We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What service at the Quest Taupo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyager Apartments Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Voyager Apartments Taupo
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What service at the Quest Taupo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

I made our reservations at this New Zealand hotel through a US-based website. I had asked for a room for three (including our adult son). When I arrived at the Quest Taupo, the owner told me that they had tried to get in touch with us concerning the room--the usual roll-away bed would not be suitable for our adult son. So, he upgraded us (at no charge!) to a two bedroom, two story suite. What a wonderful stay!

He also recommended the Jolly Good Fellows, just around the corner, for dinner--a great recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    24
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat Victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great location - only a short stroll to the magnificent Lake Taupo and a short walk to the centre of town. Front reception was great - very friendly and helpful. There was 4 of us staying with plenty of room and separate living areas upstairs(including spa) & down. Cooking facilities were good with a good size fridge. The beds were great, very comfortable and dark for a good night`s sleep. Taupo is an awesome place - we could spend a week there and will be back one day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix1442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed at Quest Taupo from 29th Dec - 1st Jan 2010. Staff were very helpful, when we arrived we upgraded to the newer double storey units and were very pleased. Very clean and tidy, facilities were excellent. Only negatives were there were no 'views' of the beautiful Lake Taupo and you had to drive to the city centre as it is a very long walk. Great restaurants (highly recommend Jolly Good Fellows) and cafes.
All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teejay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

I travel a lot for work, around 2 days per week, and often I stay at Quest. A good standard, good value, LCD TVs (generally).

After staying in Quest Rotorua I moved today to Taupo. Let me stay that Quest Rotorua is fantastic – brand new and very stylish. I searched Wotif, and despite being more expensive than Rotorua I decided to try Taupo. Not such a good move.

The “Courtney Wing” where my room (31) was, is basically an old motel (they did say it was “motel style”) that has been done up. But despite modern furniture it’s still a 70’s style motel (cringe) complete with 20” CRT TV. Yep, no flash LCDs like at other Quests. However it did have a spa bath. Nice, but I’d rather have the TV …

So it’s it all that bad. No. And to be honest, the new wing looks from the outside pretty smart. But if you’re in the old wing, and used to the Quest style, then expect to be a little disappointed. I’m surprised to be honest, and it’s going to make me a little wary of Quest from now on.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbagetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Voyager Apartments Taupo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Note: The rooms reviewed here are no longer available at Quest Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night recently, was in the studio rooms in the block next to the main block, nothing inspiring about it, advertised as a king sized bed but was really 2 single beds put together, bathroom reminded me of a hospital and the heater provided was inadequate for the 0-10degree celcius temperatures. We could also hear the people in the next room loud and clearly which was frustrating.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skeeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Voyager Apartments Taupo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Note: The rooms reviewed here are no longer available at Quest Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

We had a "superior" 3-bedroom apartment for 2 nights in April. We found the place to be clean and mostly comfortable. The furnishings were basic and very IKEA-like. Very strangely, it had only 1&1/2 baths and the 1/2 bath did not have mirror which made it useless for activities such as shaving. 4 adults and 4 children having to use 1 bathroom made getting ready in the morning a challenge. The dryer in our unit was also not good - the clothes took forever to dry and we had to pretty much give up at some point.
Having said that, it is good value for money. The location is good and we had a nice view of the lake (albeit over the roofs of the houses in front of us). The kitchen was adequate and apartment was clean.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed at the Quest Taupo for two nights during their peak Summer period. We had two rooms during our stay, a standard studio room at $150NZD/night and a standard two-bdrm at $220NZD/night. This was pretty much the standard rate for any accomodation while we were there.

The apartments are run by the serviced apartments chain Quest. We hadn't stayed at a Quest place before but had heard good things about the chain and expected good quality. There aren't many other chain hotels and apartments in Taupo, except for the Copthorne and Millennium.

The hotel has two different types of rooms, the Superior Apartment and the Standard Apartment. The superior is more like a townhouse and has heaps of room as well as air conditioning. It is about $40-$50 more for a superior studio, and I think it was about $80-$100 more for a superior two-bdrm. Both types of apartments have been newly renovated, but the standard is a little bit smaller and doesn't have air conditioning. The standard rooms are located in a motel building and look less pleasant from the outside than they are on the inside.

Check-in was pleasant and we were given a map, on which the receptionist highlighted the local supermarket, the directions into the town centre and some of the tourist attractions. We were taken to our rooms by another staff member. If you are a Qantas Frequent Flyer member, show your card and you can receive some frequent flyer poitns for your stay.

The rooms were clean and of course newly renovated. The two-bedroom had one room with a king bed, the other with two single beds and a living area with TV, sitting area, dining table, full kitchen and full bathroom. The kitchen was equipped with microwave, oven, stovetop, sink etc and had all the cutlery and plates in the cupboards. We didn't use it so much but everything was there if you needed it. The studio had a king bed and a smaller kitchen, but it had a full bathroom. The beds were comfortable and had heating pads in the linen for the cold winter months. We unplugged them from the socket as they weren't required.

There was one problem with the bathroom, and it was the shower. When you turned it on it immediately started with icy-cold water and blasted it out really hard. As you turned the knob to make it warmer the flow of the water slowed down. It wasn't so slow that you couldn't shower in it, it was the same as at most hotels, but the problem was the cold water! Please follow this recommendation: turn on the water while standing outside the shower otherwise you will be blasted with cold water, and that is something you don't want. Trust me, I have experienced it!

The housekeeping changed the linen, took the rubbish and provided new towels, soap, shampoo etc, but they didn't wash up every day. You could just leave your dirty stuff in the sink and they would wash it after your stay, or you could wash it yourself if you were going to use it again. Because we didn't use it so much we just washed the glasses and left the plates.

The hotel did have a heated pool, but it was very small. I suspect that they had the pool just so it could be advertised on their website. The pool was clean however, and we did see guests swimming and lounging around.

There was plenty of free parking outside each apartment. The parking wasn't assigned, you just took whichever spot you fancied.

They had broadband available at the hotel for $15 a day, and they only had a wired connection option. There were a few wireless internet services i was able to find, mostly from neighbouring accomodation. You could probably go into the neighbouring places and get a wireless access code and use their internet if you preferred. There were also some town-wide networks that were accessible, some of which were free.

They provided a small carton of milk on arrival and it wasn't supposed to be replaced, but when we asked at the front desk they gladly gave us one. They also had ice available, you just had to take a bowl or something and they would fill it for you.

The largest supermarket in town is a Woolworths and they are open til 11pm if i remember correctly. There is a full deli, beer and wine and all the regular supermarket food, drinks etc.

The main tourist attractions in town are Huka Falls, Craters of the Moon and the Aratiatia dam. The dam opens at certain times during the day and water just gushes through really quickly. During Summer it opens at 10am, noon, 2pm and 4pm. during winter it opens 10am, noon and 2pm. I suggest visiting all these attractions, and going to any others which might interest you. There is a i-site in town from where you can get free tourist information. The i-sites are run by the government i believe, or are at least associated with the new zealand tourism bureau. Lake Taupo is just across the road from Quest and you can walk along the shore, or swim. It was very popular for swimming.

Napier is about 1.5hrs drive each way from Taupo. It is a nice area with lots of art-deco buildings.

The town centre has lots of shops and restaurants as well as petrol (gas) stations. There were the usual McDonald's, KFC, Burger Fuel etc as well as lots of restaurants. We dined at Yama and Milano. Yama has asian food and Milano is of course italian. I would recommend both.

Quest Apartments usually focus on business travellers, but I believe that this place was good for leisure travellers as well. It was definitely not a 5-star establishment, but you have to remember that this is a small town. If i were ever back in Taupo i would probably stay at the Quest.

  • Liked — It was clean, it was central, the staff were friendly, a good room rate
  • Disliked — It wasn't outstanding in any manner
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtney Motel
Courtney Motel
#48 of 71 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#40 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#17 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Apartments Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Apartments Taupo

Property: Voyager Apartments Taupo
Address: 9 Tui Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Apartments Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Voyager Apartments Taupo. We provide comfortably furnished accomodation consisting of various styled one bedroom, as well as two and three bedroom apartment accommodation that are available for all short and long-term accommodation requirements. We provide Sky TV 51+ Channels. Voyager Apartments Taupo offer self contained, fully serviced apartments style accommodation to guests as an excellent alternative to traditional motel or hotel accommodation in Taupo. Our Taupo apartments provide fully equipped kitchens, private laundry and a living room Voyager Apartments accommodation is located in Central Taupo and is within a 10 minute stroll of the popular Town Centre, Lake Taupo and the entrance to the Waikato River. Kitchen facilities provide guests with the option of preparing a meal within the apartment instead of eating out. A number of Supermarkets Are located within a 10 minute walk from the property. Voyager Apartments Taupo reception hours are 7am to 8pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 8pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times with prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Voyager Apartments Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Taupo Hotel Taupo
Quest Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing