We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We couldn't believe how clean, fresh and tidy the deluxe cabin was. The staff were very friendly and we found the amenities block good. The price was extremely great value and it included day passes for the hot pools which were wonderful. Was nice and quiet too

Definately will be staying here again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeePalmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

It is always great to get such positive feedback from our guests. We are very lucky to have a wonderful team here who constantly go that extra mile to make all our guests stay a great experience.

And what a way to finish your day with a soak in our geothermal pools, the perfect way to soak all your cares away.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    234
    69
    27
    18
See reviews for
314
165
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay at debretts after attending a funeral in Tokeroa. Arriving on a beautiful sunny afternoon was wonderful. Our unit Lodge 23 had a beautiful view of the lake at sun set. As always the hot pools are a delight. Even with just a one night stay it was cheaper to buy a 3 day family pass.

We were lucky enough to be located next to our relatives and we shared an evenings worth of entertainment. In the early morning we all headed down to the hot pool for a swim.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

We are glad to read you enjoyed the Lodge you stayed in and got the opportunity to experience one of our beautiful Lake Taupo sunsets.

We do hope to get the opportunity to host your stay again in the future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

For the second year in a row my friend and I recently stayed in the same chalet as last time at DeBretts for 5 nights. It feels like home away from home to us without a timetable to keep to. We always leave there feeling refreshed and rested it is so peaceful and quiet. Having the mineral pools so accessible and enjoying two soaks a day not to mention the luxury of a long soak at night before bed, DeBretts Spa is the best of the best place to stay.As usual the accommodation was sparkling clean; comprising a kitchen, open plan dining - lounge, separate toilet and shower, two bedrooms and a queen size bed in each. The unit was serviced daily by very friendly staff, fresh linen supplied and as always the Reception Staff are very helpful. As part of our package deal we received complimentary pool passes for the 5 days which put the icing on the cake. We will definitely be back next year. Twohappycampers LMCM

Room Tip: No view of the lake but for peace and quietness the chalets nearest the shop are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

It certainly sounds like you had a wonderful time and that is what the hardworking team here are constantly striving to achieve for our guests.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

DeBretts Spa Resort provided two enjoyable nights on our recent trip to New Zealand. The superior cabins, in which we were booked, have a fine view over Lake Taupo and the package that we were offered, which included free entry to the thermal pools, a massage and free breakfast and coffee was a winner. DeBretts has no frills accommodation ranging from tent sites to caravans and lodges that provides good quality for a reasonable price. Situated on Lake Taupo with all of the benefits of this wonderful place, it would be a great place for a family holiday experience.

Room Tip: The superior lodges have exceptional views and are very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cravydocketoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is always great to get such positive feedback as we feel we are on the right track to providing a wonderful holiday experience for all our guests.

We do hope you get to make a return visit to our beautiful New Zealand and of course to our own little piece of paradise here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.

Kind Regards
Martina Austin
Martketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Had a nice welcome,map to show site to use ,it was easy to locate the site.parking was easy as the site was level & the power in a good place.Kitchen ,toilets & showers great.4 trips to pool to relax.They even arranged a shuttlebus to take us to town $4 each.Will be camping there again. THANK YOU.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

we really enjoyed our time at debretts spa resort, in taupo. the spa was great, even though it was raining. staff freindly and helpful would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for something differant for their stay in new zealand. and would stay again. Shirley L australia

Room Tip: we stayed near the entrance to the resort and it was reasonably quiet, in a 2 bedroom. daughter was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

What a find? We stayed at De Bretts last weekend for the first time. We loved it and did not encounter any problems whatsoever. ALL staff that we dealt with (at resort reception, cafe and at the pools) were extremely helpful and accommodating. Having the pools right there for a nice soak at the end of the day was a bonus, and a good deal given for pool use, for those who stay at the resort. We also made good use of the onsite cafe. The grounds are beautifully done - a credit to the owners hard work - and the view over the lake is just lovely! We would recommend it to others, and will definitely stay again at some stage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.6 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Property: Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing