We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We don't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stay in the superior room, just behind the lake view room, it was just amazing. The room has new and clean kitchen utilities. The package we booked includes the hot pool which is a lovely way to end your day. The pool closes at 9.30pm

Room Tip: A bit hard to find on Tom Tom but look for Hilton taupo they share the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

We are delighted to read you had such a great time with us. The superior lodges are great spacious units with all the convenience of a fully equiped kitchen and underfloorheating in the kitchen and bathroom.

The pools are certainly the perfect way to wind down after an exciting day of exploring taupo.

We do hope to have the chance to host your stay again in the future.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 703 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

t'was raining on and off all the way to taupo but we had a warm welcome at DeBretts so it was kewl enough! the staff were friendly and the accommodation was great! this was our first time to visit the spa resort and we were very happy with everything except for the weather. we loved that it was spacious including the bathroom, it was clean and tidy, the beds were ok and we have our own parking space just beside our unit. our neighbors werent noisy. we felt safe in our unit. the pools were wonderful and the showers, change rooms and toilets were clean. would definitely come back with family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ela1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. We do have an amazing team here who work together to provide a great experience for all our guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity to host your stay again in the near future and be sure to let us know when you are comming so we can organise some sunshine for you and your family!

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We loved staying at DeBretts during a recent family visit to NZ. We stayed 4 nights, with two young boys, and loved having the hot pool and water slide facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful, with suggestions on other things to do. We stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet, which was good enough, without being amazing. We had to move Chalets because we picked an extra night, and our first chalet was definitely nicer (better appointed and newer) than the next one, which was very tired and basic. Not being too critical, but given the rates, I think one comes to expect better accommodation facilities these days. All in all though, a fun place, very clean and tidy with good service from staff. Accommodation needs to be updated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

We do have a great team who are never afraid of going that extra mile to accommodate all our guests and ensure that they get the most out of their time at DeBretts and in Taupo, having their service acknowledged is greatly appreciated.

We do have plans in motion to upgrade our motel units and of course we are constantly maintaining and upgrading all our units. We are lucky here to have a wide variety of accommodation to cater to all budgets and requirements from camp sites to our new two bedroom lake villas which have sutnning views over Lake Taupo.

We do hope to have the opportunity to host your stay again in the future and pehaps then you will get to experience first hand the upgrades and changes we are making.

Thank you again for you feedback.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great place to stay with families & friends, home like environment. Beds are comfortable and warm, however upper bunk bed's rial was broken in M07. Could add a bedside table & lamp in kids room for reading. Shower need to update out flooding water can cause slippery injury. And the POOL is just awesome !! Would appreciated some info regards no head down while swimming in the thermal pools, and beware of the dragon slid too. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay :-) Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventrueTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

It is wonderful to read you had a great time with us and your comment and suggestions regarding your unit have been passed on to our housekeeping and maintenance team. We have plans in motion to upgrad our motel units so hopefully on your next visit you will be able to experience the difference first hand.

Thank you, we think Taupo Hot Springs is awesome as well!

All our pools front line team do inform guests that they should not put their head under in the mineral water pools. However we do recognise that it can be a bit exciting and distracting when you first arrive so there are signs at the entrance, around the pools and in the changing rooms. Also there are signs at the bottom, half way up and at the top of the Hydroslide explaining slide rules and that it is a fast slide.

Our frontline team also indicate that interactive water playground,the dragon hydroslide and which pools are chlorinated and so perfectly fine to put your head under.

We also have an excellent filtration system in place where our mineral water is UV and sand filtered continuously throughout the day. Did you know that each of our mineral pools are drained every evening, the walls of the pools scrubbed and then refilled overnight and ready for our guests to have a warm soak from 8.30 every morning?

Again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you here again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The web description is misleading. No separate lounge, open plan living etc. We were put in a demountable with an adjoining door, hearing the family that occupied the other 2/3 of the unit. At $160 could have done a lot better. The place was comfortable and clean...just not delivered as sold. I advised the staff on leaving ( nicely I hope). I hope I don't get a patronizing response with no recompense ?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoffsHarbourMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

Firstly may I say we do greatly appreciate all our guests feedback and take it very seriously as it is our best tool for monitoring and upgrading our standards and the service we provide.

I have looked into your booking and in fact the channel through which you had booked did have an inaccurate description of this particular unit. We have contacted the booking channel and this is currently being amended. We do have a policy in place where if guests are not happy with their unit on check in we offer a full refund within 60 minutes of check in.

I would appreciate if you could email our reservations team so we can discuss this situation further with you.

Again we do appreciate your feedback.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were really looking forward to staying here. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and had confirmed by email an extra night we would be staying and were thrilled when our room was "upgraded" to a Lakeside Villa. When we arrived our booking had'nt been changed after a tense time our confirmation email was found and room sorted, not a good start though. As the rooms only accomodate 4 again a child on the fold-out bed which had dirty sheets and each time our room was serviced only 4 towels. We had booked a package so entry to pools was included however by the time you walked across the park down to the spa & back again any relaxing done by the warm pools was well & truly gone! Overall not overly happy but the reception staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Better value for money would have been camping as laundry etc. was near campsites not villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyofiveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

Firstly may I say congratulations on your 25th Anniversary.

I have checked with frontline regarding your booking and and there was a breakdown in communication which meant our team had to do some reshuffling to rectify your booking and ensure you were in the upgraded Lake Villa.

I have advised our housekeeping team leader of your concerns and she was very sorry and has assured me that this was a once off incident and will not be happening again.

As for the walk down to Taupo Hot Springs most of our guests do enjoy the stroll down to the pools and the opportunity to enjoy the native plants and hopefully the chance to meet our resident cat Cyclopse, a favourite amongst guests!

We do really appreciate all feedback from our guests as this gives us the opportunity to monitor and constantly upgrade our services.

We do hope to have the opportunity to host your stay again in the future when you will hopefully notice the changes and upgrades we are working on at present.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Rooms were clean spacious, but dowdy. They have seen better days. OK I spose for families. Spa pool was relaxing but wished I had not been tempted to try the very fast slide. I was tossed around dangerously knocking my head several times whilst being tossed about. Took 2 days to recover. Head very sore. Scared I may have been knocked unconscious.

Room Tip: Nice views to Lake Taupo from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahtheserenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

We do appreciate all feedback and take all comments and suggestions on board.

We are in the process of upgrading our Motel Units so hopefully next time you visit you will notice the difference.

Our Dragon Hydro Slide does have signs at the bottom of the stairs and again at the top of the stairs giving warnings that it is very fast and also showing height and weight restrictions and instructions on how to go down the slide properly, but as the signs say it is a fast slide. Perhaps on your next visit one of our 12 private pools would be a better option, a lot more relaxing!

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $60 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing