We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fantastic get away for families: great facilities, great customer service, great location. Kids had a wonderful time in the thermal pools especially the water-slide. If I lived in NZ we'd be back in flash. Private thermal pools could do with a revamp but still were very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmhenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thanks for the review, I'm pleased you had such a good time. Thanks for the constructive feedback regarding the private pools we are starting the painting process in 2 weeks :-) Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

After a smooth check in we were shown to our room which was a superior lodge. Not long afterward while sitting on the deck enjoying a cuppa in the sun a lovely staff member came to check on us and see if we were happy with everything in the unit. We were definitely happy. The unit was spacious, comfortable and very clean. While staying, we got to enjoy the pools and I took time out to enjoy a massage down at the spa. We will definitely be back and the kids cant wait to try out the bouncy cushion that was being installed while we stayed.
Next stay we would like to try out the new villas which looked to have fantastic views of the mountain and lake.

Room Tip: Try out the new villas, they look to have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintyopotiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a glowing review. Good on you for taking time out to have a massage sometimes as parents we don't treat ourselves enough! Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Aside from the awesome accommodation and gorgeous views of the mountain, I would highly recommend De Bretts for their fabulous customer service. From phoning to try and get accommodation across two days (when it appeared to be fully booked on the online booking sheet) to our greeting on arrival, and being escorted to our lodge, De Bretts is all about service with a friendly smile. Nothing is too much trouble for the knowledgeable and friendly staff here! The lodge was lovely and super-clean, well equipped and with comfortable beds. We had a walk around the grounds and the other accommodation options appeared to be great too - something for every budget. We've stayed here before and we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would really try to choose accommodation with a view of the mountain to really make the most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thanks for the fabulous review. Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed one night on a whistle stop tour of the North Island. We arrived quite late and stayed in a superior lodge which was quite adequate for what we paid. The main reason to stay here were the mineral pools and indeed we spent a pleasant evening relaxing there before our early departure the following day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks for the review Sanjaya, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around our beautiful country. Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked online and it was all confirmed the next day. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly helpful faces, checkin took a couple of minutes and then we were escorted to our kitchen cabin. I stayed there with my 2 kids and they could not wait to hit the simpson themed playground while I unpacked the car, and then we were off down the driveway to the hot pools. The cabin was nice and clean and big enough for us 3. We all enjoyed the free wifi and the in-cabin sky tv was great to watch this mornings all blacks game. each day they had someone call around to check everything was ok..which of course it was. Would highly recomend staying here, we will definitly be back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Andrea, thanks for the great feedback. Next time the kids will be able to play on the giant jumping cushion that is being put in at the front entrance. Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

it's lucky that we got a special package deal of the lodge with hot pools all day pass, cost NZD179/per night. the location is easy to find just beside the Hilton.
room service is great. the place is quiet and staff are very nice and helpful.
it's a bit far for walking to the pools, 3 mins walking distance, but it's awful for relax with a soak.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie-He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hi Christie,

Thanks for the great review, we are pleased you enjoyed the hot pools!
We trust you had a safe trip home.

Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The images on the website make this place look alot better than it is!! it took a long time to get through and make the booking originally and we were not sent a confirmation for 2 days that our booking was confirmed should have guessed from that service we wouldnt enjoy our stay!!. Its bare basics here bed was awful and the heating kept switching off and it was freezing when we stayed! The pools are also pretty run down and busy which was the reason we did stay here the private spas are ok though just takes forever to get one..... overall we wouldnt recommend unless your on a tight budget and have a family and not too worried on a decent sleep. Also no one was there when we checked out in the morning seemed very odd as it was 7.30am

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hi Nat,

Firstly thank you for your feedback, with it we can make improvements and address the maintenance issues you have addressed.

I am unsure of which type of accommodation you booked, our website has images for every accommodation unit so that customers can look at all of the options and then make a decision. We have taken the photos ourselves and feel that they are a very fair representation of every accommodation unit we offer. We have a range of accommodation options from the holiday park from cabins, chalets and villas (which have a Holiday Park 5 star rating) and 10 Motel units. We apologise if you feel you were misguided.

Our confirmation emails is an automatic process once a booking has been placed. We have recently switched to a new booking software, so we may have been in the transition mode when you made your booking.

We endeavour to exceed every single one of our customers’ expectations, so that we can improve future visitors experiences knowing which accommodation unit you stayed in would be helpful so we can repair the heater and look at the quality of the mattress. We are continuously upgrading the holiday park and have replaced a number of mattresses in the last 6 months.

The pools are very popular particularly at the weekend which creates a good buzz, your admission includes both the outdoor mineral pools and the private spas. The 12 private spas are on a first in first serve basis which works well most of the time, we are pleased you enjoyed them when you finally had the chance to have a soak!

We would really appreciate it if you could let us know which accommodation unit you stayed in.

Thanks in advance,
Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,180 reviews
1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#10 of 68 in Taupo
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $59 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing