, wonderful friendly hosts, quiet and beautifully presented and value for money we arrived at 6pm and was cheaper than a back packers. Didn't use the pool but looked lovely and clean and the hosts were happy to accommodate our wee dog. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed for a weekend in January and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The service was exceptional and the surroundings of a very high standard. The motel is just a short walk to the lake, town and restaurants. I would not hesitate to reccommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam Ash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Good size rooms,swimming pool, 60 channel Sky TV and free Internet (unusual in New Zealand)
Really nice staff.
The location is within a few minutes walk of town centre.
Prices are very good for a 4 star motel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buster205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantilly's Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Property: Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Address: 112 Tamamutu Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chantilly's Lake Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantillys is one of Taupo's NEWEST LUXURY Accommodation and Conference Establishments. A 32 unit CITY located complex boasting all the modern fittings expected of a fine Motel. The units are all very SPACIOUS, Beautifully tiled EN-SUITE bathrooms, Kitchenettes with microwaves, New Widescreen TVs, "50 SKY TV CHANNELS",DVD Players, Private courtyards with out door furniture. Some with KING SPA Baths and views over the Lake and Mountains from your private Balcony. Just a 3 or 4 minute stroll to Supermarkets, Shops, Cafes and Restaurants, and only a 2-3 minute drive to to the Lake and many of Taupos Activities and Attractions. Free Parking. Free Wireless Broadband Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chantilly's Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing