We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no frills caravan park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“no frills caravan park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Clean amenities, good service, and a hot spring theme park next door - what more do you need from caravan park?!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Hi there

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent stay with us.

I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found all our amenities met your expectations. We work very hard to provide a great customer experience and a great housekeeping team ensures all our accommodation is a spotlessly clean for every staying guest.
Taupo Hot Springs is a wonderful facility and a soak in the thermal waters is a lovely way to end a day's exploring in the Central Plateau, and ensures a great night's sleep!

Many thanks for choosing Taupo DeBretts and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Staff and Management
Taupo DeBretts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    240
    69
    28
    18
See reviews for
326
167
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Wow this place is lovely. We stayed for 1 night but could have stayed longer.
We had a 2 bed newly renovated chalet. Lovely and clean. Good kitchen with dishwasher. The bathroom even had underfloor heating.
Rooms are a dbl and a twin, could do with some furniture in the twin as not even a chest of draws or bedside table.
Walking distance to Hilton hotel and Hotwater pools that you get comp access to when you book.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestongirlEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us.
I'm so pleased to read that you had a lovely time and enjoyed your accommodation in our lovely chalets and also made use of our Lovely Taupo Hot Springs. Nothing is better than a lovely soak after a busy day exploring this region.
Thank you for your constructive comment regarding the need for a chest of draws in the second bedroom. I will be passing this on in a management meeting this week.
We do hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again and we thank you for choosing Taupo DeBretts for your stay.

Staff and Management, Taupo DeBretts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

The motel unit was clean and had everything we needed. The unit we stayed in was slightly dated but in reading reviews we gather that other units have been upgraded. We loved the hot springs being a short walk one way and a magnificent retaurant being a very short walk the other way. The staff were extremely obliging.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found all staff to be helpful and friendly. We aim at all times to provide a wonderful experience and a welcoming staff plays a large part in that.
We are also glad to read that you made the most of our lovely Taupo Hot Springs and enjoyed soaking in the thermal waters.
You are correct..we have big refurbishments planned for many of our rooms over coming months so that expectations for our valued clients are met.
Thank you for choosing Taupo Debretts and we look forward to welcoming you back ne day soon.

Staff and Management, Taupo DeBretts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, in a superior lodge. The accommodation was good, nicely appointed, and the kitchen was great, we could prepare our own meals when we wanted to.
The absolute highlight was the staff, all of them were extremely pleasant, very helpful and very friendly.
The pools were great, especially on Friday afternoon when there were less people around, but even Saturday afternoon wasn't too busy. The private pools were great, in a range of temperatures.
There're plenty of activities to do in the area, and there are plenty of restaurants around too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Styles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us.
It is wonderful to read that you had such a lovely stay and that both your accommodation and indeed all the facilities at Taupo DeBretts met and exceeded your expectations.

We strive to provide the best experience possible for all our guests and it is again very pleasing to read that the highlight of your stay was the warm and friendly staff ready and willing to assist you in making your stay the best possible.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do look forward to hosting you again once day soon.

Staff and Management
Taupo DeBretts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krems an der Donau, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

I spent three days at Taupo de Bretts last week and felt really relaxed, especially after the beautiful Thermal Volcanic Mud Wrap massage & Manuka Honey facial, a speciality only available in New Zealand- and I guess only at Taupo de Bretts. Beautiful!

The staff was very nice, as I knew from a previous stay in 2008 and was glad to see again confirmed. I can always recommend you to stay at this resort, as they really look after you very well. On the premises, I found a good place to eat, some excellent coffee and great mineral hot pools to relax, besides the beautiful spa cabins we had. So really, there is everything you need, right on the spot !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaPaschinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Hi Elena

Thank you for leaving feedback for us following your stay.
It was wonderful to meet you and get to know you a little, and the feedback you provided while here was helpful in ensuring we continue to provide the best experience possible for every customer.
I;m so glad you enjoyed your stay, loved the accommodation and the pools and also had a chance to indulge in one of our special spa treatments.
All the very best with the rest of your travels and we look forward to meeting and hosting you again when back in this part of the world.

Jill Steele
Taupo DeBretts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Arrived in our camper van and the staff were very friendly and helpful, not only in getting us the camping space we liked the best but also with lots of information about what to see and do in the area.

The site is very clean, especially the kitchen/toilets/showers, spotless.

The spa pools are wonderful and laying in the warm water looking up at the stars is one of the outstanding memories of our 4 week camper van trip.

We planned on staying 1 or 2 nights, but ended up there 3, enjoyed it so much.

Definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your stay with us recently.
It is so pleasing to hear that you found Taupo DeBretts such a lovely place to spend some time at, and equally thrilling to read that Taupo Hot Springs was the one of the highlights of your 4 week holiday. A soak in our lovely thermal water is the perfect way to end a busy day's exploring.

We want our guests to leave feeling relaxed, refreshed and wanting more, and it's wonderful to read that this was certainly the case for you.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to the day you make a return visit. Thank you for choosing Taupo DeBretts and hope that the rest of your travel around NZ was as pleasing.

Staff and management , Taupo DeBretts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed in a deluxe motel unit. Got a deal including a bottle of wine and free entry to the pools. (For all 4 of us as it turns out, the description from the booking site didn't quite make this clear and it could have only been for two pax). This made it great value for money.

Room was comfortable and clean, freshly painted but fittings are a bit 'tired'. Some lightbulbs were blown. Toaster didn't work but was replaced on the spot when I took it to reception. Very comfortable beds.

Great service, friendly staff. She pointed us to some vouchers that gave us 30% discount on bungy jump for the kds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrettsnz, Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Hello there...thank you so much for responding to us with your feedback following your recent stay with us at Taupo DeBretts.
I'm very pleased that you had a great time and found the resort and room good value for money.
I suspect you were on a our DeBretts breakaway deal which is priced for 2 pax but allows extra 2 in unit with a monetary fee of $20 per person.

It \sounds as of you made the most of the wonderful things we offer at Taupo DeBrettts and the region as a whole.

We are shortly to start renovating our motel untis so you may not next recognise them when you come back to see us!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.9 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Property: Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing