We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Location great but overall cleanliness of our unit not up to standard - i.e. sliding door tracks full of dead bugs and dust, fan in bathroom needed cleaning, carpet in desperate need of professional cleaning as stained, unit had obvious water damage (front door had swelled at the bottom and sliding door frame in bedroom was the same), chair in unit broken. We appreciate that there are new owners at this motel and this is intended as constructive criticism - when notified of the broken chair in the unit, this was rectified immediately :). Kitchen clean and all bed linen and bathroom linen immaculate.

The rate of $145 per night we felt was top dollar for this unit.

Room Tip: This unit could be very noisy during the summer months due to the close proximity of the neighbourin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison_P54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Owner at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry you did not have the experience you expected for you stay at The Reef Resort, and we apologise for this.

We, the owners of The Reef Resort, have been here for nearly 10 years, but had relieving managers here during your stay. Action has been taken on your comments regarding the carpets, door tracks etc. This is a housekeeping problem that should not have got past our quality control person.

As you can see from the other reviews, this is not our usual standard.

Kind Regards,
Keren & Bryan Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    93
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
124
292
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Reef Resort in one of the luxury apartments in mid September with two very good friends.
From the moment we checked in, the service was fantastic. We were shown around the apartment by your host, explaining how everything works etc.
The apartment is impeccably presented in every way.
We arrived early evening, on a very cold & wet night. The gas fire was going, underfloor heating on and lights on - very welcoming indeed.
The beds were so soft & comfortable - giving us all a wonderful nights sleep.
We had a very minor squeak in one of the bedroom doors, so one quick phone call & this was rectified immediately.
This apartment is certainly a cut above the rest, a truly wonderful place to stay.
Beautiful linen, furnishings etc.
Just two minor little things that would be an added extra to this luxury apartment is large bath sheets/towels & a small stereo/cd music player.
Thanks heaps Bryan & Keren, we will be back.
Susie, Paul, Ann & Phil

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ok we were only stopping thru for the night so said we didn't need a view. OMG I didn't realise that it mean't there were no curtains (only light material) & the no view was looking at slats of timber outside the window which also didn't help the road noise which was loud & continous. The sun screamed thru the window at 5.30am as well as in the skylights. The spa bath was started and had black hairs coming out of it before we even had got in so guessing the pump possibly hadn't been cleaned in awhile. The room was clean & the bed comfortable however the pillows (only 2 in the room) were so flat they might as well had not been there. The stairwell was noisey and overall was really disappointed with the place.

Room Tip: Dont get the studio rooms without a view you won't sleep well or if at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefresorttaupo, Owner at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, as it is with this feedback that we are able to make continual improvements at The Reef Resort. As the owners of The Reef Resort Motel we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

We have two of these units and it is made very clear on all booking-sites there are no views. These are our cheapest units for that reason. Guests are more than welcome to accept another room if they are unhappy with this accommodation.

Our studio units all have 4 pillows, two on the bed and two in the drawers at the end of the bed. If you had alerted us at reception we would have been more than happy to show where the additional pillows were to suit your requirements.

We apologise for the hairs in the bath and agree this is not good enough. We have taken action to remedy this to ensure it does not happen again.

We would have loved to have heard your feedback while you were staying with us so that we could have put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in this blissful place for two nights with our family and there are many reasons why I loved it. We had a family room with fabulous views over roof tops towards the lake while my mum had a smaller room just down the corridor. I wanted to sleep with the curtains open so that I could wake up to the view. Both rooms were scrupulously clean and had absolutely everything that we needed and more. The spa bath was huge and felt like a real treat. Wonderful. The owner was helpful and friendly and patiently put up with our silly questions about finding specific television channels. Our two daughters enjoyed the larger pool and we all had a happy time sitting in the outdoor spa. Towels for outdoor use were generously provided and magazines in the public areas were a nice touch. We ordered pizzas one evening and these were delivered to the door. Another evening we ate at the super friendly Mole and Chicken. All in all a luxurious and enjoyable few days. I would most certainly return and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We made The Reef Resort our base while in the area for a Skiing trip. Was great coming back after a day up the mountain to relax in the hot pool and look out over the lake and mountains! The views are seriously to die for! Room was clean and spacious and had everything we needed to cook our own meals, etc. Spa Bath was lovely too! Will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Couldn't fault our studio room. Spacious, spotlessly clean, well-equipped. Fantastic uninterruped view across Lake Taupo, even from the spa bath. Friendly, helpful manager. Very quiet, could walk along lake front from in front of the resort. Would stay again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in room 11 (lakefront). Excellent location, nicely appointed room (very comfy bed) with a spa bath that opens up to the room and view. Wi-fi was $5 for 50mb which was very reasonable. The pool and spa area are lovely, and it is great to have easy car parking right outside the door. The owners Bryan & Keran were just lovely and gave two very good restaurant recommendations. We will certainly stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi04NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Property: The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing