We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Little oasis”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

After 10 hrs travelling we arrived…studio room, old, clean, large & perfectly kitted out. Bed is enormous, location quiet & we got a pass to the spa which is fab.

The staff were really helpful it's a Really good end to our drive from Christchurch up to Auckland!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for your review, pleased you had a restful sleep after your huge drive :-) Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    252
    69
    30
    20
See reviews for
345
179
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The campsite is raised up above the lake level so the views out towards Mt Ruapehu are great. We've stayed at this site before and from memory the communal facilities are very good although we didn't make much use of them this time round. The power sites are neatly divided with great hedgerow and use of planting. What drew us back here though is the Hot Springs. As a camper you get a discounted entry to the springs. We opted for a $45 family pass which gave us unlimited access over 3 days. Spent quite a few lazy hours across two afternoons in the pools. They also have private pools which even a family can access. Kids loved the big water slide and the giant draughts game + the water fun park section. Would happily return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Director of Sales at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay :-) See you again, Lucinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the camp grounds for a little Glamping. Great place very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities are very good. Take advantage of the special for using the mineral pools for $45 for 2 adults and 3 kids while you stay. Highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank McBanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us, pleased you enjoyed the Hot Pools :-) Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Staff were friendly, had a great stay in the motel units 2 and 3 too bad it was a short one, perfect for couples. Definitely staying here again next time im in Taupo, really wouldn't go anywhere else. The pools are handy too so much fun. Worth staying here for the discounted entry!! :) Didn't need room service for the 1 night we stayed so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Stayed in Motel units 2 & 3. We travelled with another couple who booked a room next to us and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thanks for your review Dayna all the reviews on Tripadvisor help other people make decsions so we love all the feedback we get. Cheers Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We hired a Delux Cabin for a night and found that "Delux" is a great exaggeration. The cabin is one room and is one half of a traditional cabin that has been divided into two. The cabins contain no toilet or shower and look a bit tired from the outside particularly after driving past the Hilton Hotel located next door. However the cabin was very clean and the small kitchenette was very functionable. Suitable for a late arrival and one night stay only.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Firstly thank you for your constructive feedback Simon. We do our best to make sure the descriptions are clear and use photos on all booking sites where possible so customers can see exactly what they are getting. We try and emphasis that these cabin's don't have bathroom facilities and that the shared facilities are just a stone throw away, for those looking for bathroom facilities we suggest our Ensuite Cabins. Cheers Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Waikato
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Deluxe Cabin slept four but spacious and had everything we needed including TV and WiFi. Facilities were handy and clean. Layout means it wasn't overcrowded and of course the hot pools were awesome. Close to town yet quiet and peaceful with lovely scenery. Room also had AC and kitchenette.

Room Tip: Get a room with TV if you have kids to entertain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortWaikatoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Appreciate your review thank you very much. Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This very large campground has loads of facilities, including being just steps away from the fantastic hot pools complex, to which your camp fees entitle you entry at half price. The hairdryers and liquid soap in the shower areas are more to be expected in motels or hotels than campgrounds. Almost all the sites are powered sites and the price is the same whether you want power or not. This means if you are in a tent, you will pay $48 per night for your tent with 2 people, and the site where you pitch it will be hard and stony from being parked on by campervans. Also, tenters tend to be quieter because they know thin nylon has no soundproofing effect. Campervanners like our neighbours are more inclined to fill the evening with raucous laughter and loud stories about running over a pukeko (yes, if you're reading this, you know who you are.) If De Bretts want tenters, it would be better to set aside some dedicated unpowered sites at cheaper rates, but that they probably don't need the tent customers because this place is so popular with campervanners and caravanners, and deservedly so.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les_Poulets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review Les. Lovely to hear that our soap and shampoo is nice and overall you had an enjoyable stay. We do try our very best to put Tents on our grass sites sometimes over the extremely busy period between Christmas - mid January this can be over looked. We often contemplate about different rates for tenters at present the current pricing will remain however we do have great Camp Specials in the shoulder and off seasons of Pay for One Night Get One Free. See you again soon. Lucinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Property: Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing