We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great package...has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our visit to New Zealand has occurred with little planning and in all we have been very lucky in our hotel choices. The Reef Resort is a great example of that with a great range of delightfully decorated and tastefully appointed rooms and surrounds. It is in the ideal situation beside Lake Taupo with hot beach frontage and perhaps a 20 minute walk or three minute drive to the CBD. Great TV's (ours one bedroom apartment had a second TV in the bedroom) both with Sky and free WiFi meant all the essentials were taken care of. Swimming pool at 30 degrees Celsius and a geothermal heated spa at 40 were spot on for washing off the rigours of the day.

Add to the package operators that obviously love what they are doing and committed to ensuring that their guests are well taken care of and provided with great tourist tips and directions we were only sorry that we were here for only a short stay...but we will be back and we know exactly where we will be staying! All in all it is very difficult to find anything that reflects negatively about this property and it's not very often that a motel gets five out of five for everything but this one did.

Room Tip: The rooms have lake views but you are only a few steps away from the action anyway as the resort bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JummaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hello there JummaBee.

WOW!! What can we say but thank you, thank you, thank you. We are so humbled by you kind comments and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Erin and I always strive to make sure that all our guests' stay is as if it were ourselves staying. Therefore want everyone to have the best time possible. We can't take all of the credit though and have to acknowledge that without having such a great boss, and cleaning staff who are just as passionate about doing what they do, we would not be the accommodation provider we are today.

Again thank you so much, and be sure to let us know when you are in town as we would love to have you stay with again. Thank you again for your humbling review and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 533 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We found the service at the Reef Resort very friendly and helpful. Erin's smile and her cheerful and helpful demeanor definitely brightens things up when it's raining out there and your itinerary hasn't exactly gone to plan. The rooms are perfect. The resort is gorgeously set on the lake. The facilities are top quality. A wonderful stay indeed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBCC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hello there.

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. It is always fun to meet new people and very much enjoyed having you to stay with us. If you are ever back in Taupo we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Clean and comfortable. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom is large with a huge spa bath. Can't fault this place.

It is on the right just after the petrol station when you come up Lake Terrace from town (our satnav took us past it)

The only negative is that there is no safe in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theyarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Theyarv: Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We will take on board your observation about not have a safe room, and look into that as a facility for future guests. We do hope to see you again when you are next in Taupo. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

While some 3 kms from the centre of town, this modest resort backs on to the lake with some rooms offering excellent lake views. The self contained rooms are of excellent standard with nothing lacking. Resort has a warm swimming pool and a small but very hot thermally heated pool. Very comfortable and very good accommodation.

Room Tip: Need your own vehicle if you are going to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocarinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments with your review. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you are in Taupo, we also offer transport to and from where ever you may need to go while here in Taupo. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very friendly staff, welcomed warmly. I chose this place for the location and the view - direct access to the lake was a plus, view was nice but not as close to the water as I expected, a few other houses in the way but beautiful none the less. Clean, modern and good location, not exactly walking distance from shops but a short drive away from anything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you Judith for you comments and review on Trip Advisor. Just for your information the houses down on the lake front are our Luxury Apartments. If you are thinking of staying with us again for a special occasion or bring friends or family then do get in contact as they are great value for money and absolute lake edge accommodation with all the comforts of home and more.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A beautiful room with balcony overlooking the lake.
Pre-order breakfast the night before for delivery to your room. Then enjoy a leisurely breakfast at your own table, enjoying the views.
Staff very helpful. We had a room with lake view - definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank route66weasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your awesome review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Enjoying our continental breakfast with the backdrop of Lake Taupo, and the mountains in the background is definitely the way to relax and enjoy our beautiful lake view units.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Friendly reception staff made our stay here a treat. A stylish hotel with an amazing view of the lake. Large stylish, well appointed rooms, whirlpool bath and sliding panels to maximise the lake view.
Breakfast, hot and tasty , brought to our rooms. A lovely stay indeed...

Room Tip: All of these rooms are good :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileenbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi Eileen,

Thank you so much for the lovely review and we are so glad you had a fab time while staying here. We also love the view overlooking the lake with the mountains in the background and its so nice to stop what your doing to check out the view. We do hope you come back again and enjoy what Taupo has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $114 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing