We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven't had much sleep in two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Well, we stayed here second time and this time our stay wasn't very pleasant. The pluses are: the hosts are very friendly and nice, so service is, the rooms are quite clean and have everything to stay for a couple of nights, it sits right on the water edge and some rooms have nice view from the balcony.

The bad things are: beds are uncomfortable, it is unbelievably noisy (kids are screaming in the pool area, jumping and bumping in the water, people laughing etc) even if you close all the windows. Pool is open from 8am, but both days there were people from 6.30-7am and we couldn't sleep even wearing ear plugs. Our friends couldn't sleep either while staying a room on the second floor. One morning there were people drinking and laughing around the pool from 6.30am... Also one of our neighbors was a smoker, he smoked outside in the pool area and all the smoke was in our room - totally disgusting!

We won't recommend this place to any of our friends and we definitely will look for a more quiet place for our next stay in Taupo.

Room Tip: poolside rooms are very noisy, choose apartments or rooms on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlgaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Owner at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi Olga. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay with us here. The poolside units do open up onto the pool area. This means they are subject to the full pool atmosphere and during school holidays it is inevitable that kids will be playing in the pool. There should have been no one in the pool prior to 7.30am as this is when the pool is cleaned every morning. Should you have made as aware of any issues during your stay we could have remedied them immediately. Thank you for complimenting us on our service and the cleanliness of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 526 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

After a quick, friendly check in we found that our downstairs Unit fronted a sparkling clean, kidney shaped swimming pool, big enough to swim several strokes along its length. An easy choice over the hot mineral pool alongside.
The plunger coffee and biscuits were a welcome reviver at the outdoor table outside our room.
The Unit was very modern in decor, lots of black, white and silver and tastefully decorated. The kitchen has quality appliances and are as new.
The spa was great and had the most luxurious foam that we have encountered anywhere!
The King sized bed was supportive and comfortable giving us a great night's sleep and no traffic noise was a big plus.
The Lake can be accessed via a walkway and it is an invigorating walk into town.
Sadly,no Lake views from our downstairs Unit.

Room Tip: The rules are very clear about times of use and behaviour around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Reef Resort motel has beautiful facilities, the rooms are large and well appointed, we loved the outlook, the thermal pool and the location. The lake is beautiful with loads of activities if you wish to participate such as fishing and charter boats. Hosts were welcoming and I would highly recommend this hotel visiting this lovely place

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room with view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rell91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It may not be quite as famous as Lake Como in Italy but this gem of a place is just as beautiful. Although we only had one night at the Reef Resort because of travel commitments, we are looking forward to coming back and staying longer next time. The Reef Resort is ideally situated on Lake Taupo with majestic views over the lake. There was three of us sharing a 1 bedroom apartment and the only complaint I had was the room took a long time to cool down as the air conditioner was not positioned in a good place to cool the living & bedrooms. I would also say the WiFi was very slow and we ended up not worrying about using it. The hosts were very friendly, the resort was clean and the pool area was a stand out. Luckily we had our own car as the walk into town although very scenic is about 3 kms. We found this excellent place in town called The Vine restaurant, it is a funky cool place to buy wine and eat your meal. The menu was good, and because we love Tapas we opted for this over the al la carte menu. I really enjoyed looking over the extensive wine area, you can choose your own wine and ask to have it served with your dinner for a small $7.00 corkage fee. We loved the meal and made sure we left room for dessert which was excellent. Even though we travelled to New Zealand in high season, the price we paid for the room at the Reef was probably a quarter of what we would have paid had this been Lake Como so we think the area is seriously cheap for what you get. We'd probably upgrade our room next time but thought this place offered excellent value for money.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank 3644jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

no where better could be found , handy to restuarants sightseeing very peaceful and quiet rooms with a great view. Staff very friendly and service was all that could be required. Avery handy place to stay if you want to try your hand at Trout Fishing with White Striker Charters Very relaxing lying back with a Wine in The Spa

Room Tip: Just the best place to stay in Taupo Could not fault in anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at The Reef Resort Taupo late Dec 2012 and couldn’t speak highly enough for the two proprietors Bryan and Keren Clark. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable on our stay and we wouldn’t hesitate to both recommend them to others as well as return on our next visit to Taupo.

The accommodation was very clean, had a modern feel and the partial views we had of Lake Taupo were wonderful. The property is lakeside but a lower level building does block the view for some of the lower rooms. Book accommodation on Level 3 if you want the best views.

We enjoyed the walk (approx. 20-25 mins) along the lake edge into the town centre. If you are visiting Taupo give the Reef Resort a go, you won’t regret it.

Room Tip: Stay in a Studio Room on the Secong or Third Levels for the best views of Lake Taupo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Owner at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you! We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us at The Reef Resort. Have a fantastic 2013! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Reef Resort Motel in November 2012, a last minute booking as I was taking part in the Taupo Cycle Challenge. The manager was absolutely fine about my bike being kept in my room, in fact all cyclists - and it appeared most rooms were occupied by someone with a bike - were made to feel very welcome in this regard. We had a top level studio with great views over the lake and mountain. The bed was extremely comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. The big spa bath was perfect, although if you are not quite agile could be hard to get in and out of. The service we received when our TV wouldn't pick up the sports channel was beyond brilliant. I cannot speak highly enough of our brilliant stay at the Reef Resort.

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floor have excellent views across a lower level building to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $118 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing