We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taupo thermal spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taupo thermal spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay here, it’s a little outside of the main part of Lake Taupo, probably too far to walk but its ok to drive and there are lots of places to park in the main town. We went to the Thermal Spa that is on site on our 2nd day and really enjoyed it, was busy but not overly so.
The pitch was a good size and position, and the facilities were very good as well one of the best ones we stayed at during our trip in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

It is great to read that you felt we were one of the best parks which you stayed at in New Zealand. We are very lucky here to have a great variety of facilities with our day spa offering wonderful body and facial treatments to our iconic Taupo Hot Springs and our cafe offering cooked breakfasts and lunches as well as delicious cabinet food.

We do hope you get to come back and visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    239
    69
    28
    18
See reviews for
324
167
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
327 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 812 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed in a two bedroom villa at De Brett's in late April 2012, as part of a larger party. I was very impressed with their villa accommocation. Each unit was spacious and very well maintained. While "resort" guests don't get free entry into the hot thermal pool complex, entry was discounted, and it was possible to get a pass out wristband that allowed us to return for a swim later in the evening.
My wife went for a massage and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed staying in our newly build Lake Villas, they do offer a spectacular view of Lake Taupo and our mountains. We are also delighted that your wife had the opportunity to have a massage at Living Waters Day Spa.

We do hope to have the opportunity to host your stay again in the future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taihape
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had two nights as part of hubby's birthday weekend. Thoroughly enjoyed it - staff very friendly - pools great. Had a half price deal with WOTIF - a Superior Lodge. Last time I stayed in a Lodge - you had good lake views - now they have built Villas in front. You can still see the Lake in between the Villas though! Very clean and warm spacious accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Reosrt.

We are delighted to read that you and your husband had such a great weekend. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here who work very hard to maintain a high standard of service and quality for our guests.

We look forward to hosting your stay again.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great place to stop for a night. We too had a deal for the accoomodation and hot pools and was well worth the stop on our returning home from further up north. Acccommodation was great - good views was clean, heat pump and underfloor heating were wonderful and the hot pools were great to relax in at night while the kids played on the hot pools slide. Receptions staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winegirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

It is always wonderful to get such positive feedback from our guests. We are very lucky here to have something to offer everyone with out thermal pools, beautiful day spa and our cafe as well.

We do hope to have the opportunity to host your stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We enjoyed the night we spent here - the villa was clean and well equipped with underfloor heating and two heatpumps .Plus the toilet was separate from the bathroom. We had a half price deal with wotif which was good value, we wouldnt pay full price as the villa's are very close together and we had a camper van parked behind us.. At the end of the day this is an excellent holiday camp with the bonus of the hotpools .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

We are very pleased with our new Lake View Villas, which are situated so that each deck has great privacy from the other villas and of course that amazing view of the lake and mountains.

We do hope to see you here again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a powered campervan site and loved staying here. The facilities were clean, the playground for the kids was well loved by our two (2 and 3.5). The hot pools were devine, if only we had babysitters so we could stay in the hot pool all day! Staff were friendly and informative. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KezBezAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

We are delighted to read that your family had such a wonderful time here. Taupo Hot Springs our geothermal pools are always a winner with our guests and yes they do make you want to stay just a little bit longer!!

We hope you get the chance to come and visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We bought a Grab One Deal last year and used it for an long weekend getaway for our anniversary. We both loved it! The room we stayed in was gorgeous, the view was amazing and the hot water pools were the best ever. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

We are delighted you got to take advantage of the great deal we had on offer and we would love to get the opportunity to host your stay again in the future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.9 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Property: Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing