We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Our stay at The Reef Resort was the first place we stayed in New Zealand. After flying from San Francisco to Auckland we drove down to Taupo and stayed for 2 days. It was a great start to our vacation. We stayed in a Studio Full View and our friends had a Studio with Full Spa. The full view room was wonderful. We had a balcony looking over the lake with wonderful sunsets. Having a place with a kitchenette is a must for us as we prefer to go to the local market and pick up food for dinner vs eating out all of the time. Our friends studio was the same size it just lacked the view that we had. We made use of the promenade along the lake and walked down to town for breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CADream1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    94
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
128
298
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We were very pleased with our brief stay here. The room was plenty large to accomodate all our stuff, it had a kitchenette that we didn't even use. Loved the access to the promenade along the lake... we walked to the Millenium Hotel nearby for dinner, this was great too. The little pool and jaguzzi at the Reef hotel is a nice way to end the day. We wish we could have stayed more days here. Very nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is situated a good 15min walk from the restaurants and the town centre. HOWEVER, the location and view and everything else about the Reef Resort make up for the walking distance to the town centre. The owners are very helpful & friendly. Broadband internet is available at AUD$6 per day and ethernet cords are available on loan from reception. There was a full kitchen in our apt, and a large outdoor pool & thermal spa outside. Free car parking for those who need it. Would definitely recommend to others & stay here again.

  • Liked — Location & view
  • Disliked — Distance from the city centre
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TAAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed in a luxury studio apartment on the 2nd floor (which is the same floor as the one you walk into from the road). The room was very modern and clean and the view was not bad at all. The bad points of our stay was:
1. There is a building in front of the the hotel, which blocks views over the lake so if you were on 1st floor by the pool you would see none of the views!
2. The pool is right under the balcony (could almost jump into it from the baclony) and not very big. This meant that for the ENTIRE stay, from 8am to 9pm, there were kids screaming around the pool area. There are signs saying the pool is only to be used from 8.30am to 8pm, but that was generally ignored. As it was so small, with the kids jumping in and out of it, it was not possible to even go for a lazy swim.
3. Breakfast provided was quite bad, so I would suggest that you stop of in one of the supermarkets on the way into town and get your own.
4.The hotel is located on a VERY busy main road and about 25-30 walk from the town centre. There is not food store close, so you'll need a car for shopping food.

  • Liked — Quality of room and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location, noisy guests
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dubchickIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed at the Reef Resort for two nights and could not have chosen a better motel. The service was excellent and Brian carried our very heavy suitcases to our room while Karen organised a meal for us at a nearby hotel. Wonderful view of the lake from our balcony. A delightful swimming pool and thermal pool. All together a delightful place to stay. It is a fair distance from the town centre but if you choose to walk there is a lakeside path all the way. Taupo is a good stopping point between Auckland and Wellington for those who dont wish to visit Rotarua.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Reef resort is a chic lil motel on the lake front, but one block away from the lake shores. The motel is located on one farther end of the lake drive, so be prepared for a long walk in case you do not have a car.
The luxury studio where we stayed had a fantastic view of the lake. The studio itself was very tastefully done and was pretty spacious.
Dont have much to say, just that the motel is a great getaway but somewhere I have the feeling that it might not be worth the $ you pay for it. You might want to browse for more options.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — location and the $
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RatbertConsultancies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We needed a place to stay for 1 night on our way to Rotorua and came across this property in Jason guide. What an amazing find.

The owners are so friendly and made us feel very welcome.

We had a choice of rooms for the 4 of us (2 adults, 2 children) however we choose room 11 which is a large open plan suite with a large king bed and a fully sprung bed settee for the children.

The room had a fantastic view of the lake and a balcony with table and chairs and a lounger which was great to sit out on and enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun go down.

The room was lovely. The kitchen area was fully equiped and we were able to prepare an evening meal easily. We booked a cooked breakfast for the morning which was very good value and arrived on time and warm.

The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and an electric blanket. There is air conditioning in the room and broadband access.

The bathroom was great. There was a large spa bath with a window that
slides back so you have a direct view out to the lake. There were loads of towels and the toiletries were of a good quality.

Pool towels were available from reception for the swimming pool and thermal pool and there were quite a few loungers by the pool to sit and watch the children or just to pass away the time.

The laundry has 1 washing machine and 2 tumble dryers. It operates on
an honesty system at a cost of $2 per load which is payable on checkout. The laundry is open for about 12 hours a day (8:30am - 8:30pm) which we found to be the normal hours for all the motels we stayed in.

Our only regret was that we could only stay 1 night!!!

  • Liked — The view from the spa bath out over the lake
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike about it
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Property: The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing