We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently spent a night in a 4 bed cabin at Taupo De Bretts. It was warm, comfortable, clean and modern. Perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 children. The kids slept in the bunk beds, we had the luxury of a king size bed. The air con and double glazing meant a quiet and peaceful night's sleep. The other facilities in the cabin were TV and kitchenette. We were close enough to the main toilet block so that we did not mind not having ensuite facilities.

The kids made the most of the adventure playground and trampoline and we all enjoyed the hot pools and spa the next day. Just wished we could have stayed longer!!

I would definitely recommend this to families and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Travel_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

What a wonderful review! We're so glad to hear that you'll be back again soon!

Thank you for your very kind words, we can't wait to see you again!

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations Manager
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 709 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a clean and comfortable unit with a large rear veranda from which we could hear a pleasant sound of water falling down a rock face above the Spa while from the front we could see skydivers doing their thing. The unit was well equipped and in good condition while the walk to the spa was maybe a little steep but that is good exercise. As seniors staying there entry to the spa was amazingly cheap. The only drawback, and it is minor, is that the restaurants in town are best driven to as it is a very long walk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. I could just imagine the relaxing experience you had while reading your review, it sounded magical!

In regards to restaurants, we're very lucky to have Simon Gault's (of Masterchef NZ) restaurant, the beautiful Bistro Lago, right next door. There are also a couple of restaurants in town that offer free shuttles to and from their restaurants. We're also more than happy to book taxis for our guests :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations Manager
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here in our hired motor home upon recommendation, and we were not disappointed.

Although the park is a bit outside of town, the spa was brilliant, and we all enjoyed it. The only thing I didn't like was the water slide, as I managed to bang my head going down as it's a fast one.

Plenty of showers , and good, clean food preparation areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

we first got a cabin opposite the play area for kids, which was a very noisy place. When we booked we asked for a " as quiet as possible" place, and this was certainly the opposite. But the staff understood our complain and gave us a much nicer and very quiet place. They have a nice large spa.
the walk to town was a little bit too far, but not impossible.
Everything was spic and span.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luzUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us & thank you for bringing your issue to out attention as soon as you were able to we could remedy the situation for you.
Thank you again for your review, we really do appreciate it!
Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed a few times at DeBretts as our children love the hot pools but I have to admit the additional fee for a 'hot pool' experience is quite steep. NZ$30+ for a family of five and we stayed one night - but that I can live with.

We were permitted to check in before 2pm which we were grateful for as we had travelled from Napier and the children couldn't wait to have a swim. Come bed time, I pulled back the sheets in the master bed only to find what looked like pubic hairs stuck in the duvet, and there were lots of them; there was also fruit loops or the like on the lounge floor which can only suggest the cleaning was done in a hurry.

I understand that our stay was the same time as the Nutrigrain Iron Man competition and the staff may have been under the pump but I don't really want to settle into bed with anyone else's personal bits when I'm paying top dollar for my accommodation.

On the other hand, the staff were wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeriMadang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We thank you for your valued feedback following your recent visit to Taupo Debretts Resort, our Team try their utmost to get it right first time to provide spotless quality facilities and exceptional service in family accommodation.
We were concerned to receive your concerns via Tripadvisor as our policy is to accompanying all guests to their accommodation/sites, this allows for a final quality check of all accommodation and facilities.
We have a 2pm Check in policy, for what ever reason our team allowed you into the Villa 2 hours early and did not accompany you to the villa accommodation.
Your feed back highlighted areas where we can improve by ticking all the box’s to ensure the total customer experience is 100%.
Once again thanks for giving our team the opportunity to understand what the customer sees that gives a to do things better. We do have a policy of 100% refund within one hour of arrival if not satisfied with your accommodation!

Barry Kirkland
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Spa was so nice! the place i stayed was reasonable but new and nice, there are lots of options to choose where you want to stay (campsite to luxury room). friendly stuff and owner, too. Would love to come back with my family and friends next time!!

Room Tip: cabins were perfect for us!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KauriTree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thanks for your awesome review! We stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you're going to bring your friends and family back!
Just remember, all return guests receive 10% off their accommodation when they book directly with us! (via phone or email only)

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed one night, tenting with our daughter en route to Auckland>> Osaka. Very peaceful,on a Friday night, the main road hill traffic being barely heard. We were impressed with the facilities and standard of cleanliness in the ablutions/kitchen/barbecue area and complimented the cleaning lady who as hard at work before 10am next morning.
Be happy to return, but only during a quiet season if we are camping again as noise carries too far in tenting sites.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Neville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, we very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you're in New Zealand!

Warm regards,
Eliana
Guest Relations
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.6 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#10 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $55 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing